Stayin' Alive....but Not For Much Longer

I see he's almost deid.

When he goes does that mean there'll only be the one who looks like a lion left? He scared me as a child, people shouldn't look like lions.

Aye it looks like it's curtains in the not too distant future.

Remember Barry Gibb taking umbrage on the Clive Anderson show.

Pretty much confirmed that they were tossers. :laughing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHa6vYq6Nyk

Aye it looks like it's curtains in the not too distant future.

Remember Barry Gibb taking umbrage on the Clive Anderson show.

Pretty much confirmed that they were tossers. :laughing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHa6vYq6Nyk

Hmm not what you'd call keen on the Bee Gees but remember at the time and still do think Anderson (who I was far more keen on) just took it a bit too far there. The 'playful' jabs were constant.

That said Liono would have been better served to grin and bear it and then chin Anderson backstage.

Do you wanna be in my gang?

Certainly has the air of sexual grooming in retrospect, all seemed very innocent at the time I'm sure, although I wisna alive, but perhaps some of our older members can confirm that being interfered with was no big deal back in the day and could even see you surpass your peers due to some of the rewards on offer for compliance.

Always felt the glitter thing was suspect and a distant relative only of ( hard rock ). Marc Bolan got rich on very little , his best days were behind him after Jon's Children.

Never got interfered with masel' as a wee boy but mebbe came close....every town seems to have a sicko who will ask ' Dee ye wint tae see him doon here?' , usually a slack-jawed , drooling nut job , more to be pitied than demonised. 'Eeergghhhmmmmnn...... f u c k aff !'

Shame success was wasted on the likes of Gary Glitter( Paul Gadd )and Jonathan King , two creeps with cunning , I wonder if they would have slipped into decadence without the wealth they achieved.

Jesus! Paul Raven aka Gary Glitter aka Paul Gadd worked with George Martin before George Martin worked with the Beatles.....George Martin kept THAT quiet.

Paul Francis Gadd was born in Banbury, Oxfordshire. His mother, a cleaner, was unmarried, and initially brought him up with the help of her mother; he never knew his father. He was hard to control and at the age of 10, along with his brother, he was taken into local authority care. Although a Protestant, he was educated at a Roman Catholic school. He would frequently run away to London, to the clubs that would be the launching ground of his career.

By the time he was 16, Glitter was already performing at London clubs. His career grew as he appeared at such venues as the Two I's, in Soho, and the Laconda and Safari Clubs. His repertoire consisted of early rock'n'roll standards and gentle ballads. He got his first break when film producer Robert Hartford Davis discovered Gadd and financed a recording session for Decca Records. At 18, Gadd recorded his first album; under the stage name Paul Raven, he released his first single, "Alone in the Night", in January 1960.

A year later, with a new manager, Vic Billings, he signed a new recording contract with Parlophone and worked with producer George Martin, before Martin's association with the Beatles. Martin produced two singles, "Walk on Boy" and "Tower of Strength", but neither sold very well and Raven's recording career reached an impasse. By 1964, while Martin's work with the Beatles was conquering the world, Raven was reduced to playing the warm-up for the British television programme Ready Steady Go!. He did numerous TV commercials and film auditions, and in the course of those activities met arranger-producer Mike Leander who eventually helped revive his career.

The song that at last made Gary Glitter's name and career began as a 15-minute jam, whittled down to a pair of three-minute extracts released as the A and B sides of a single, called "Rock and Roll, Parts One and Two". "Rock and Roll (Part Two)" would prove to be the more popular side in many countries, although it took about six months before it made its full impact, going to number two on the British pop charts and reaching the Top Ten in the United States, one of the few British glam rock records to do so. "Rock and Roll (Part One)" was also a hit: in France it made number one and in the UK both sides were listed together on the charts.

The mostly instrumental "Rock and Roll, Part 2" has been played as a popular cheering song at American sporting events for several decades.

Never got interfered with masel' as a wee boy but mebbe came close....every town seems to have a sicko who will ask ' Dee ye wint tae see him doon here?' , usually a slack-jawed , drooling nut job , more to be pitied than demonised. 'Eeergghhhmmmmnn...... f u c k aff !'

Really don't know why the Glitter Man fell out of fashion.

One thing you have to say about the man... he was an entertainer.

I predict a massive comeback for GG.

Probably induction into the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame.

I like to pick the loon up from his nursery while blasting The Glitter full volume on my phonographic car stereo.

Early seventies and Gary had a HUGE female following , most chicks would have jumped into bed with him without a second thought , tragic his problem meant he preferred 'em pubertal.

This was my favourite , he just seemed like a nickum in those days , I guess it was partly the cocaine that did it. Dedicated to the Big Man !