Old Wing Stand Posted April 29, 2012 Share Posted April 29, 2012 Breaking news on SSN FA ask West Brom for permission to speak to Roy Hodgson about the England job, poor Arry !! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted April 29, 2012 Share Posted April 29, 2012 Breaking news on SSN FA ask West Brom for permission to speak to Roy Hodgson about the England job, poor Arry !! Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted April 29, 2012 Author Share Posted April 29, 2012 Lots of unhappy guffs texting in Link to comment
fatshaft Posted April 29, 2012 Share Posted April 29, 2012 Lots of unhappy guffs texting in On Talk Sport, plenty are happy. Have to say from a Scottish point of view, I'd rather see Harry, he's a gype. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 29, 2012 Share Posted April 29, 2012 On Talk Sport, plenty are happy. Have to say from a Scottish point of view, I'd rather see Harry, he's a gype.Aye, was saying to my dad he'll fail if he does get the job as he can't actually sign anyone. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted April 29, 2012 Share Posted April 29, 2012 On Talk Sport, plenty are happy. Have to say from a Scottish point of view, I'd rather see Harry, he's a gype.Dinna worry, Woy'll fuck up as spectaculary as he did when he made an arse of it as Liverpool manager. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Aye, was saying to my dad he'll fail if he does get the job as he can't actually sign anyone. I was hoping for Harry Redknapp too - think he'd be useless at international level. I actually think Hodgson will do ok. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Dinna worry, Woy'll fuck up as spectaculary as he did when he made an arse of it as Liverpool manager.???He had 6 months with a shocking squad left by the immensly over-rated waiter, his much vaunted successor has been worse. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Eh have time for Hodgson, he isn't a cunt like Arry. When he was manager of Viking over here, he learnt the lingo and if he gets the gig you can guarantee he'll use it again when Norway play England. Only problem is no fucker could understand a word he said Link to comment
tup Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 They'll fail anyway regardless of who's in charge of them, because they're pish. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 The English - and me just for the time being - because when I'm away on my honeymoon England will be playing, and I hope to laugh at all the guffies crying and moaning that they've failed again. You never said you were getting married.  Have you had the stagger yet? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Have I not? I thought it was common knowledge really, my apologies for not mentioning it.  Hodgson will be a good appointment but I'd be pissed off if I were a Spurs fan. Granted it was the press who stirred the shit with Redknapp and not the FA. Anyone think they've secretly asked Harry and he's knocked it back? Link to comment
fatshaft Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Harry Redknapp really wanted the job, so it's a confusing one for me. A chance for him to really make the name for himself he so desperately craves. I don't think Roy will do well at England, and I was fearful that Harry would - so now they haven't gone for Harry - I have a clearer head and can now rest easy that England will get nowhere near the final in the Euro's with Roy in charge. He is an average manager with smaller clubs - a big job for him (the biggest in England) - I don't think he'll last long personally, infact the Euros could really be embarrassing for them. Good.Quite the opposite for me, Wanknapp is another Keegan and was happy to see the media bandwagon for the over-rated cunt rolling on (one trophy in 30 years of management). Roy on the other hand has wide experience outwith the UK, and has been pretty successful everywhere he's been, except in La-la land where of course he was given no chance from the moment he started. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012  Hodgson will be a good appointment but I'd be pissed off if I were a Spurs fan. Granted it was the press who stirred the shit with Redknapp and not the FA. Anyone think they've secretly asked Harry and he's knocked it back? Quite a few stories circulating that Redknapp was approached but turned the job down. Which makes sense regarding the timeline of events and the crazy length of time it's taken them to make an appointment. A guy I work with is a WBA supporter and he's absolutely gutted. Hodgson had WBA very well drilled and was tactically very astute - bringing the best out of a limited squad, and getting WBA punching above their weight. Same thing at Fulham. If Redknapp had got the job, he'd have just picked all the old boys... and would probably even have tried to fit Lampard and Gerrard into the same midfield. Tactically, Redknapp is bereft of ideas - England would have crashed and burned in spectacular fashion under 'Arry. I could see them making the quarters, or perhaps the semis, if they get a bit of luck, under Hodgson. They'll be hard to beat anyway. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 hodgson is by far the outstanding candidate & wont cost the fa a fortune either. great coaching career in switzerland, sweden and finland. done well in england too also at inter a few times. england dont expect to do well. the ladt time they had low expectations they got to the semis in italy. they'll miss jack but maybe hodgson will have the forseight to build england midfield around carrick. he'll get the best out of a poor group of players Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Always amazed me that Hodgson was shown such a lack of respect by players at Liverpool yet was well liked at an arguably bigger team in Internazionale! Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Always amazed me that Hodgson was shown such a lack of respect by players at Liverpool yet was well liked at an arguably bigger team in Internazionale! Doesn't surprise me in the slightest, this is Liverpool, and their deluded fan-base that you are talking about. The same guy I was speaking about above, that I work with, met Zeljko 'Spider' Kalac randomly in a hotel in adelaide (think he is a coach at Sydney now) and they got speaking about football obviously... when he mentioned that he was an Albion supporter, Spider was apparently waxing lyrical about Hodgson and his reputation in italian football. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Roy Hodgson will fail as England manager.Of course he will. Everyone would fail as England manager. There are at least 4 international teams that are much better than them but the media will whip them up into a frenzy and they will expect to win the euros. I don't think Hodgson did that poorly in the Liverpool job considering the constraints he was working under. He certainly did not have 100 million to spend to allow him to beat a championship team on penalties. King kenny has been worse than him IMO. Under King Kenny Liverpools league form has been woeful and considering the investment squandered on sub standard players he would be getting the bullet if he was anyone else. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Nothing with Liverpool FC fans ever amazes me, but I never get quite why they hated Hodgson so much. They were forever defending Benitez at the end of his tenure, saying he had to operate in difficult conditions due to the owners at the time. Then Hodgson comes in at the time it was at its worst, when there was no money available at all for signings and there were threats of administration hanging over the team. There were also a lot of Benitez's boys in that team, who I don't think operated at the level expected. Now, Hodgson's record was awful there, but I think there were extenuating circumstances that caused that. As for England, he will probably do no better or worse than any of the other candidates. Doing it this late in the day so a manager doesn't really have much time to scout potential players to take in the squad is ridiculous. Hodgson will have a good idea of what is going on with most of the likely squad players I suppose though. To me it will be win/win for whoever takes over. They will either do well enough and meet expectations of fans or they can blame the late appointment. Link to comment
tup Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 They're just like Celtic, they operate best with nasty, mannerless minkers in charge. Hodgson is quite civilised, and therefore failed, just like Mowbray. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 haha why did u feel the need to say that there and not just inter? A touch of the Joe Jordan's? Regarding Hodgson, he coached Switzerland to last 16 of a world cup finals - he'll do just fine with the players he has at his disposal. In my view it's quite a safe appointment. England won't win the tournament... (I doubt even Jose Mourinho could pull off such a feat with the players Hodgson will now have at his disposal).. but they won't disgrace themselves either. Quarters or perhaps a semi final if they're lucky. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 I don't hate Roy, I just don't think he's that great a manager. There was a big backlash against him when he was there though. It seemed that the issues that had been deemed acceptable for Benitez's failings late on were not relevant or considered for Roy Hodgson.  I don't think he is a great manager either. He has done some decent jobs with smaller clubs but he doesn't have a particularly great win record throughout his managerial career. There aren't a great deal of managers out there that could do that much with England this year in my opinion and I think Hodgson could set them up in a way that they are difficult to beat. I don't think there would be all that much difference between him and the other main candidate Redknapp. I'd actually think that Hodgson would be better suited for England. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 haha why did u feel the need to say that there and not just inter?Ha ha chuckled myself while I did it too. Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Very surprising news this, but as mentioned i think he will do a decent job with them. I suppose the only problem is getting the respect from the egos in the squad. If he can manage that, then they've got a good chance Link to comment
Redstar Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 The average English fan is furious at this news...all sounds very like Broon..."he'd rather not lose a game than go out and win it"...seems to be the chat... ha fu*king ha...If the cu*t is anything like as hopeless as Broon...bring it on!! Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Very surprising news this, but as mentioned i think he will do a decent job with them. I suppose the only problem is getting the respect from the egos in the squad. If he can manage that, then they've got a good chanceA good chance of fit? Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 A good chance of fit?going really far in the tournament. They obviously are nowhere near as good as the likes of Germany, Spain etc on paper, but you only need to look at the likes of Greece to show that you only need the rub of the green to make your mark Link to comment
paddy Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMrq786o8n8 Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMrq786o8n8Brilliant! Link to comment