SheepieBaaBaa Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 So, I'm willing for someone to correct me if I'm wrong, but Rangers have been told that their finances mean that they wont be able to compete in Europe next season. That means that there are still 2 Champions league and 3 Europa league spots for Scottish teams. So depending on what happens in the cup, a top 6 finish = europa league next year? Is that right? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 So, I'm willing for someone to correct me if I'm wrong, but Rangers have been told that their finances mean that they wont be able to compete in Europe next season. That means that there are still 2 Champions league and 3 Europa league spots for Scottish teams. So depending on what happens in the cup, a top 6 finish = europa league next year? Is that right? Depends who wins the Scottish Cup. Take the huns out of the equation 2nd in the league (currently Motherwell) get Champions league games.Scottish Cup winners get best Europa League start (later rounds) unless the winners are also in Champions League. So if Celtic or Motherwell win the Scottish cup the runners up get the Europa league spot but start in the very early rounds.If the Scottish Cup runners up have finished higher in the league (3rd or 4th) then the Europa league position for the runner up goes to 5th place in league.Remaining two slots for Europa League to go 3rd and 4th in league. Link to comment
SheepieBaaBaa Posted March 8, 2012 Author Share Posted March 8, 2012 Depends who wins the Scottish Cup. Take the huns out of the equation 2nd in the league (currently Motherwell) get Champions league games.Scottish Cup winners get best Europa League start (later rounds) unless the winners are also in Champions League. So if Celtic or Motherwell win the Scottish cup the runners up get the Europa league spot but start in the very early rounds.If the Scottish Cup runners up have finished higher in the league (3rd or 4th) then the Europa league position for the runner up goes to 5th place in league.Remaining two slots for Europa League to go 3rd and 4th in league. Cheers, That's kind of what I thought, but hadn't thought about the cup winner or runner up not being in the top 6 (i.e. Aberdeen) scenario. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 Cheers, That's kind of what I thought, but hadn't thought about the cup winner or runner up not being in the top 6 (i.e. Aberdeen) scenario. Top 6 doesn't matter as we'll win the cup anyway. :scarf: Link to comment
SheepieBaaBaa Posted March 8, 2012 Author Share Posted March 8, 2012 Top 6 doesn't matter as we'll win the cup anyway. :scarf: Exactly...No huns and just Motherwell and Celtink to beat. Easy ! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 Exactly...No huns and just Motherwell and Celtink to beat. Easy ! United will beat Celtic this weekend. Jutes in the final would do me nicely. :scarf: Link to comment
MURRA Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 i'd say cup is our only chance of getting into europe, get past motherwell then surely only dutd/celtic would stand in our way Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 I'll have whatever you lads are drinking/snorting/huffing/injecting.... Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 Aberdeen Hibs final Would rather play Hibs than Ayr! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 8, 2012 Share Posted March 8, 2012 Would rather play Hibs than Ayr! Nae sure like. Wouldn't like to be the team that Hibs finally win the Scottish cup against after over 100 years Link to comment
SheepieBaaBaa Posted March 8, 2012 Author Share Posted March 8, 2012 I'll have whatever you lads are drinking/snorting/huffing/injecting.... Just a wee dod of EvoStick in a Monster Munch bag... Kind of like the weegie mum that was asked if she smacked her kids.. "Och no!" she said " Mebbe jist a wee gram or so afore bed tae mak it sleep like" Link to comment