Laser Eye Surgery

fatshaft

Anybody had it done?

Looking for an Aberdeen optician, I'd rather go local than the national chain wunkers if possible. Anybody know who is particularly up to the task?

A fair few folk at my work have had it done. All of them swear by it, but a couple have admitted suffering from ghosting (google it) and having poorer night vision sometimes.

Anybody had it done?

Looking for an Aberdeen optician, I'd rather go local than the national chain wunkers if possible. Anybody know who is particularly up to the task?

Canna help with a place to go but that national chain you mention do my nut in.

It isn't 350 quid unless you're one of the 0.01% of the population that applies to.

Disgraceful that they get away with that adverts.

I'd love to get it done but in the back of my mind there is the little fear of a botch job and blindness. Totally irrational but there none the less.

I read recently, that 8% of the ops result in problems, thats a pretty high % to risk when it comes to your eyes. Also, something about the eyes gives me the heebie jeebies, lassie in work got it done and she says you can smell the burning from the laser when they are doing it, that was more than enough for me to decide not to have it done.

Vanity?

I wear contacts so nobody would be any the wiser.

Strange comment.

Jesus, is that fit that ignorant small minded prick said?

It's nothing to do with vanity, and everything to do with not being able to play golf in glasses as the frame/edge of lens moves off/on the ball as you swing, and I can no longer see the ball landing, nor indeed know who has given me a friendly wave from the next tee, often as little as 40 yards away; so to avoid being called an betty swollocks ignorant prick, I could do with fixing my eyesight.

I'd love to get it done purely so I didn't have to fuck about with contacts every day. It's just a bit pricey though, when I have a couple of grand kicking about there's other things I'd rather spend it on just now, but one day I will do it. I used to see a bird who'd had it done, she was really happy with apart from she'd get dry eyes quite a lot. I'd still rather have to put eye drops in occasionally than contact lenses.

Jesus, is that fit that ignorant small minded prick said?

It's nothing to do with vanity, and everything to do with not being able to play golf in glasses as the frame/edge of lens moves off/on the ball as you swing, and I can no longer see the ball landing, nor indeed know who has given me a friendly wave from the next tee, often as little as 40 yards away; so to avoid being called an betty swollocks ignorant prick, I could do with fixing my eyesight.

All them years spanking the monkey finally caught up on you FS?

The fact that it seems mostly those who wear contact lenses who are considering it would suggest that vanity is pretty much on the ball. :sheepdance:

Dinna wear contacts, and already explained why I a considering it, so not on the ball, just the usual glaeckit pish fae sweaty bollocks.

One thing to bear in mind FS....There are probably quite a few punters that would gladly of smacked you in the face for it not for your glasses wearing...

If you get shot of the specs keeping your thoughts to yourself would be a good idea as well...carry on spouting yer pish specless and you'll have a sore face on a daily basis

Had glasses since about 11 or something. One day will probably get this done but going to wait a bit longer to make sure no longer term damaging effects becoming known. Plus apparently an old school teacher of mine had it done and went blind in one eye, so it's not just a myth.

Also must be nice to be able to see in the shower, or walk into a pub in winter and not have to immediately take glasses off and wipe them, so no idea who's in the pub or whatever. Same with swimming ( I don't use contacts ). Or when out on a night out you'd not have those random twats that come up to you and either say 'give us a shot of your glasses' or just come up and take them... meaning you have to rely on a pal to go get them back as no idea who it was or able to see them once they've nicked them. :itch-chin:

Had glasses since about 11 or something. One day will probably get this done but going to wait a bit longer to make sure no longer term damaging effects becoming known. Plus apparently an old school teacher of mine had it done and went blind in one eye, so it's not just a myth.

Also must be nice to be able to see in the shower, or walk into a pub in winter and not have to immediately take glasses off and wipe them, so no idea who's in the pub or whatever. Same with swimming ( I don't use contacts ). Or when out on a night out you'd not have those random twats that come up to you and either say 'give us a shot of your glasses' or just come up and take them... meaning you have to rely on a pal to go get them back as no idea who it was or able to see them once they've nicked them. :itch-chin:

Got it done a optical express at the bottom of Union Strreet a few years ago and best thing I've ever done.

Same as mad_mobby said, it did cost a few grand but they offered 10 months interest free. PM me if you want more info

going to Black & Lizars today to check out my prescription, and the cost of new specs plus prescription oakleys so that golf would be sorted, then get a quote from Vision Express for the eye zapping. Just dinna like the idea of these semi-trained gypes getting let loose with Blofeld's toys. probably why I am up at 3am and canna sleep :(

I've got a fairly rare problem with my eyes (one worse than the other). Went to Optical Express (Inverness) they just said no for either zapping or interocular contacts(IOCs, implanted contacts basically), too much risk because one is a dodgy anyway. I see that as a good thing really that they'd do that (some places said yes...).

Should say zapping you are getting flaps cut in your eye and taking off layers of your eye. It's not nothing, but wearing contacts in not free of risk either fair chance of getting an ulcer (I've had one) which if you leave it can lead to needing a cornea transplant (or even if your unlucky and get on in your central area).

People always go on for zapping but should say IOC are often a good option too (removable, and not removing material from your eyes).

So, did the works today. Went to Black & Lizards in the morning. Couldn't get free parking as promised cos of some stupid street market selling fish, wooden stuff, and heather whisky in Belmont street. But i got there in the end.

Seems, as pointed out earlier in this thread, zapping has an 8% dodgy rate, also it's not a permanent cure as some have led me to belive in the past, so you pay 2k now, you might be looking to pay 2k again in 10 years. :ThumbsDown:

So looks like I will be buying aset of street oakleys for day to day use, and M-frames for the golf course, at the cost of

My brother in law got a quote which he initialy turned down. They phoned him back a week later and asked why he wouldn't go for it, he explained it was too expensive. They then managed to knock over 500 pounds off so he went for it.

So if I were you, turn down the original quote and hope that they come back with a better offer.

So, did the works today. Went to Black & Lizards in the morning. Couldn't get free parking as promised cos of some stupid street market selling fish, wooden stuff, and heather whisky in Belmont street. But i got there in the end.

Seems, as pointed out earlier in this thread, zapping has an 8% dodgy rate, also it's not a permanent cure as some have led me to belive in the past, so you pay 2k now, you might be looking to pay 2k again in 10 years. :ThumbsDown:

So looks like I will be buying aset of street oakleys for day to day use, and M-frames for the golf course, at the cost of