Craig Brown Hint Thread

Hello Craig

I hope you are reading. Since you are probably staying on I thought it would be a good idea to give you some hints in relation to the summer and positions you might want to fill. So here is a basic 4-4-2 formation

GK : Ok

RB: Shite (this position is for full backs. Not central defenders or goalkeepers turned strikers)

CB: Ok

CB: Ok

LB: Shite

RM: Shite

CM: Too Many

LM: Shite

ST: Ok

ST: Shite

Do the right thing

• Replies 107

I really wish I had confidence in auld Brooner over the Summer.

But I dinna.

I think he'll make a bit of a cunt of it again and we're left feeding off the scraps that nae other radge wanted again.

Prove me 'rang Craigie min!! :(

I've said it before.

If we get 4 players in over the summer and 2 or 3 of them are as good as, say, Rob Milsom, I'll be very happy - even if the other 1 or 2 are total journeymen.

When Brown has given a decent wedge to someone, they have almost invariably turned out to be up to the task.

Mawene is the only exception, but I'd suggest more due to age than ability. I'd still play him at CB before McArdle though, who many on here seem to rate for reasons best known to themselves.

I'll try and let you down gently.

McArdle is a better CB than Mawene.

So the many are right and you are wrong.

I'll try and let you down gently.

McArdle is a better CB than Mawene.

So the many are right and you are wrong.

Craig Brown agrees with me and he is a professional football manager, so I'll take quality over quantity, thanks.

And if there's one thing Craig Brown knows about, it's defence....

Craig Brown agrees with me and he is a professional football manager, so I'll take quality over quantity, thanks.

And if there's one thing Craig Brown knows about, it's defence....

I'm going to see how many fans agree with you.

You were first so i'll call you Fan A.

I've said it before.

If we get 4 players in over the summer and 2 or 3 of them are as good as, say, Rob Milsom, I'll be very happy - even if the other 1 or 2 are total journeymen.

When Brown has given a decent wedge to someone, they have almost invariably turned out to be up to the task.

:laughing: :laughing:

there is no doubt in my mind that Craig's is now starting to have an appearance much like jarlsberg cheese. He is slowly starting to dement and it is having a detrimental effect on our team.Craig Brown should be retired for his own health, and ours.

Thats the one thats full of holes...yeah?...bit like his team selection,tactics and squad...go now you old cu*t!!

My hints for Brown and Knox:

1) Identify and appoint a successor to take over at the end of next season.

This will remove some of the pressure once people realise there is a set date when the next man comes in. Start to work with that successor on the squad and style of play - thus giving the next manager a head start and some input on the players he will have. Someone like Paul Hartley might me an acceptable candidate.

2) 2 Full backs ARE required. Even if we have Clark Robertson and now it seems Magennis trying out in that position.

We need good quality full backs. For some reason this is a position much undervalued at Afc over the last 5 years.

3) 2 Wingers need to be brought in.

Whether they are promising young players with something to prove or experienced pros doesn't matter so much but we have a disasterous poverty of players in this area. Milsom, Clark, Fyvie cannot effectively play this position week in week out. The team is too narrow.

4). Replace Mackie & Paton, with 1 proven striker who has pace and can bag goals.

This is what Vernon needs next to him.

5). Can we remove the Langfield contract from the table?

Please.

6). 2 up front please next season, lets play for wins.

7). Set youself the target of winning a trophy next year and make it publicly known you'll be leaing at the end of the season.

Make it nice and clear what your goals are and when you'll move on.

Is it just my imagination or did broon not play 4-3-3 at Motherwell?

I can't get my head round his negative approach. It cost us a chance to be going to Hampden on the 19th of May. If we were negative and difficult to beat I'd probably accept at present however we're not even that.

My hints for Brown and Knox:

1) Identify and appoint a successor to take over at the end of next season.

This will remove some of the pressure once people realise there is a set date when the next man comes in. Start to work with that successor on the squad and style of play - thus giving the next manager a head start and some input on the players he will have. Someone like Paul Hartley might me an acceptable candidate.

2) 2 Full backs ARE required. Even if we have Clark Robertson and now it seems Magennis trying out in that position.

We need good quality full backs. For some reason this is a position much undervalued at Afc over the last 5 years.

3) 2 Wingers need to be brought in.

Whether they are promising young players with something to prove or experienced pros doesn't matter so much but we have a disasterous poverty of players in this area. Milsom, Clark, Fyvie cannot effectively play this position week in week out. The team is too narrow.

4). Replace Mackie & Paton, with 1 proven striker who has pace and can bag goals.

This is what Vernon needs next to him.

5). Can we remove the Langfield contract from the table?

Please.

6). 2 up front please next season, lets play for wins.

7). Set youself the target of winning a trophy next year and make it publicly known you'll be leaing at the end of the season.

Make it nice and clear what your goals are and when you'll move on.

I agree with most of this except the second part of number 7. That would be a disaster waiting to happen IMO. Look at spurs this season and Man Spew when they thought their managers were leaving and you would imagine that they are teams with better professionals than ours yet they still took their eyes off the ball.

I can't get my head round his negative approach. It cost us a chance to be going to Hampden on the 19th of May. If we were negative and difficult to beat I'd probably accept at present however we're not even that.

Maybe it's what managers do when they get older. SAF did it last night playing one up front against Man City. Roy Hodgson will do it with Engerland as well.

But yes, he did let them play an attacking game against Motherwell, Maybe he wasn't feeling well that day.

I agree with most of this except the second part of number 7. That would be a disaster waiting to happen IMO. Look at spurs this season and Man Spew when they thought their managers were leaving and you would imagine that they are teams with better professionals than ours yet they still took their eyes off the ball.

Yeah thats a risk. But it doesn't always happen that way. Particularly if the new guy is already on board and players know they still have to perform.

I think if they had Brown in charge and on a charge to glory but Hartley say, quietly watching them all in training and their perfomances in every game, then they would give even more effort. Think of it this way - they might start waiting for Broon to retire at any moment. By which I mean do what they did to JC, McGhee before and stop putting it all in. If they already know who the next manager is and that he is present, watching them, well they know they can't fuck about.

My suggestion is Broon gets some slack from fans by making it clear he won't hang about longer then sets himself a real challenge to win something and goes for it fully comitted instead of playing everything cagey.

But what you say could happen yes.

Let me ask this though - do you think they haven't taken the eye off the ball anyway?

Craig Brown's 4-3-3 is more like 4-5-1 where the two wide players up front spend half the time covering the full backs!

and if his 4-3-3 contains Vernon wide, then he can fuck right off.

I've said it before.

Chris Clark :hysterical: