Kilt Hire In Aberdeen

jasmine57

Georgian Kilt Hire on Leadside Road is where I usually go and never had any problems.

Yeah, as far as I was aware, one kilt hire place is the same as the next. The only difference being the price.

I've never had any problems and I have never met anyone who has.

Obviously if you returned the gear with items missing or damaged then there would be a problem but that's not the fault of the shop.

Georgian dress hire used to be best (IMO) until I bought my ain een.

Coincidentally fae there as well.

Conversation wi' me and the sales boy aboot the reindeer antler cufflinks.

Me

Are they affa deer?

Him

No, they're not that expensive at all.

Me

No. I said are they affa deer.

Him

No sir. They are only ***fitiver they were***

Me.

Ach. Fitiver.

Only wanted to ken if they were genuine or no.

Georgian dress hire used to be best (IMO) until I bought my ain een.

Coincidentally fae there as well.

Conversation wi' me and the sales boy aboot the reindeer antler cufflinks.

Me

Are they affa deer?

Him

No, they're not that expensive at all.

Me

No. I said are they affa deer.

Him

No sir. They are only ***fitiver they were***

Me.

Ach. Fitiver.

Only wanted to ken if they were genuine or no.

hysterical.gif

Ive got from McCalls and Georgian in the past, never had problems with either. McCalls have a much wider choice though. Georgian dont make you buy the shirt so if you need a shirt its much cheaper than McCalls. Georgian dont do scrunchy ties which is why I havent been there the last couple of times. Bow ties are dated. They will do the tartan ties to match your kilt. Just depends what Im after which depends where I go.

youve gotta buy a shirt when you hire a kilt? well times have changed. when i used to hire a kilt, it was all in. youd even get a nice pair socks gratis.

i disagree that bow ties are dated. i'd say they are classic. but you need to put the effort in and use a self tie one. nae the ready to wear ones.

Aye Milsom and Mains are the same, you buy the shirt and socks. Would say that's a good thing as you don't want to wear a pair of socks that have been worn by another man at a Ceilidh that have been discoloured due to sweat. Same goes for a shirt.

Aye but wearing kilt that's had his pishy cock and shitey arse rubbing against it all night isn't even remotely a problem. :sherlock:

I was waiting for that comment.

At least you can't see the stains on the inside of the kilt! They aren't visible when trying to chat up your mates mother at a wedding, or trying to get in about his cousin. Mouldy looking socks with a shirt that has massive yellow stains in either pit won't get you anywhere.

best service I've had from a kilt shop is Neil Selbie's in Culter.

A year or so ago, a few mates were picking up their kilts the morning of a wedding. I have my own stuff but had misplaced my belt and Selbie gave me a loaner for nout.

Based on experiences in other shops in town, Georgian would have hired me one and McCalls would have sold me one.

At least you can't see the stains on the inside of the kilt! They aren't visible when trying to chat up your mates brother at a wedding, or trying to get in about his cousin.

gay.gif

if possibly i would say buy a kilt.

when you get a bit older into your late 20s you need one every other summer weekend end when all your mates are getting married and you're the only one left single, still getting invited to weddings as your 'mates' feel they have to invite you, but they resent it, especially when you turn up half-canned, and proceed to make an utter cunt of yourself, eventually spewing in the middle of the dancefloor. itll save you a fortune in the long run

Unlucky Bluto.

youve gotta buy a shirt when you hire a kilt? well times have changed. when i used to hire a kilt, it was all in. youd even get a nice pair socks gratis.

i disagree that bow ties are dated. i'd say they are classic. but you need to put the effort in and use a self tie one. nae the ready to wear ones.

I hire mine from Slaters in Glasgow (is there one in Aberdeen?) They don't make you buy the shirt or socks and everytime they have been immaculate, looked brand new. Had one at the weekend there, as had a wedding on the Friday, then one on the Saturday, so got my money's worth out of it anyway. What's the going rate up there for a weekend hire? Slaters is