tommo1903 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 For me, most of the time. The soup is ok though. How good or bad is the food at your work? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 its ok, i suppose. but i resent paying even a few euros for food i dinna really like. nae whenh you can get better stuff in cafes and takeaways. for lunch i tend to go to the gym, then after grab a few eggs and couple of fruits. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 for lunch i tend to grab a couple of fruits. No food provided at my work. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 No food provided at my work. you usually get a nibble everytime you pick up a punter. Link to comment
Pash Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Just go to Tesco on a Monday and buy everything for the week and stick it in the fridge and in my cupboard. Canteen across the road is terrible. Sanny van in the morning is ok but don't eat them anymore. Link to comment
RUL Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Canteens awful at my work and expensive Link to comment
gypsymuffin Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 We have a sandwich van comes round in the morning. It is okay. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 i'll have croissants or cereal or porridge for breakfast, with a double espresso. then a little as possible at work for lunch. then i stuff my face when i get home. Link to comment
The Highland Don Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Ye couldn't pay me to eat out of wur canteen here, just glad I live 5 mins up the road and can go home for lunch. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 i'll have croissants or cereal or porridge for breakfast, with a double espresso. then a little as possible at work for lunch. then i stuff my face when i get home.Should be the other way around. You're meant to have a big breakfast, a medium sized lunch and a smaller dinner. Apparently. I've never done it myself, or know anyone who does...but read that somewhere. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Should be the other way around. You're meant to have a big breakfast, a medium sized lunch and a smaller dinner. Apparently. I've never done it myself, or know anyone who does...but read that somewhere. think that true, in my non medically sports science trained world too. just saying how i bodyswerve work food but then am starvin at home time and stuff my face. yet i regularly leave work and go straight to the pub, without an appetite. can get messy. Link to comment
zander Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Food on this rigs ok depends who the chef is one just now is good. Keeps it simple. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 We don't have a canteen, so usually just tinned soup and maybe bread from a local shop. Exciting times. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Got kitchen facilities, but more often that I am lazy and venture out to one of the plentiful overpriced sandwich shops in the West End. Bit further to go, but Deja Vu on Rose Street is probably the pick of the bunch. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 We are lucky to get hot water here some days. Any food source in this building is still alive Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Got kitchen facilities, but more often that I am lazy and venture out to one of the plentiful overpriced sandwich shops in the West End. Bit further to go, but Deja Vu on Rose Street is probably the pick of the bunch.Deja Vu would be my pick for decent sandwiches. their Deja Cajun Chicken baguette is very nice. Baguette Express is the cheap option, but the fillings you get are pitiful so you have to fill it with other stuff. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 theres a packet of digestives in the kitchen here I think Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Deja Vu would be my pick for decent sandwiches. their Deja Cajun Chicken baguette is very nice. Baguette Express is the cheap option, but the fillings you get are pitiful so you have to fill it with other stuff. Link to comment
Jones Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Deja Vu is decent, also close is La Fenice on huntly st, also good and the owner is pretty cool. The place on Fountainhall Road as well is pretty nice, remember getting quality mince and tattie soup from there a while back. We just have a kitchen here also, no canteen slurry. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 This thread has gone disgustingly off topic, you scoundrels. The food on a Friday is better than the other days of the week. I don't work Fridays though. Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 The food at my work's canteen has improved recently. Couple of decent chef's now, but the chef before hand was horrendous Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 The food at my work's canteen has improved recently. Couple of decent chef's now, but the chef before hand was horrendous Is the soup any good? Today I had Tomato & Basil, and it was ok. About 2.5/6 Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Mines is pretty good. Can have 3 courses if you desired. Soup fine and thick, mains plentiful and dessert nice and sweet. The only thing I'm not keen on is the fish, purely down to the way it's cooked. Every Friday at my last place was fish day and it was minging. And clearly trying to please the Catholics. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 Mines is pretty good. Can have 3 courses if you desired. Soup fine and thick, mains plentiful and dessert nice and sweet. The only thing I'm not keen on is the fish, purely down to the way it's cooked. Every Friday at my last place was fish day and it was minging. And clearly trying to please the Catholics. I quite like fish. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 At mine it's ok, not cheap, not great but ok. When it's simple stuff it's pretty good when they try to get fancy they fuck it up though. Had some magic mince and tatties today for example. Link to comment
The Highland Don Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 At mine it's ok, not cheap, not great but ok. When it's simple stuff it's pretty good when they try to get fancy they fuck it up though. Had some magic mince and tatties today for example. Wish I could say the same bud. Macaroni cheese, simple dish yet ye can see the flour and there's no amount of tomato sauce that can cover that up or the taste. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Gads, that's not bonnie. Shame they fuck it up had mac and cheese on at mine today and it was a close run thing on choice, normally magic. Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 10, 2012 Share Posted April 10, 2012 Is the soup any good? Today I had Tomato & Basil, and it was ok. About 2.5/6The soup has been rather good recently. Yellow Pea the other day was beautiful. Mines is pretty good. Can have 3 courses if you desired. Soup fine and thick, mains plentiful and dessert nice and sweet. The only thing I'm not keen on is the fish, purely down to the way it's cooked. Every Friday at my last place was fish day and it was minging. And clearly trying to please the Catholics.Aye it's always fish on a Friday at my work too. Not really a fan anyway Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 10, 2012 Author Share Posted April 10, 2012 At mine it's ok, not cheap, not great but ok. When it's simple stuff it's pretty good when they try to get fancy they fuck it up though. Had some magic mince and tatties today for example. They had mince and tatties at my work today as well. I didn't have it. Link to comment