Craig Brown/ee/pj = Drivel

I don't think I can take much more of this crap. I acknowledge that our Manager has a passion for spouting pure pish, but if we carry on over the entire close season with tales of having a decent squad already, only needing a couple of new faces, in talks with guys that we have no chance of signing, etc etc etc. I swear - I'm gonna top myself.

We've all suffered a long and tiresome season of listening to and reading Craig (keeper had no saves to make) Brown. Please give us the summer off! Please!!

• Replies 119

I don't think I can take much more of this crap. I acknowledge that our Manager has a passion for spouting pure pish, but if we carry on over the entire close season with tales of having a decent squad already, only needing a couple of new faces, in talks with guys that we have no chance of signing, etc etc etc. I swear - I'm gonna top myself.

We've got a decent squad already.

We only need a couple of new faces.

We're in talks with James McFadden, Paddy McCourt, Jordan Rhodes and David Goodwillie.

Cant wait to see what next season holds - Massive improvement again would be nice!

We could go from quite a small budget and finishing 9th......to a larger budget and being 9th or throwing money at the problem, signing a lot of players and going way over budget................to finish 9th.

Something tells me next season we are going to finish 9th :tommy:

We've all suffered a long and tiresome season of listening to and reading Craig (keeper had no saves to make) Brown. Please give us the summer off! Please!!

Aye. Seems the current squad minus players leaving are good enough to do better next season than erm they did this season.

Only three and possibly four signings to come. Even four good signings which is asking a lot, may give us ok first team but squad wise short again. And saying looking at winger, centre forward and centre half which again leaves us seriously unbalanced. Going to have to do lot better to convince fans to come back.

He is a blethering old demented manny. If the P&J or the EE are willing to aid his eventualy withdrawl into obscurity by making him look a neep then thats fine by me. I dinnae read either of these jokes of papers so I'll no get bothered by it but good on them for working the angle to get the old duffer into the nearest care home. It's only a matter of time afore some Psychiatrist questions his capcity and has him referred to social work for a care placement.

Knox is another matter, but being a die hard hun he will probably just shrivel up when the rest of hunland dissapear at the point of liquidation.

I have some advice for you :

(1) Don't read the papers.

(2) Accept every football manager talks shit because they are asked the same boring leading questions everyday.

(3) Ignore these points and top yourself!

If we don't finish 9th next season, I for one will be pissed off. When we have bombed out of every cup it's the only thing that keeps me going, the thought of finishing 9th. I don't fear relegation, it's the thought of not finishing 9th that keeps me awake at night.

I have some advice for you :

(1) Don't read the papers.(2) Accept every football manager talks shit because they are asked the same boring leading questions everyday.

(3) Ignore these points and top yourself!

So true as WTF is the EE going to write about this summer ?? What book Darren will read on holiday, how Langfield is determined to be AFC's No 1, how Chris Clark is determined to secure a CL spot with the club, how some lad from the Botswanian 2nd division will be coming in on trial.

Utter pish for the next 80 odd days until the season starts again

Browns just being diplomatic and saying what the current players want to hear, that they are "good enough" for AFC. Behind the scenes he'll be looking to fill positions. I have no doubt. What is he going to say? "The players I have here right now who will be here next season are fucking shite, I will be looking hard to replace them".

So true as WTF is the EE going to write about this summer ?? What book Darren will read watch the film version of on holiday, how Langfield is determined to be AFC's No 1, how Chris Clark is determined to secure a CL spot with the club, how some lad from the Botswanian 2nd division will be coming in on trial.

fixed it

So true as WTF is the EE going to write about this summer ?? What book Darren will read on holiday, how Langfield is determined to be AFC's No 1, how Chris Clark is determined to secure a CL spot with the club, how some lad from the Botswanian 2nd division will be coming in on trial.

I still check it every single day though expecting some miracle of a story to appear :unsure:

Browns just being diplomatic and saying what the current players want to hear, that they are "good enough" for AFC. Behind the scenes he'll be looking to fill positions. I have no doubt. What is he going to say? "The players I have here right now who will be here next season are fucking shite, I will be looking hard to replace them".

Not much else he can say when 13 out of 17 of next seasons squad (not counting unproven youngsters) were given contracts by Brown himself.

Seriously, you believe that? The players are paid to play, not dictate what the manager writes about them or stories he feeds to the press. Who frickin cares what is said about them? We've finished 9th... again, whilst equalling our record goals for tally (in the poorest of senses).

Brown should be throwing a rocket up their arses and saying shape up or ship out.

For what it's worth, nice guys that they may well be, they are not good enough for AFC in current form. That may be the fault of Brown for not getting the best out of them, who knows. But reading some of the Twitter comments from the likes of Roberston, Fyvie, Brown and Maggenis, you get the feeling they're living on easy street and not pushed hard enough.

And Tup... another summer of telling us how much we'll improve and someone will be topping you!!! :stormtrooper:

Seriously, you believe that? The players are paid to play, not dictate what the manager writes about them or stories he feeds to the press. Who frickin cares what is said about them? We've finished 9th... again, whilst equalling our record goals for tally (in the poorest of senses).

Come on. Do you honestly believe if Broon came out and said "my teams fucking shite and all the players in my team are fucking shite" that they would want to play for him?

Probs nae but I wouldn't be that fussed if all of them left.. No matter what happens this summer we won't be that much better off than we have been since summer 2009.

It's better to have average players who believe they have the backing of the manager and fans, than to have an average player who has been told he's surplus to requirements and plays utter shit. You just need to look at performances of Fyvie and Arnason to see how players form dips when they lose interest.

On the flip side, some players may go out and try to prove the manager wrong. I don't think i've seen that happen at Pittodrie in a long time.

So three or four to come in yeah?

We need as good or better than McArdle, Reynolds, Fyvie & Arnason JUST to be much & such as last season :dontknow:

I really do not get Brown's logic in him believing that we will be much (if at all) better than last by signing JUST 3 or 4 new players.

& then you take the lack of width & creation :dontknow:

Brown is an utter clown of a manager.

Seriously WTF is he bothering for?

He actually believes himself that he can convince us that he's half way decent :laughing: it's a shame really when you think about him. Poor old bastartd.

Then the season starts....That's when the complete pish really kicks in

It's better to have average players who believe they have the backing of the manager and fans, than to have an average player who has been told he's surplus to requirements and plays utter shit. You just need to look at performances of Fyvie and Arnason to see how players form dips when they lose interest.

On the flip side, some players may go out and try to prove the manager wrong. I don't think i've seen that happen at Pittodrie in a long time.

I think it was someone on this very board who said that kids nowadays are fuds... Spoiled wee fannies with no backbone, most of whom would benefit from a good kicking.

Back in the day we had real men in the team... Willie Miller, Simmie, Rougvie, McLeish, Cooper.. even more recently guys like Windass and Richardson... Guys who would clatter anyone who needed clattering. And if they needed a result they'd act like pros and do what needed to be done.

Nowadays Aberdeen teams are filled with greeting faced little women who would rather sulk than pull their finger out of their arse. There are exceptions, but the balance of the team has recently been overwhelmingly in favour of the fuds.

Personally I would make part of the trial process thus...

...sit the trialist down and have a little chat with him. About 5 minutes into the test just out of the blue call him s FUD...if he sits there and takes it he's of no use to us. If he stands up and lamps you in the jaw then he has the level of taking no shot that should be a prerequisite of any Dons player.

Oh, and if a trialist turns up with frosted tips or waxed eyebrows (like Mulgrew) then they can just turn round and Fuck off.

It's all horse sh*t. Pandering to the needs of the players my arse. No one is bigger than the club. Not the effin manager, the Chairman nor the prima donna players who some of you think Brown should butter up in the press so they don't get a lip on. Well feck that! Do you think Fergie treats ANY of his players like that? Wenger? The chosen one?

Brown (and the club for that matter) was summed up for me, by playing Mackie for an entire 90 mins and giving him the captaincy for his final game. Like we somehow owed that guy something back. He played professional football since leaving school, earning a salary that most of us would never manage in our entire working lives. He gave in return, astonishing little, and received a testimonial for which I dunno how much he made - quite a lot. We pandered to him. He should have been gone long ago. Would he have been kept on at Hearts, Utd, or anywhere else where his goal scoring ratio was so poor? No. But he was a nice lad, a dandy through and through and we thought we owed him a living.

This just typifies what is wrong with AFC. The Chairman runs it like a frickin social club. We haven't had any balls for decades.

So spare me the stories of how we need to be all nicey nicey to guys like Fyvie, Maguire, Aluko, Arnason etc, who we bend over to try and keep happy. The club should be the ones pulling the shots. There's guys out there that would bite yer effin hand off, to get a contract to play for the Dons, and for sweeties too. Guys lower down the leagues who will run over hot coals to get the chance to play in the SPL and for a club of our size.

Cart pulling the bloody horse, that's what this club has turned into. And now we have a tiresome Manager who comes out with patronising bullshit every game. How good the fans are, how much we deserve better. How good his squad is. How much hard luck we suffered. How we won't be in the bottom half again next year.... blahdy blahdy blah. It's nauseating in the extreme. And we have a local press only happy to lap up his pish and publish it for all the 'hard done by' fans to spunk over.... well, some, but not most it seems.

Brown, Milne, and his puppet regime - epic failures. And we have a mentality of quitters and non-winners to top it all off. I've never felt as apathetic towards AFC as I do nowadays.

It's all horse sh*t. Pandering to the needs of the players my arse. No one is bigger than the club. Not the effin manager, the Chairman nor the prima donna players who some of you think Brown should butter up in the press so they don't get a lip on. Well feck that! Do you think Fergie treats ANY of his players like that? Wenger? The chosen one?

Brown (and the club for that matter) was summed up for me, by playing Mackie for an entire 90 mins and giving him the captaincy for his final game. Like we somehow owed that guy something back. He played professional football since leaving school, earning a salary that most of us would never manage in our entire working lives. He gave in return, astonishing little, and received a testimonial for which I dunno how much he made - quite a lot. We pandered to him. He should have been gone long ago. Would he have been kept on at Hearts, Utd, or anywhere else where his goal scoring ratio was so poor? No. But he was a nice lad, a dandy through and through and we thought we owed him a living.

This just typifies what is wrong with AFC. The Chairman runs it like a frickin social club. We haven't had any balls for decades.

So spare me the stories of how we need to be all nicey nicey to guys like Fyvie, Maguire, Aluko, Arnason etc, who we bend over to try and keep happy. The club should be the ones pulling the shots. There's guys out there that would bite yer effin hand off, to get a contract to play for the Dons, and for sweeties too. Guys lower down the leagues who will run over hot coals to get the chance to play in the SPL and for a club of our size.

Cart pulling the bloody horse, that's what this club has turned into. And now we have a tiresome Manager who comes out with patronising bullshit every game. How good the fans are, how much we deserve better. How good his squad is. How much hard luck we suffered. How we won't be in the bottom half again next year.... blahdy blahdy blah. It's nauseating in the extreme. And we have a local press only happy to lap up his pish and publish it for all the 'hard done by' fans to spunk over.... well, some, but not most it seems.

Brown, Milne, and his puppet regime - epic failures. And we have a mentality of quitters and non-winners to top it all off. I've never felt as apathetic towards AFC as I do nowadays.

You're going to get shit for that.. but I reckon that was a quality rant. And accurate too.

The players need to know their place, and if they think they can cruise/sulk through games then they need to be fined.

See how long they sulk for when substandard performances mean they get no wages.

Play or starve, you fucking cunts.

Try that on for a maxim.

:soapbox:

Stewart Mckimmie had another decent rant about the subject in today's EE, saying he's pretty much sick of Aberdeen being filled with "nice, honest professional lads", and demanding that we need more grafters, hard fuckers, and folk that would FIGHT for their team. He seems to have hit a good run of form of late in his column- maybe someone other than the fat postie is ghostwriting these days?

As long as Broon is Manager at AFC be prepared to read direct quotes that will have you cringeing to your core and littered with complete pish