barassie_afc Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 Was at Grand National at weekend and as was following the game on the phone, the sickening inevitability of yet another semi final defeat. What is more concerning is that it appears a lot of the "stalwarts" on here have chucked it, the apathy is endemic. Its understandable, we have a chairman that isnt progressive, and a dour plodder as a manager. I dont have the answer, and I am not sure anyone has, but, what I expect is that the people running the club at least show some nous............. I think next season could be particularly traumatic both financially and from a football perspective. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 Was actually working my way back into it this season, been to all the homes so far, pretty much gave up on afc a long time ago, very,much only going to be social now, club is going nowhere and totally fed up. Not sure why I expected anything differant on saturday. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 Was actually working my way back into it this season, been to all the homes so far, pretty much gave up on afc a long time ago, very,much only going to be social now, club is going nowhere and totally fed up. Not sure why I expected anything differant on saturday.You had the same look of disappointment, annoyance and bafflement as me on Saturday.Much like everyone else watching the game unfold on front of us. Go down with a bit of hope only for normal service to resume. I'm firmly in the don't give a fuck camp right now, and the season ended for me at full time. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 You had the same look of disappointment, annoyance and bafflement as me on Saturday.Much like everyone else watching the game unfold on front of us. Go down with a bit of hope only for normal service to resume. I'm firmly in the don't give a fuck camp right now, and the seson ended for me at full time. Aye was a bit of a shock to the system, sunshine on leith at the end was the longest shuffle up the stairs I have had, seems to be the norm for us at hampden. 1 win in 7 for me, a lot of dejected walks out of that ground now Link to comment
RUL Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 That Proclaimers song will haunt me for years, never liked the cunts. Link to comment
Podge Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 Worst bit at the game was definitely the end, more because I actually like that sunshine on leith song It was all the more horrible because after a dire first half, we looked better for the first 20 mins of the 2nd half, and after the goal I really thought we were going to go on and take it. I think I kept checking the clock on the big screen from 75 mins onwards, half believing it would go to extra time and pens, then when the goal went in, it was a stunned silence. I'm only a part timer though, last game I had went to was december 2010 when hearts beat us 5-0 at tynecastle. I can't afford or be arsed with travelling up to Aberdeen for home matches and I haven't even been arsed with going to away games! Maybe when we get a new stadium or at start of next season I might get back into it. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 Was at Grand National at weekend and as was following the game on the phone, the sickening inevitability of yet another semi final defeat. What is more concerning is that it appears a lot of the "stalwarts" on here have chucked it, the apathy is endemic. Its understandable, we have a chairman that isnt progressive, and a dour plodder as a manager. I dont have the answer, and I am not sure anyone has, but, what I expect is that the people running the club at least show some nous............. I think next season could be particularly traumatic both financially and from a football perspective. Was at Aintree on the thurs.over Link to comment
Miglo don Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 For me supporting aberdeen isn't something I choose to do, it's something that I have always done since I was a wee boy and I can't/won't turn my back on the club. I have lost count of the amount of times I have said to myself "fuck it that's it I'm done wi this shit" only to find myself in the exact same position weeks later. Supporting them pretty much means being pissed off every Saturday and totally dejected every few years after another semi final defeat, if AFC were my wife I would have divorced her! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 I couldn't even bring myself to give the chair infront of me a massive kick. I just looked at my shoes and thought "why fucking bother" Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted April 16, 2012 Share Posted April 16, 2012 But I think the general level of devotion is way way down... Passive supporting feels definitely on the rise... Every year there's that vague sense of eternal optimism at the beginning of a season, but I reckon if something doesn't change bottom 6 will be a permanent fixture (it's looking that way already)... Fair play to the masochists that lap it up though... Link to comment