phoenix Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 You shoulda been there. Blistering BFJ( Blues, Funk , Jazz ). Geoff Tornn - Guitar Scott Cruikshank - Guitar Mike Rae - Bass Fraser Peterkins - Drums Anybody know this loon? Comes from Aberdeen , moved to Toronto in 2005. Geoff has been studying guitar for the past 20 years and has had the opportunity to study in depth with some of the most reputable musicians in Scotland and Toronto including George Norval, Rich Brown, Kirk MacDonald and Tony Zorzi. After moving to Canada from the UK in 2005 to attend Humber College, he has had the opportunity to play with Mike Stern (Blood, Sweat and Tears), Randy Brecker (The Brecker Brothers) and Chris Potter (Steely Dan). For the past 3 years Geoff has been working hard on developing a reputation for himself in the Toronto music scene playing regularly in Toronto clubs such as Sopra Upper Lounge and Joe Mamas as well as playing various Canada dates with Jarvis Church from The Philosopher Kings. Recently, he has received a degree in Contemporary Music from Humber College in Toronto. Link to comment
Pash Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 Anyone got a time machine I can borrow? Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 Shite! I hate hearing I've missed a good blues gig. I'll have to give him a wee lookey in the future. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 Anyone got a time machine I can borrow? Aye. I'll drop it in past last Tuesday. Link to comment
phoenix Posted April 19, 2012 Author Share Posted April 19, 2012 No wonder, it sounds pish. There's neen sae blin nor cannae see. Or deef fa cannae hear , for that metter. Aye there were only a haunfae turned up to see a local loon done good( played with Steely Dan and Blood , Sweat and Tears already , to name a few ). I reckon a residency would have them queuing up , it takes time to develop a following but by next Wednesday he'll be long gone and it's the turn of the MJ5. Annie Lennox was one of the few there , though few recognised her. Link to comment
tup Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 There's neen sae blin nor cannae see. Or deef fa cannae hear , for that metter. Aye there were only a haunfae turned up to see a local loon done good( played with Steely Dan and Blood , Sweat and Tears already , to name a few ). I reckon a residency would have them queuing up , it takes time to develop a following but by next Wednesday he'll be long gone and it's the turn of the MJ5. Annie Lennox was one of the few there , though few recognised her. Is she a rug muncher? I've finished the Dirac book a while back min, do you want it back? It was reasonably interesting, quite good. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 No wonder, it sounds pish. I was going to say it looks dead but that would be unfair on the older members of the audience. Link to comment
phoenix Posted April 19, 2012 Author Share Posted April 19, 2012 Is she a rug muncher? I've finished the Dirac book a while back min, do you want it back? It was reasonably interesting, quite good. I reckon Annie's a wee bit like me these days tup , when sexual union is no longer uppermost in our minds. Aye Dirac had a strange life but kinda came good in the end , I guess. No tup please pass it on to anyone interested. Wish I could say that I'd read your kind offerings but I'm affa slow now and often go to bed and simply turn out the light.....and I can only read ( books ) lying down. They are not however forgotten. :thumbs: Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 I reckon Annie's a wee bit like me these days tup , when sexual union is no longer uppermost in our minds. Aye Dirac had a strange life but kinda came good in the end , I guess. No tup please pass it on to anyone interested. Wish I could say that I'd read your kind offerings but I'm affa slow now and often go to bed and simply turn out the light.....and I can only read ( books ) lying down. They are not however forgotten. :thumbs: Yes please. :thumbs: Link to comment
phoenix Posted April 19, 2012 Author Share Posted April 19, 2012 Shite! I hate hearing I've missed a good blues gig. I'll have to give him a wee lookey in the future. I'll try to keep you informed pudgie. There's a Jazz Club every Wednesday - Upstairs At O'Neill's.....often Jazz covers the Blues and I like mine electric. And piano trios - piano , bass and drums.....like the Dudley Moore Trio , 'mind ? The Avishai Cohen Trio are f u c k i n' colossal but unlikely to perform Upstairs( it's free to get in ). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VScRIvrOawY&feature=related Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 19, 2012 Share Posted April 19, 2012 Humph Pho. I'm more of a Blues and Funk than a Jazz. I can appreciate their musical talents though. Some very, very skilled people in that videos. I do love a bit of electric blues. Oli Brown and Joanne Shaw Taylor being two of the best "up and coming" artists. Seen Oli live in Endinburger and was very impressed, unfortunately I missed JST the night before but she was apparently better than Brown. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqyaZS_-3Lk&feature=related http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvFsCF2Alkc&feature=relmfu Two of my favourite albums at the moment are Oli Brown's Heads I win Tails You Lose and Taylor's White Sugar. Highly recommended! Link to comment