Mixed Feelings

Ke1t

The loon, who's 5 now, was playing what they call a 'scrimmage' yesterday. Basically 3-a-side games for the youngest kids.

My loon's having a nightmare, compounded by one little kid who was playing brilliantly... so obviously my loon's getting frustrated.

At one point he just seems to give up altogether, so I shout him over and tell him just to keep his heid doon and work away. That's all anyone can ask of him.

Well, my little pep talk seemed to have a bit too much of a motivational effect, because he steams back onto the pitch, straight up to one of the other team (and to be fair this kid was half a heid bigger than my loon) and, screaming what I suppose was a war-cry, just lamps the kid on the chin with a spectacular right hook.

Obviously the game just comes to a halt right there, and Kelt Jr is hauled off the pitch for a bit of a dressing down.

Now while I'm obviously giving him grief for his 'atrocious behaviour' (A two week loss of pocket money for attacking another kid) I'm secretly kinda happy that he's got a bit of a vicious streak that saw him go for the biggest lad on their team.

Of course the coaches were all over it like fat kids on chocolate... because he was once again not wearing the mandatory Blue kits they issue to the kids. I more or less told them to fuck off and that if anyone was going to deal with my loon it was going to be me, not some twat with a whistle and all the fitba knowledge of your average egg-chaser.

The most disappointing thing is that I had been filming the game, but shut the camera off to give him his pep talk... so I completely missed his best move of the match when he decked the other loon.

If I were you I'd be chuffed to bits at his actions against a bigger opponent,showing no fear and it seems, a great degree of competitiveness,but you will have to teach him to channel this type of energy/emotion in a more positive direction.

Saying that, how often have we demanded our respective players/teams to show a bit of fight like Master Kelt?

Good on him. :thumbup1:

I think its brilliant. I was always the same as a loon. I was little for my age right up until i was about 16 so my dad taught me from an early age that I had to have a bit of bite about me and not take shit from anyone to avoid shit from bigger loons. If someone bigger hit me, hit them back was what I was taught. Same on the football pitch. Like to think I could more than hold my own against bigger guys and could hurt them just as much as they hurt me.

As has been said though, maybe best to teach him to channel it. Ive got myself in trouble in later life cos I was never willing to back down from a scrap as per my teachings. Only in the last couple of years Ive managed to channel it and know when to walk away.

I think its brilliant. I was always the same as a loon. I was little for my age right up until i was about 16 so my dad taught me from an early age that I had to have a bit of bite about me and not take shit from anyone to avoid shit from bigger loons.

Hmm interesting. Do you reckon this is where short man syndrome comes from?