Jones Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 Tiny Dancer, Candle in the wind, Your song, I guess that's why they call it the blues...... Queen or otherwise, the man writes some absolute gold. No? Link to comment
gypsymuffin Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 Agreed. Some great songs. I Have his greatest hits cd somewhere. Link to comment
ebbe Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 i would rather listen to forklift trucks reversing. Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 i would rather listen to forklift trucks reversing. Tiny dancer is a great tune. Link to comment
ebbe Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 Tiny dancer is a great tune. i shacks ma heid Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 I'm not ashamed to say i saw his concert at Pittodrie and it was brilliant. A fantastic showman. Still a big gaylord though Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 I'm not ashamed to say i saw his concert at Pittodrie and it was brilliant. A fantastic showman. Still a big gaylord though You really should remember your antecedents, but more particularly your anaphoric expressions I'M not ashamed... I saw his concert.... ...still a big gaylord, though :thumbs: Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 I'm not ashamed to say i saw his concert at Pittodrie and it was brilliant. A fantastic showman. Still a big gaylord though Nothing wrong with that, as long as you didn't let him visit you backstage. Link to comment
The Highland Don Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 One of my best mate's faither's likes Elton John......he gets ripped for it and rightly so. The same guy drinks half pints! Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 8, 2012 Share Posted April 8, 2012 Nothing wrong with that, as long as you didn't let him visit you backstage. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 I'm not ashamed to say i saw his concert at Pittodrie and it was brilliant. A fantastic showman. Still a big gaylord though Me too. It was brilliant. And I would go and see him again. I love Song for Guy.I remember being with a friend and we were singing Don't let the sun go down on me and he roared out, ladies and gentlemen mister George Michael. Fucking mong hasn't been allowed to forget that one. Crocodile rock to get a party started. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 Tiny Dancer, Candle in the wind, Your song, I guess that's why they call it the blues......Queen or otherwise, the man writes some absolute gold. No? That's Freddie Mercury you're thinking of. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 9, 2012 Share Posted April 9, 2012 your song is my karaoke song classic Had a wee chuckle seeing thread title "Guilty Pleasures" and last poster "Millertime" you've no guilt! Canna help but like some of his songs. But when he's talking about what you think is a bird it's a bloke. I reckon his songs should come with the lyrics and the straight translation. Blue jean baby, L.A. lady, seamstress for the band <"la lady" code for bloke, hint he wears jeansPretty eyed, pirate smile, you'll marry a music man < jizzed in your eye, you'll marry meBallerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand < Ballerina (his gay friend), look at the girl dancing And now she's in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand < in me... need I explain? the tiny dancer is his cock (in his hand, i.e. hand job) Jesus freaks out in the street < god doesn't approveHanding tickets out for God < we're not getting inTurning back she just laughs < he doesn't careThe boulevard is not that bad < fuck it hell will be ok Piano man he makes his stand < and bloke kneels in frontIn the auditorium < just felt kinkyLooking on she sings the songs < he knows what he's doingThe words she knows the tune she hums < flobalob But oh how it feels so real < nearly thereLying here with no one near < sameOnly you and you can hear me < sameWhen I say softly slowly < same Hold me closer tiny dancer < rip my arse openCount the headlights on the highway < as I sook you dryLay me down in sheets of linen < sameyou had a busy day today < let me relive you Blue jean baby, L.A. lady, seamstress for the band <"la lady" code for bloke, hint he wears jeansPretty eyed, pirate smile, you'll marry a music man < jizzed in your eye, you'll marry meBallerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand < Ballerina (his gay friend), look at the girl dancing And now she's in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand < in me... need I explain? the tiny dancer is his cock (in his hand, i.e. hand job) Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 your song is my karaoke song classic Ewan McGregor version from Moulin Rouge is better in my humble opinion. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 elton hom is so gay it makes my ears bleed when a song of his comes on. sorry seems to be the hardest word, yellow brick road and the whos version of saturday night are his top tunes. Link to comment
Jones Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 not better than the Frankie Miller version! Frankie Miller version? It can't be that good as I can't find it on youtube or indeed online anywhere! Link to comment
Jones Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 Ohh I see, local celeb is he? I frequent filthy's and the upstairs nights in bells bar when i'm out in the deen... He's not the emo guy with the tattoos on his arms who goes to filthy's by himself, sings one god awful emo song in a high pitched screech then leaves again? Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Had a wee chuckle seeing thread title "Guilty Pleasures" and last poster "Millertime" you've no guilt! Canna help but like some of his songs. But when he's talking about what you think is a bird it's a bloke. I reckon his songs should come with the lyrics and the straight translation. Blue jean baby, L.A. lady, seamstress for the band <"la lady" code for bloke, hint he wears jeansPretty eyed, pirate smile, you'll marry a music man < jizzed in your eye, you'll marry meBallerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand < Ballerina (his gay friend), look at the girl dancing And now she's in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand < in me... need I explain? the tiny dancer is his cock (in his hand, i.e. hand job) except it was Bernie Taupin that wrote the lyrics, not Elton John. and as far as i've ever heard, Taupin wasn't gay. rumour has it... The "Blue jean baby, LA Lady, seamstress for the band" sure sounds like it's Maxine Feibelmann, who was Bernie Taupin's girlfriend when he wrote the song and who became his first wife in 1971. She traveled with the band on their early tours, often sewing together the costumes and fixing their clothes. Plus, on the Madman Across The Water album, it says, "With love to Maxine" under the credits for this song. Elton John even said at one point that Bernie wrote it about his girlfriend. Well, Taupin says that the song was not about Maxine. Here's the story he tells: "We came to California in the fall of 1970, and sunshine radiated from the populace. I was trying to capture the spirit of that time, encapsulated by the women we met - especially at the clothes stores up and down the Strip in L.A. They were free spirits, sexy in hip-huggers and lacy blouses, and very ethereal, the way they moved. So different from what I'd been used to in England. And they all wanted to sew patches on your jeans. They'd mother you and sleep with you - it was the perfect Oedipal complex." Taupin adds that the "tiny" was poetic license, although these women were all petite. And "Tiny Dancer" sounds a lot better than "Small Dancer" or "Little Dancer." Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 among those tunes not yet mentioned -- Funeral for a Friend, Philadelphia Freedom, Tower of Babel, Bennie and the Jets, Captain Fantastic, All the Girls Love Alice... he has so many good tunes. but then i must own at least ten of his albums (and i do mean vinyl ) Link to comment
dervish Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 except it was Bernie Taupin that wrote the lyrics, not Elton John. and as far as i've ever heard, Taupin wasn't gay. rumour has it... The "Blue jean baby, LA Lady, seamstress for the band" sure sounds like it's Maxine Feibelmann, who was Bernie Taupin's girlfriend when he wrote the song and who became his first wife in 1971. She traveled with the band on their early tours, often sewing together the costumes and fixing their clothes. Plus, on the Madman Across The Water album, it says, "With love to Maxine" under the credits for this song. Elton John even said at one point that Bernie wrote it about his girlfriend. Well, Taupin says that the song was not about Maxine. Here's the story he tells: "We came to California in the fall of 1970, and sunshine radiated from the populace. I was trying to capture the spirit of that time, encapsulated by the women we met - especially at the clothes stores up and down the Strip in L.A. They were free spirits, sexy in hip-huggers and lacy blouses, and very ethereal, the way they moved. So different from what I'd been used to in England. And they all wanted to sew patches on your jeans. They'd mother you and sleep with you - it was the perfect Oedipal complex." Taupin adds that the "tiny" was poetic license, although these women were all petite. And "Tiny Dancer" sounds a lot better than "Small Dancer" or "Little Dancer." Boo I don't like my drunken shite banter getting called out, though the comment about wanting to fuck his mum is a bit weird. I do feel enriched knowing that though. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 haha you need to go to local karaokes to see it! Get it recorded Frankie. How about a midsummer album to keep us going until Christmas? Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Not an Elton fan, but WASP's cover of "Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting" is funny, in a, erm, gay, kind of way. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted April 11, 2012 Share Posted April 11, 2012 Dervish, I wasn't sure about your translation of Tiny Dancer but near spluttered my tea when I read yer translation near the end for " Hold me closer Tiny Dancer " Ken he's a sickly gay fruitcake but he used to deliver a good tune. Dinna believe he's written anything good for a good ten years or so, maybe twinty. I bought Captain Fantastic back in the day and fairly like Bitter Fingers, Someone Saved My Life Tonight and Better Off Dead, although I was a bit pissed aff that Philadelphia Freedom wisnae on it.It's added on the CD though, which sort of maks the album complete.Artwork is ace, especially on the gatefold album sleeve. Link to comment
GK55 Posted April 12, 2012 Share Posted April 12, 2012 Seen EJ 3 times in concert - he's a raging homo, but a great showman. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted April 12, 2012 Share Posted April 12, 2012 Seen EJ 3 times in concert - he's a raging homo, but a great showman. he's a greetin faced cunt some decent tunes though. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted June 6, 2012 Share Posted June 6, 2012 Did anyone else see the picture of Elton John in the Evening Express today... Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 7, 2012 Share Posted June 7, 2012 Did anyone else see the picture of Elton John in the Evening Express today... Haha, gieing it laldy! Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 7, 2012 Share Posted June 7, 2012 Eh had the misfortune of seeing his part of thon Jubilee show. But it got better, fuckin hell, eh nearly pissed myself laughing when he did "I'm Still Standing", every time he sang "still" it sounded like he had turned in to Joey Deacon. http://www.youtube.com/all_comments?v=ji0UmQ2Z2ig Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 7, 2012 Share Posted June 7, 2012 i dinna mind a bit of this queen. his musics alright for poofy stuff IMO. Link to comment