Football Boots

What football boots do you guys wear when playing? I'm having to buy a new pair of both soft ground and firm ground boots but needing some recommendations. Always used to wear Lotto's as a bairn but the past few years I've purchased Nike cleats which although were quite durable, they were far from comfortable when on the pitch. I'd give Nike a try again though as it might just of been the range of Nike boot I bought. Have heard fae a few mates that Mercurial Vapors are awesome but also heard Predators are worthwhile.

You can send them back to Adidas if they split, design fault

Can you? I emailed prodirect about it, an they said it wasnt their problem and it was my fault that the boots had split., and there was nothing i could do. Not denying that there could be some blame to me, but for 3 pairs to do it is ridiculous. If i can send them back then thats a bonus.

What football boots do you guys wear when playing? I'm having to buy a new pair of both soft ground and firm ground boots but needing some recommendations. Always used to wear Lotto's as a bairn but the past few years I've purchased Nike cleats which although were quite durable, they were far from comfortable when on the pitch. I'd give Nike a try again though as it might just of been the range of Nike boot I bought. Have heard fae a few mates that Mercurial Vapors are awesome but also heard Predators are worthwhile.

Pantofola D'oro's bud! i cana recommend them enough! iv a pair o the Lazzarini's moulders, comfiest boots iv ever worn ana. had a pair o the studded Corner anes before and they were perfect ana. iv wore almost every type oer the years and these are by far the best.

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/football-boots/pantofola-doro-boots.aspx

Wore old style Puma Kings for about 8 years and only this season I changed to copas...but I'm back in the Puma Kings. Copas became a funny shape and were showing signs of splitting.

Both comfy boots but Puma Kings a bit sturdier I reckon. :thumbs:

Who do you play for Chappit Neeps?

I used to play for the Lads Club before I moved to Oz...where they call it 'soccer' and generally annoy me! Playing in the "semi-pro" leagues here for a club called Melville. (take the term 'semi-pro' with a pinch of salt!)

The level is pretty average but the banter is decent. Just as well because our coach hasna a clue either!

You don't play against the Stirling Lions do you?

I know a guy who played for them, and I'm also pretty sure that's where Jamie Watt went to after he left Cove Rangers.

Aye, we're Div 2 and they're Premier League. Although we play Sorrento (also Premier) in the cup on Monday. I expect we'll get pumped. Jamie did go there, my mate is his replacement actually!!

...and to keep it on topic I also had Nike Tiempos. They were decent and after a season as training boots they were still immaculate!

I used to play for the Lads Club before I moved to Oz...where they call it 'soccer' and generally annoy me! Playing in the "semi-pro" leagues here for a club called Melville. (take the term 'semi-pro' with a pinch of salt!)

The level is pretty average but the banter is decent. Just as well because our coach hasna a clue either!

Oh, okay! What division are Melville in? Do you get a match fee playing for them?

I play in the amateurs for the Perth Royals first team. I've has the opposite experience to be honest! been quite surprised by the standard out here! Players aren't as technically good, but the fitness levels are higher than anything I've seen playing am's in the UK. I was used to only training once a week in the UK... but over here we're strictly twice a week! We have three coaches too, who all get paid - that certainly doesn't happen in UK amateurs - at least nowhere I've played anyway! We have five mens teams and there is plenty of competition for places at our club!

Roberto... I played a team called the Stirling Panthers a couple of weeks ago.

Aye, we're Div 2 and they're Premier League. Although we play Sorrento (also Premier) in the cup on Monday. I expect we'll get pumped. Jamie did go there, my mate is his replacement actually!!

...and to keep it on topic I also had Nike Tiempos. They were decent and after a season as training boots they were still immaculate!

Saturday Div 2 is a new division this season.... you boys must have moved from Sunday last season did you? Which division were Melville in when they played amateurs?

Melville finished 2nd in Prem Amateurs last season, I was actually in Sat Div 1 with Forrestfield last year and dropped down to play with mates. $125 was the rate at Forrie. We don't get paid at Melville - 1st year in the semi pro leagues.

I've played Div 1 for 3 seasons now and there is a lot of politics at some clubs. A bit of a 'we're semi pro so a lot better than the amateur leagues' elitism really. Nae muckle difference between Div 1, 2 & the top amateur sides.

Melville finished 2nd in Prem Amateurs last season, I was actually in Sat Div 1 with Forrestfield last year and dropped down to play with mates. $125 was the rate at Forrie. We don't get paid at Melville - 1st year in the semi pro leagues.

I've played Div 1 for 3 seasons now and there is a lot of politics at some clubs. A bit of a 'we're semi pro so a lot better than the amateur leagues' elitism really. Nae muckle difference between Div 1, 2 & the top amateur sides.

What do you mean by politics? in excess of $1000 is a fair whack to dole out every week on wages - where do these clubs get the money from?

Aye, we're currently second in Div 1 amateurs (lost our first games of the season on Sunday) and I reckon we could hold our own against the Div 2 saturday sides. Quinns were a 3rd division amateur side last year as I recall?

How often did you have to train at Forrestfield? We played their amateur team in the cup first round earlier this season and destroyed them about 9-1. Think they are down in Div 5 though? They were just young lads - probably a development squad for the saturday team?