V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Think maybe I need a new way to pass my spare time. Maybe a martial art or sport of some sort. I'm sure you all have interesting suggestions.. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Muay thai, great way of keeping fit. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Think maybe I need a new way to pass my spare time. Maybe a martial art or sport of some sort. I'm sure you all have interesting suggestions.. Collecting comics. My wife just bought that book you're named after. I haven't read it yet but it looks very interesting. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Mountain biking, Gonna upgrade for a newer, better bike in the coming months. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Author Share Posted March 6, 2012 AHAAAA! This is almost prescient.... Of either you three or of me, not sure. I have something to say OR ask on each. Muay thai, great way of keeping fit. This is the sort of thing I have long considered always been too lazy and I'll admit I'm also too averse to being the noob to really get into this sort of thing. Almost signed up to ninjitsu a year ago. I think some from of martial art would suit me. If you have the time what are the pro's & con's of the diff options?? :-) Collecting comics. My wife just bought that book you're named after. I haven't read it yet but it looks very interesting. I don't collect comics BUT i have recently started buying graphic novels (same thing really I know). I will tell you this Boof. V for Vendetta is excellent piece of literature. Allan Moore is a genius. I really hope you haven't seen the film because I believe (I refuse to watch it) its utterly shit compared to the comic. Let me know what you think and I may be able to recommend some things...... Mountain biking, Gonna upgrade for a newer, better bike in the coming months. I'm a bit of a biker. But I am a road cyclist and also (notionally at least!) a cyclo-crosser. Once cash is less of a concern I will complete the tri-umvirate by getting a MTB. You ever seen a cyclo-cross race? Or tried it? I did one this winter and it nearly killed me but was ACE. Link to comment
paddy Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 You probably know what I'd suggest. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 AHAAAA! This is almost prescient.... Of either you three or of me, not sure. I have something to say OR ask on each. This is the sort of thing I have long considered always been too lazy and I'll admit I'm also too averse to being the noob to really get into this sort of thing. Almost signed up to ninjitsu a year ago. I think some from of martial art would suit me. If you have the time what are the pro's & con's of the diff options?? :-) I don't collect comics BUT i have recently started buying graphic novels (same thing really I know). I will tell you this Boof. V for Vendetta is excellent piece of literature. Allan Moore is a genius. I really hope you haven't seen the film because I believe (I refuse to watch it) its utterly shit compared to the comic. Let me know what you think and I may be able to recommend some things...... I'm a bit of a biker. But I am a road cyclist and also (notionally at least!) a cyclo-crosser. Once cash is less of a concern I will complete the tri-umvirate by getting a MTB. You ever seen a cyclo-cross race? Or tried it? I did one this winter and it nearly killed me but was ACE. To much cycling jargon going on ^^^^ I just plug the ipod in, and hit the many off road trails that are close by. passes 2 hours, you seem to have a time consuming hobby already... Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Author Share Posted March 6, 2012 You probably know what I'd suggest. I used to play ping pong when I was a kid. Went to a club regular until the guy running it had a heart attack! Was quite good actually. To much cycling jargon going on ^^^^ I just plug the ipod in, and hit the many off road trails that are close by. passes 2 hours, you seem to have a time consuming hobby already... C'mon I'm not that bad. Truth is I just don't get out there and do it enough. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 korean martial arts are good, they have a mix of a lot of different techniques, sparring, weapons, throws. usually good people go, so there is no judgement and thuggery! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Author Share Posted March 6, 2012 Squash Aye but I'm an annoying miserable fucker with nae mates. Squash might not work by myself? Thanks for the suggestion but my circumstances dictate that won't work. So let me add that pre-condition for everyone. I need a hobby for individuals. Commited loners. A club or organisation aye maybe but searching about for partners to for a game etc, no thanks. For example. I took up indoor climbing and loved it but my climber partner found something else to do.Bouldering is an option but I'm fat now so.... Link to comment
robbo Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 id say badminton. 1) its cheap2) its indoors (so warm and dry)3) find a class for medium/advanced players and it wont be old folk playing it (slowing the game down)4) its really, really hard work. it not fannying about for a jolly - its all explosive stuff. short sharp rallys. quickness and agility are developed and your CV endurance goes through the roof5) very much a total body workout and a tactical battle6) most importantly, its fun. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 gowf is a good shout, but the clubhoose can be a minefield of doucheness. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Author Share Posted March 6, 2012 Golf I played this as a kid and my family have a few golfers (bro is good). I think my problem here is commitment of time required. I don't think I'd hack (get it?) being an occassional player and basically being gash. I'd want to be decent at what I do but I thin golf needs a regular commitment (timewise) each week to improve. So yes, when I'm 50, but don't take it personally that at 35 it seems to "old" for me. I think AFC Chat are looking for new mods as chance would have it I'm to bipolar bri. Couldn't be relied on. id say badminton. 1) its cheap2) its indoors (so warm and dry)3) find a class for medium/advanced players and it wont be old folk playing it (slowing the game down)4) its really, really hard work. it not fannying about for a jolly - its all explosive stuff. short sharp rallys. quickness and agility are developed and your CV endurance goes through the roof5) very much a total body workout and a tactical battle6) most importantly, its fun. Like the suggestion and when I've played this I enjoyed it. I'm reasonable at racket sports and fairy mobile (small fucker) so its an option. Will think about this. Similar issues to squash though. I have no mates. :-) Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Hang gliding :thumbs: http://www.johnheiney.com/for_sale/gliders_for_sale.htm Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Author Share Posted March 6, 2012 Hang gliding :thumbs: http://www.johnheiney.com/for_sale/gliders_for_sale.htm Hahahahaha. I could NOT do that. I think I'm too much of a poof. I'd rather get in a ring with minijc. Link to comment
Henry Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Hahahahaha. I could NOT do that. I think I'm too much of a poof. I'd rather get in minijc's ring. Link to comment
robbo Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Like the suggestion and when I've played this I enjoyed it. I'm reasonable at racket sports and fairy mobile (small fucker) so its an option. Will think about this.Similar issues to squash though. I have no mates. :-) my dad had no mates when he started doing it. just found a centre near him and started going to their evenings. got to know the folk, enjoyed it...ended up being a key member in their league side and got me involved the same way. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 If you want to lean a martial art I'd go with Krav Maga... It'll teach you self-defence techniques you can use in real life scenarios. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Heroin, you'll be hooked in no time. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 6, 2012 Author Share Posted March 6, 2012 Hahahaha. I walked into that shit. Erm, does that sound worse?... If you want to lean a martial art I'd go with Krav Maga... It'll teach you self-defence techniques you can use in real life scenarios. Krav Maga? I'll need to google that. Do they do it in shithole parts of Scotland? squash over badminton any day! way better for fitness too? Actually , much as squash is seen as macho in some bizzare way not sure there is much difference fitness wise. Cover the same area, same sort of tempo if played properly? Either way I have reservation on both. I can't hit anyone being on thing. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Rape. I started a topic about this very subhect in the dark days of waldercood. Link to comment
SNOOPYADKAREDS Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 how about getting involved stock car racing oot by the broch (i think) or sign up to marshel at the rally. Jiu-jitsu there are a few places in Aberdeen Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 If you're asking the question then, not really. Play both. Badminton is not as gay as many people think, I'm getting right into it and have punted squash into touch for the time being. Loner hobby, has to be mountain biking. Solo trapse in the woodies, a loners dream.No indeed, the sport where you flick a lightweight shuttle-cock back and forth limp wristedly over a net, nae gay ava. (I quite like badminton like, but I'm shite at it, probably nae gay enough) Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 Boarding - skate and surf in Spring, Summer and Autumn and snow in Winter Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 6, 2012 Share Posted March 6, 2012 I don't even know what homo erotic means, is that some sort of faggot badminton thing? Link to comment