Dubai

barassie_afc

On here for a work sponsored MBA workshop. I had some preconceptions about this this place, but I have to say its blown me away so far. Service levels are outstanding, will seriously consider a holiday here in 2013 (honeymoon 2012 first elsewhere !!).

Plus direct flight from Glasgow is a bonus, Emirates are an outstanding airline ( comparing it to having flown Continental to New York)

On here for a work sponsored MBA workshop. I had some preconceptions about this this place, but I have to say its blown me away so far. Service levels are outstanding, will seriously consider a holiday here in 2013 (honeymoon 2012 first elsewhere !!).

Plus direct flight from Glasgow is a bonus, Emirates are an outstanding airline ( comparing it to having flown Continental to New York)

Mind and dinna argue with taxi drivers whilst pished.

:lolrangers:

You're easy pleased.

Thought it was an overrated cesspit of arseholes myself.

Nae as gullible as I first thought. :applause:

What's so good about this service that makes you think it's so wonderful?

I never stayed there. I was in the Millenium. Pretty much the same service as any other hotel I've ever been in. (West African ones not withstanding)

Boofter, a wee smile and an upgrade to a junior suite helps, I am comparing it to the shoddy pish I put up with in the UK, which am sure you will agree is fkn gash

You're clearly staying in the wrong hotels in the UK.

Never had any issues with service although the Marcliffe needs somebody to tell the staff that I know they're Scottish so they don't need to prick about pretending to be some other nationality.

Some twat the other month was trying to be something he's clearly not and that's a man of knowledge and fine upstanding.

Cringeworthy performance.

If they tell there staff to lose their accents they're doing something far wrong.

Norton House Hotel and Spa down Edinburgh way on the other hand. :applause: :applause:

You're clearly staying in the wrong hotels in the UK.

Never had any issues with service although the Marcliffe needs somebody to tell the staff that I know they're Scottish so they don't need to prick about pretending to be some other nationality.

Some twat the other month was trying to be something he's clearly not and that's a man of knowledge and fine upstanding.

Cringeworthy performance.

If they tell there staff to lose their accents they're doing something far wrong.

Norton House Hotel and Spa down Edinburgh way on the other hand. :applause: :applause:

We are going to agree to disagree , service in Scotland is generally pish you have cited 2 hotels in the upper echelons, lets compare v 4 star business hotels , apples wi apples

Oh of that there is no doubt.

Aberdeen in particular is terrible when it comes to business hotels. The Thistle in Altens must be one of the worst hotels in the world.

Glad to hear that Dubai is treating you well.

If you think the service is excellent in the Crown Plaza then you haven't even scratched the surface yet! Not one of the best hotels Dubai...yet would put most hotels in the UK to shame!

I've been coming here for 12 years now and have lived here for the last five. Absolutely love the place and can understand the bad press it gets in the UK as your average Daily Mail reader doesn't understand what it's like out here and because the religion is Muslim they have to be the bad guys.

It's a wonderful place and it's been very good to me. Most people in the UK see the articles in the press and think it's this terrible place where you get put into prison for even drinking a beer, but it's nothing like that at all. As long as you are sensible and aren't a complete idiot it's a wonderful place to live and gives you every privilege you get in the UK, but in a much better environment.

This weekend for example, I'm playing golf on a championship golf course, going snowboarding and then going to the pub to watch Dons v Tic. All in the beautiful sunshine.

One word of warning though barrasie is when are you planning on coming here for your honeymoon? The weather can get pretty bad during the summer for your average tourist (although I'm used to it now) and then there is Ramadan to consider which means a month of no eating, smoking or drinking in public during daylight hours for a whole month.

Been there many times and love it too, have you been in the nightclub in the hotel?

The Crowne Plazza & Intercontinental at Festival City were two of the nicest hotels I've stayed in and going back at end of July for the wife's 40th.

Have a wee walk along to Longs Bar at the Rotana Towers for a nice few drinks or Wagamama in the Crowne Plazza for food

I quite like good old British 'bad service'.

Without it there never would have been a Fawlty Towers.

Can't stand it when in the US and everyone is tripping over themselves to cater to your every whim. I know they're just after my money and wish they would just leave me the fuck alone.

"have a nice day" :suicide:

Can't stand it when in the US and everyone is tripping over themselves to cater to your every whim. I know they're just after my money and wish they would just leave me the fuck alone.

nope uve missed the point , the US stuff is passe, this is real service

there's a good balance to be had between poor, almost non-existent, service, and fawning attention though. :sheepdance: why does it have to be either extreme?

i like hotels with service staff that are discreet, efficient and polite without feeling like they're watching me to get me something before i've even asked for it. :nono:

but maybe i'm derailing the thread. :o in which case, delete this please. and have a great day! :wave:

I agree with this.

I'd rather 'have a shit day' and not be patronised.