Building An Extension

Anyone else done this?

Following several weeks of deliberation my good lady & I have decided to build an extension onto the house.

The thing is neither of us know's how to really go about this this.

Obvioulsly we need planning permission and an Architecht to draw up plans.

But finding a reputable building contractor is the thing.

Has anyone any recommendations of good builders that they've used previous or are currently using just now from the Aberdeen/shire area.

Do alot of these builders do the lot for you. Subcontract out to Architects, seek planning permission on your behalf etc. One stop shop.

I ken this is a boring question in amongst all the joy surrounding Sevco 5088, but I feel it's something I need advice on as a lot of money is going to be spent and I want to get my moneys worth and relatively no hassle to go with it.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated from my fellow Hatters on this topic.

Cheers

I did this last year. The main thing I would recommend is to do your homework on the company you employ. The shister I employed to begin with went bust and I lost a few grand. Cunt.

Anyway, only pay a 10% deposit, no more at all. Make sure the stage payments are set out in the contract after completion of certain work to your happiness. For example a percentage after building work, then after joinery then a final payment. I had 4 payment stages in total.

I got four companies round to start with, got quotes from them all and picked one in the middle. Loads of companies will sort out the plans and planning permission for you as part of the service, for me that was the easiest way to go about it.

The companies I had round to see me were Bon accord, thistle, monarch and mtc. There are more out there but there but that was a decent selection as far as I'm concerned.

Do your homework on what it is that you actually want as well. I don't really like not knowing what I'm talking about with builders etc. I think they are more likely to try and fleece you, but then I don't trust any cunt.

I did this last year. The main thing I would recommend is to do your homework on the company you employ. The shister I employed to begin with went bust and I lost a few grand. Cunt.

Anyway, only pay a 10% deposit, no more at all. Make sure the stage payments are set out in the contract after completion of certain work to your happiness. For example a percentage after building work, then after joinery then a final payment. I had 4 payment stages in total.

I got four companies round to start with, got quotes from them all and picked one in the middle. Loads of companies will sort out the plans and planning permission for you as part of the service, for me that was the easiest way to go about it.

The companies I had round to see me were Bon accord, thistle, monarch and mtc. There are more out there but there but that was a decent selection as far as I'm concerned.

Do your homework on what it is that you actually want as well. I don't really like not knowing what I'm talking about with builders etc. I think they are more likely to try and fleece you, but then I don't trust any cunt.

Thanks for posting.

I take it the one that went bust wasn't one of the four you've mentioned above.

We did think that getting a few round was the best course of action.

Would you care to pm me with what contractor you finally went with and how you found them from start to finish?

Thanks again

Thanks for posting.

I take it the one that went bust wasn't one of the four you've mentioned above.

We did think that getting a few round was the best course of action.

Would you care to pm me with what contractor you finally went with and how you found them from start to finish?

Thanks again

No, none of the above were the one that went bust.

Sent a pm.

Anyone else done this?

Following several weeks of deliberation my good lady & I have decided to build an extension onto the house.

The thing is neither of us know's how to really go about this this.

Obvioulsly we need planning permission and an Architecht to draw up plans.

But finding a reputable building contractor is the thing.

Has anyone any recommendations of good builders that they've used previous or are currently using just now from the Aberdeen/shire area.

Do alot of these builders do the lot for you. Subcontract out to Architects, seek planning permission on your behalf etc. One stop shop.

I ken this is a boring question in amongst all the joy surrounding Sevco 5088, but I feel it's something I need advice on as a lot of money is going to be spent and I want to get my moneys worth and relatively no hassle to go with it.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated from my fellow Hatters on this topic.

Cheers

What kind of house do you have at the moment? What kind of extension are you looking for? Depending on what you are looking for should determine the route you go down.

If you are looking to add something to your property, id recommend employing an Architect to help you design the best solution for your house. Be careful to get a chartered Architect tho, as there are a lot of 'Architectural Technicians' out there who will basically just give you the drawings that you need, Architects are usually better at design and although sometimes are more expensive - they usually give you value for money in the long run. Most Architects will help you to find a reputable builder as well and can even 'project manage' the build for you if you want.

here is a link to the RIAS article on 'why to employ an Architect' http://www.rias.org.uk/services/why-use-an-architect/

On the other hand, if all you are looking for is something 'cheap' or is a standard conservatory and you are not really bothered about the design of it, you can always get one of these 'design and build' companies in to do the whole thing for you. Theres nothing wrong with this approach, and its probably what most people in this area do - but the end result is probably just something with a bit less quality...

1339971287[/url]' post='772615']

What kind of house do you have at the moment? What kind of extension are you looking for? Depending on what you are looking for should determine the route you go down.

If you are looking to add something to your property, id recommend employing an Architect to help you design the best solution for your house. Be careful to get a chartered Architect tho, as there are a lot of 'Architectural Technicians' out there who will basically just give you the drawings that you need, Architects are usually better at design and although sometimes are more expensive - they usually give you value for money in the long run. Most Architects will help you to find a reputable builder as well and can even 'project manage' the build for you if you want.

here is a link to the RIAS article on 'why to employ an Architect' http://www.rias.org....e-an-architect/

On the other hand, if all you are looking for is something 'cheap' or is a standard conservatory and you are not really bothered about the design of it, you can always get one of these 'design and build' companies in to do the whole thing for you. Theres nothing wrong with this approach, and its probably what most people in this area do - but the end result is probably just something with a bit less quality...

We've a 3 bedroom semi detached in Westhill.

It's not a conservatory we're after, it's an extension to the rear of the property. Extending the kitchen, adding a utility room and cloakroom toilet and also opening up the dining area into a larger area in which we can also use asa sitting area.

Well I am biased, but id still suggest the Architect route..

Best advice anyone can give you really is to check out the previous work (usually on their website?) of whoever you decide to go with - be it a contractor or an architect. If you like what you see, and its along the same lines as what you are looking for - then that is probably the best route to go.

A bit bigger than I went for, we went for a sunroom only. Maybe better with standfrees suggestion.

Same stands for protecting yourself though!

For that sort of thing id also recommend using an architect to design it. I am an Architectural technician but I work for an architects practice (in Plymouth sorry!) and although I personally think I can come up with good designs and have even done new houses, the majority of technicians couldnt design their way out of a paper bag. They just draw a box and say there you go. an architect however should come up with something that works well based on what you are looking to achieve.

KSL

We're currently in the process of adding an extension, adding 3 bedrooms (1 ensuite) and a porch. I say currently, planning permission granted builders warrant in the process of being applied for.

We engaged an architect who designed according to our spec and submitted plannign permission drawings. He has builders he has worked with in the past who will be asked to quote for the job. I gain a degree of comfort that they are reputable since the architect has been round the bock a few times. Well worth the expense I think. My only concern is the architect may kick the bucket before we finish!

Other advice I have been given - employ a QS, milestone payments and a retention fee.

QS - measured payments rather than relying on the builders word.

Milestone payments - fairly obvious, payments at agreed stages of the build based on the QS estimates.

Retention fee - circa 5% payable on our satisfaction.

Budgeting on

Very helpful MH.

We've someone coming round on Thursday evening to give us a quote and a general idea.

But it's just that. A quote.

I'll prob heed your advice which seems pretty sound.

Fifered has been helpful too.

An architect would prob be best place to start.

I'll pm you shortly if you don't mind.

Edit. Sorry. Thanks Red Dragon.

You and Muttonhumper have very similar avatars.

Very helpful MH.

We've someone coming round on Thursday evening to give us a quote and a general idea.

But it's just that. A quote.

I'll prob heed your advice which seems pretty sound.

Fifered has been helpful too.

An architect would prob be best place to start.

I'll pm you shortly if you don't mind.

We did alterations to the house last year KSL and the guy I used did a good job.

Built utility room, family room and new kitchen.

Quality build and a nice guy to boot.

He organised all plans and planning applications too.

Guy stays in kingswells.

Can pm you details if you wish

Get your plans done then ask everyone you know if they know guys who do homers :crossfingers: I have worked in the building industry for years and could recommend loads of guys with quality , great work ethic , work to a price too . Firms are hit and miss , GOOD tradesmen doing homers are always a hit . Good luck with whatever you do :tax:

Fair enough when it's just the odd wee bitty here and there. But, for a decent sized project you want commitment to time and schedule. I fear sourcing folk doing homers will result in a long, drawn out project and be nothign short of a major ball-ache.

I'm a planning officer for the cooncil (in Paisley though), but if you want any advice about that side of things, pm me. High likelihood you won't even need planning permission any more, as the regulations changed back in Feb & often a single storey extension to the rear (depending on height and dimensions, proximity to the boundary etc) won't need consent. Will more than likely still need a building warrant though.

I'm actually a plumber to trade, but been out the game a while and list touch with who's good and fa's nae.

Plus I've seen what like it is to be involved in a homer extension.

Fine for me as I got paid, but it's drawn out.

I'd sooner pay for it to be done quicker and have a dedicated crew through the day and not have my home invaded in the evenings and weekends.

I'm a planning officer for the cooncil (in Paisley though), but if you want any advice about that side of things, pm me. High likelihood you won't even need planning permission any more, as the regulations changed back in Feb & often a single storey extension to the rear (depending on height and dimensions, proximity to the boundary etc) won't need consent. Will more than likely still need a building warrant though.

Would that not vary cooncil to cooncil?

Certainly for Aberdeenshire I was expected to submit a planning app for a single story extension.

Nope, national regs made by the Scottish Gov, applied (or should be) the same throughout Scotland. Some extensions still need permission, it depends how big it is, how high it is, how close to the boundary etc. Just the new regs mean a lot more don't now.

nope - the planning laws are nationwide - there's something called 'permitted development' and it covers a lot of smaller scale projects - there are a number of conditions that have to be satisfied, such as maintaining a certain distance from your boundary, and how high the ridge or eaves has to be, window locations etc, but you may be able to do it under permitted development without the need for planning.

Correct (although window positions don't come into it). However, in new housing estates, one of the conditions the council can impose on the whole estate is that the 'permitted development rights' are removed, meaning you can't even put new windows in without the need to apply for planning. So you would always just need to double check this with the council about the area you live in.

What kinda size are we talking before you need planning permission then? Ballpark.

regulations are slightly different in ingerlund where i work, but down here its maximum 3 metres (4m for a detached house) from the back of the house for a rear extension and no more than half the width of the original house for a side extension. There's loads more criteria though. Here is the English version as a guide but Scottish planning laws will likely have a few slight differences.

Scottish and English regs are different aye. Criteria here is no more than 3m along the boundary (in a terrace house) & 4m in a detached or semi-detached, no more than 3m in height at eaves level & no higher than 4m overall and can't take up more than 50% of your garden ground (which is far too much imo)

Okay, I'll need you to follow these instructions ver carfe, and together you and me will get this fucking project done and dusted before the bastards next door get back.

Any project like an extension is going to require planning permission, and if you live in a town or city then it's guaranteed that there's going to be a neighbour who's going to complain that your new, two story extension is blocking out all sunlight to his house. Everyone has a neighbour like that, you know who it is, and you know he's going to block any planning permission.

What you need to do is find out from him in casual conversation when it is that he's going on holiday, and for how long. When you find out when he's leaving you can start stockpiling bricks and grout in your front garden for when the fucker leaves. If he becomes suspicious just tell him you're looking after them for a mate who's gone offshore.

You'll also need A pickaxe, a bulk order to your local Dow Corning supplier, some tarp, a fierce dog, a ratchet, a 40lb sledge, and a few bags of builders sand.

As soon as the taxi taking him off to a luxury fortnight in Torremolinos is out of sight you spring into action. Obviously there's no planning permission, so we're working against the clock. Remember that, and remember that getting the job done by the deadline is MUCH more important than fiddling around with good workmanship.

First off, tie the dog up close to where you're working. Make it a vicious cunt of a thing, preferably provoking it regularly to ensure it's always in a fuck of a mood. This will prevent any nosy bastards from coming up and asking you shit like, "What are you doing" and "Have you planning permission" or "Is that even safe?" Just hit it every half hour or so using the ratchett. And if you've heavy work boots, dinna be scared to just punt the dug up the arse inna.

Privacy assured, let's move onto the extension.

Foundations are going to take way too long to dig out, so just throw down a few bags of builders sand. Then mark off where the walls are going and get laying those bricks.

At this stage you're not going to worry about where doors and windows are going to go. We'll deal with that later. Just get those walls built fast as you like. Also, mixing mortar is a time-consuming process, so what you can use is mastic. The benefit of this is it's waterproof (if you buy the waterproof sort) and pre-mixed in tubes. You'll need about 1500 tubes per floor. The drawback of using mastic is, of course, that if you lean on a wall later it'll fall over. So, important note to self, never lean on the walls. Never.

Okay, so the walls are going up a treat, but we have to consider stuff like water and electricity... This is fairly straightforward.

For electricity you're going to just run an extension from your house, possibly out a window, and bang a bunch of 4-way adaptors on the end. Job done. That's ten minutes well spent. More tricky, however, will be the water. If you have an outside tap for watering the garden then you can run a hose into the house, right alongside the electrical extension. You can maybe even tape the water hose to the electric cord. Just because we're hurrying doesn't mean we can't be neat, at least.

If you don't have a garden hose outlet then you need to start digging up your, and your neighbour's, property to find a water line. Just start hacking into the ground at random intervals with your pickaxe. sooner or later you're bound to hit a water line. Hopefully you won't also hit the electrical, gas or cable lines... but if you do you can just deny having anything to do with it when the cooncil comes chapping at your (brand, spanking new) door. Once the water main is located shove a T-fitting on it and pipe the water directly into the new extension via some flexi tubing.

By now the extension should be taking shape. The walls are up, the water and electricity are sorted, and we need to start thinking about access.

Take your 40lb sledge, and just start smashing holes in the walls roughly where you want your doors and windows to go. The beauty of this is that you can decide on the fly exactly where you want them to go. Get your doors and windows into place, and use plenty mastic to hold them fast...

For a roof you can go one of two ways, traditional or fast and easy.

Traditional would be a weave of reeds and sticks, laid carefully over the bricks. Fast and easy involves a couple hundred square feet of blue tarp. Choice is yours, but remember that the fucker from next door will be home any minute, so do you really have time to be fucking around with a thatched roof?

You've got your walls up, your electrical and water utilities, a roof, window and doors.

At this point you've essentially got your extension built. Regardless of whether your neighbour's hoose is now plunged into a perpetual darkness in the shadow of this monolithic addition to your property, we can consider it a fait accompli. It's already done, what's anyone going to do about it?

0524_Unsafe_Buildings_01.jpg