looksgoodinred Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 For some reason, summer makes me nostalgic for my childhood (it may be just the bottle of wine I've had whilst sitting in the sun mind you). Summers seemed endless and perfect. Do you have a favourite childhood memory? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 For some reason, summer makes me nostalgic for my childhood (it may be just the bottle of wine I've had whilst sitting in the sun mind you). Summers seemed endless and perfect. Do you have a favourite childhood memory? Trying to think. I don't believe I have any good childhood memories. Hmmmm.... that would explain why I'm a hedonistic fuckwit of an adult. Thanks doctor :thumbs: Link to comment
Lencarl Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 For some reason, summer makes me nostalgic for my childhood (it may be just the bottle of wine I've had whilst sitting in the sun mind you). Summers seemed endless and perfect. Do you have a favourite childhood memory? I guess my favourite childhood memory is freedom. Freedom to run and play and just be, in the sunshine Link to comment
RUL Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 That it always seemed to be sunny and the smell of the grass being cut......leading to all day football sessions, awesome. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 12, 2012 Author Share Posted May 12, 2012 Trying to think. I don't believe I have any good childhood memories. Hmmmm.... that would explain why I'm a hedonistic fuckwit of an adult. Thanks doctor :thumbs: How many thousands In therapy did it cost you to gain that wisdom? :-) Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 Fortunately nothing, because "therapy fo suckas." as the brothers round these parts would say. Therapy fo suckas. This board is better than any shrink anyhoo. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 12, 2012 Author Share Posted May 12, 2012 Fortunately nothing, because "therapy fo suckas." as the brothers round these parts would say. Therapy fo suckas. This board is better than any shrink anyhoo. Really? Huh. Well on that note.. Bottoms up! Link to comment
BillShankly Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 Games of football would last for hours. Sometimes you would get shouted in for your tea, wolf it down and dash back out to join your team. Brilliant days. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 Games of football would last for hours. Sometimes you would get shouted in for your tea, wolf it down and dash back out to join your team. Brilliant days. I mind getting up early on school holidays, playing fitba in the Holy Family schoolie (looking oot for the miserable cunt janie).A break around 10ish for a strawberry tart fae the Mitchel & Muil van, a few games o 10 half time 20 the winner with runny oot goalies.A quick break for dinner back out for a 3 headers a voley or walley, another break for the mobile grocers van and a Lucky Tattie, more fitba hi jinx.A visit to Gibbies (local papershop) for a pint o milk in yon platic bottles and a couple rowies....some games o 3 and in.... tea time, out again for a kick about and end the night playing Kerbie, repeat for 7 - 8 or sometimes 9 weeks and that was the summer holidays. All this to this soundtrack Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 12, 2012 Author Share Posted May 12, 2012 Now there's one for the one hit wonders :-) don't think he had any other lol. Did you know the B side was Put the bone in? A colleague informed me of that some number of years ago and it pops to mind whenever I hear Seasons in the sun :-) Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 Now there's one for the one hit wonders :-) don't think he had any other lol. Did you know the B side was Put the bone in? A colleague informed me of that some number of years ago and it pops to mind whenever I hear Seasons in the sun :-) Hahaha never heard that before.....brilliant. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 12, 2012 Author Share Posted May 12, 2012 Consider me the useless repository of musical trivia this evening (on my third bottle of wine ) Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 Leading Aberdeen out in the 93 Scottish Cup Final Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted May 12, 2012 Share Posted May 12, 2012 Mucking about in hay bales then setting them on fire, I was a right little pyromaniac in my day Also mooching about in the abundant new housing building sites that were awash in the area at the time. Plenty of material to be had for my old mans DIY projects and incendiary purposes. The 36 a side games of fitba that dwindled to about 5 when it got dark. Uh and of course trips to the Up Town Baths Link to comment
johnstrac Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 What happened to lucky tatties ? Link to comment
dervish Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 Reinventing the game kiss/cuddle/torture into kiss/show me yours/I'll show mine. Life has been down hill since then, see that a high point a good 20 years ago. Around the same time seeing my first vagina, being unimpressed with breasts then the realisation that they are pretty much all girls have to show. Link to comment
danger_mouse Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 strawberry picking in the summer to earn moneyskateboarding most of the day at the ramps we had builtgoing into town on bank holidays to catch a movie and spy all the aberdeen talent having a great set of mates that hardly changed till i left school Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 strawberry picking in the summer to earn moneyskateboarding most of the day at the ramps we had builtgoing into town on bank holidays to catch a movie and spy all the aberdeen talent having a great set of mates that hardly changed till i left school you mean watch a film Link to comment
ebbe Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 winning champion street was pretty special at the time. felt like we'd won the world cup. Link to comment
danger_mouse Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 you mean watch a film sorry miss Link to comment
tup Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 I dinna remember it but I've written evidence of it. We were asked in primary 3 to write something about a girl who had been 'in a fire'. Canna mind why she was in it, but a fledgling me wrote: 'She looked at the fire. I pushed her in and ran away'. You cannot imagine the immense pride I had when my mother produced the jotter which contained this gem. I'll wager that nobody else in primary school history showed such imagination or cynicism. It was an early indication of my clinical disregard for my fellow human beings, age of innocence my arse, I was up for it early doors, and even in primary 3 I had the nous to recognise that you get nowhere in life by conforming. If I wrote that in a modern primary school there's a fair chance they'd finger me as a budding psychopath and fill me with Ritalin. This attitude is sorely lacking in modern society, bairns are virtually forced to tolerate each other, and hold all inclusive birthday parties at the behest of their feel mithers. Expensive goody bags get dished out to all and sundry. My advice to bairns is dinna conform. Take advantage of the weaknesses of the weaker bairns in your class, and prey on their achilles heel. Fight them if there's a sticking point. Dinna bother with niceties, a black eye for your rivals spells out your intent in the starkest fashion. If you get ahead in primary 3, by the time you're an adult they'll be out of sight, let them wallow in their self pity, they'll only hate you because they rate you. Bairns are brainwashed into thinking they're all the same. They're not. Some are much stronger than others, both physically and mentally. Luck of the draw. If you're unlucky enough to be boss eyed, or have a clubfoot, that's your tough shit, get on with it. Link to comment
ebbe Posted May 13, 2012 Share Posted May 13, 2012 I dinna remember it but I've written evidence of it. We were asked in primary 3 to write something about a girl who had been 'in a fire'. Canna mind why she was in it, but a fledgling me wrote: 'She looked at the fire. I pushed her in and ran away'. You cannot imagine the immense pride I had when my mother produced the jotter which contained this gem. I'll wager that nobody else in primary school history showed such imagination or cynicism. It was an early indication of my clinical disregard for my fellow human beings, age of innocence my arse, I was up for it early doors, and even in primary 3 I had the nous to recognise that you get nowhere in life by conforming. If I wrote that in a modern primary school there's a fair chance they'd finger me as a budding psychopath and fill me with Ritalin. This attitude is sorely lacking in modern society, bairns are virtually forced to tolerate each other, and hold all inclusive birthday parties at the behest of their feel mithers. Expensive goody bags get dished out to all and sundry. My advice to bairns is dinna conform. Take advantage of the weaknesses of the weaker bairns in your class, and prey on their achilles heel. Fight them if there's a sticking point. Dinna bother with niceties, a black eye for your rivals spells out your intent in the starkest fashion. If you get ahead in primary 3, by the time you're an adult they'll be out of sight, let them wallow in their self pity, they'll only hate you because they rate you. Bairns are brainwashed into thinking they're all the same. They're not. Some are much stronger than others, both physically and mentally. Luck of the draw. If you're unlucky enough to be boss eyed, or have a clubfoot, that's your tough shit, get on with it. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted May 14, 2012 Share Posted May 14, 2012 winning champion street was pretty special at the time. felt like we'd won the world cup. ok I'm goin to bite...cunt haha Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 14, 2012 Share Posted May 14, 2012 Kids nowadays are probably told there is a sex pest behind every tree in the woodies and told to avoid at all costs. Bit of an exaggeration, yer no omnipresent. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 14, 2012 Share Posted May 14, 2012 For me, the sun did shine all summer as a kid. It was 30-35C every day and eh spent it lazing by the local swimming pool wi my chums. Eh remember distinctly one of the lifeguards. She had the most amazing fully-developed tits that were wanktastic in her swimsuit. Sunscreen hadnae been invented then, so by the time we did oor obligatory visit tae Scotland in August, and that me and my brother's names were jist written in to oor parents passports, it seemed like my parents had adopted two Pakistanis and given them Scottish names. Summer now is shit. Link to comment
GK55 Posted May 14, 2012 Share Posted May 14, 2012 Days upon days of football in the park - world cuppy, headers and volleys, come rain, shine, snow. Link to comment