K-9 Posted May 24, 2012 Share Posted May 24, 2012 Came across this article on STV website. Very interesting regarding Jason Brown. 2nd most saves in league per game on average and the 4th highest save % in the league. My link Link to comment
boboisared Posted May 24, 2012 Share Posted May 24, 2012 Came across this article on STV website. Very interesting regarding Jason Brown. 2nd most saves in league per game on average and the 4th highest save % in the league. My linkBut we're told he's shite, remember? Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 24, 2012 Share Posted May 24, 2012 But we're told he's shite, remember? He's not shite.He's just not that good.Cost us numerous goals last season.Being a decent bloke and tweeting nice things doesn't (or shouldn't) mask that. And yes, Langfield is worse! Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 24, 2012 Share Posted May 24, 2012 Not too concerned with Brown in goal, bigger problems elsewhere.Would not want Langfield in there, costs about a goal every 2/3 games IMO. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 24, 2012 Share Posted May 24, 2012 Not too concerned with Brown in goal, bigger problems elsewhere.Would not want Langfield in there, costs about a goal every 2/3 games IMO. I agree with all thatBut Brown aint that great, just less of a worry than other areas of the team, which hopefully will be addressed in the summer. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted May 27, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted May 27, 2012 All goalkeepers cost their team goals. It happens. If it happened regularly then I'd be concerned.Aye but with Clamgers it happens all too frequently and for Broon to sign him again for another two seasons is piss poor. Langfield should not have had the chance to sign another contract nae even for one year let alone two. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted May 27, 2012 Share Posted May 27, 2012 I agree with all thatBut Brown aint that great, just less of a worry than other areas of the team, which hopefully will be addressed in the summer. You keep banging this drum Kev... What do you expect from a keeper earning the wages we pay? Seriously min we can't afford a top class keeper, Brown is probably the best we can afford. Considering the stats above and the amount those 3 keepers will be being paid, between 4 and 15 times as much there really isn't any more can be asked of him for the level we can afford to take in. Add that to his commitment to the fans and club, something the likes of clangers has never shown in his time here - to busy fighting with management or trying to manipulate a move to der hun as their back up, personally I don't really think we can expect much more. From reading his tweets and between the lines it seems to me that he's been fucked over for the no1 slot. Doesn't deserve that after the season he's had. Yes there have been a couple of occasions where he could've had slightly better positioning or stopped a shot but I cant remember 1 clangers moment coming from him. Clangers is a bomb scare of a keeper, his distribution is fucking pathetic - once sat at in the bottom tier of the dickie and watched as ever ball he put out in that 45 minutes reached either an opposition player or went out of play, always has been a fucking bomb scare and he has a tendency to put us in trouble at least twice a game. There is no way IMO he should be at Pittodrie never mind ahead of Brown in the pecking order. Giving him a 2 year deal with the obvious promise of 1st team football that came with it is another shite decision from our senile manager. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted May 27, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted May 27, 2012 I was meaning Jason. I do not want Langfailed anywhere near the Pittodrie pitch again.Good man! Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 27, 2012 Share Posted May 27, 2012 Good man! I'm a good man too then Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted May 27, 2012 Share Posted May 27, 2012 You keep banging this drum Kev... What do you expect from a keeper earning the wages we pay? Seriously min we can't afford a top class keeper, Brown is probably the best we can afford. Considering the stats above and the amount those 3 keepers will be being paid, between 4 and 15 times as much there really isn't any more can be asked of him for the level we can afford to take in. Add that to his commitment to the fans and club, something the likes of clangers has never shown in his time here - to busy fighting with management or trying to manipulate a move to der hun as their back up, personally I don't really think we can expect much more. From reading his tweets and between the lines it seems to me that he's been fucked over for the no1 slot. Doesn't deserve that after the season he's had. Yes there have been a couple of occasions where he could've had slightly better positioning or stopped a shot but I cant remember 1 clangers moment coming from him. Clangers is a bomb scare of a keeper, his distribution is fucking pathetic - once sat at in the bottom tier of the dickie and watched as ever ball he put out in that 45 minutes reached either an opposition player or went out of play, always has been a fucking bomb scare and he has a tendency to put us in trouble at least twice a game. There is no way IMO he should be at Pittodrie never mind ahead of Brown in the pecking order. Giving him a 2 year deal with the obvious promise of 1st team football that came with it is another shite decision from our senile manager. Langfield is shite - lets get that straight - if it's a choice between the two, Brown wins every time. Craig Brown is a fud for giving him a 2 year contract, add it to his list of shite managerial decisions. But, you say "he's the best we can afford".....disagree. Off the top of my head there are 3 keepers in the SPL better than him, all with teams that pay less than us.Bell at KilliePernis at UshitedRandolph at Motherwell...although I accept he's on loan and Motherwell may not be paying much. I dont trust Langfiels at all.I have serious doubts about Brown - there are a good few examples of mistakes costing us goals. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted May 27, 2012 Share Posted May 27, 2012 Off the top of my head there are 3 keepers in the SPL better than him, all with teams that pay less than us.Bell at KilliePernis at UshitedRandolph at Motherwell...although I accept he's on loan and Motherwell may not be paying much. You could be right, but unless you watch any player, keeper or not, on a regular basis you can't really comment on their performances. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted May 27, 2012 Share Posted May 27, 2012 Langfield is shite - lets get that straight - if it's a choice between the two, Brown wins every time. Craig Brown is a fud for giving him a 2 year contract, add it to his list of shite managerial decisions. But, you say "he's the best we can afford".....disagree. Off the top of my head there are 3 keepers in the SPL better than him, all with teams that pay less than us.Bell at KilliePernis at UshitedRandolph at Motherwell...although I accept he's on loan and Motherwell may not be paying much. I dont trust Langfiels at all.I have serious doubts about Brown - there are a good few examples of mistakes costing us goals. would've backed you up on Bell until I saw him have a a couple of howlers in a few games last seasonWe couldn't afford Pernis, neither can utd, thats why he's offRandolph possibly but 1 we couldn't afford to buy him and b he's had a lot less work to do that Brown so has had a lot less opportunities to fuck up. Link to comment