Ex Pats And Foreign Fitba

I have just recently moved to France , the nearest team to where we live is Tours FC , they play in Ligue 2 and finished 6th last season . Some decent teams in this league , Monaco , Nantes and Auxerre to name but 3 . Season ticket prices are very cheap too , the cheapest is only 60 euros . Just wondering if any of you ex pats are watching fitba where you are and if you are getting into it ? Obviously no team replaces The Dons but I need to take my sons to the fitba and we will go to todders when we return for holidays . :thumbs:

I have watched Hertha Berlin several times in the past. German football is a great experience for the fans, beer in stands, safe standing areas & dirt cheap hence 70k crowds for the Berlin derby even in Bundesliga 2 (Union Berlin get 20k away tickets!).

Avergage Bundeliga attendance is around 45k vs 36k in the EPL.

I have watched Hertha Berlin several times in the past. German football is a great experience for the fans, beer in stands, safe standing areas & dirt cheap hence 70k crowds for the Berlin derby even in Bundesliga 2 (Union Berlin get 20k away tickets!).

Avergage Bundeliga attendance is around 45k vs 36k in the EPL.

Aye the Germans have the right idea about how to run fitba , would you consider yourself a fan of Hertha ? I ask as thats the strange part for me , is it possible to get emotionally involved with another team ?

I would say no. Football is meaningless when it disna involve your own team, although it can be mildly entertaining.

A bit like watching the Euro 2012 nonsense, unless it involves England, and I have a great desire to see their opponents triumph, then it's not worth bothering about too much.

Aye the Germans have the right idea about how to run fitba , would you consider yourself a fan of Hertha ? I ask as thats the strange part for me , is it possible to get emotionally involved with another team ?

No i would not really describe myself as a 'fan' as such. I just like to follow their fortunes (relegated again last season!) but i am most definitely not 'emotionally attached' to the club.

I would say no. Football is meaningless when it disna involve your own team, although it can be mildly entertaining.

A bit like watching the Euro 2012 nonsense, unless it involves England, and I have a great desire to see their opponents triumph, then it's not worth bothering about too much.

How is that working out? :itch-chin:

;)

The wife is french and we wanted a new start as back hame work was shite and sae was the wither!

Ah that's fine then if your wife is French.

I agree it's not a good economic outlook in the UK right now.

But I love the shite weather, I revel in it, if it's too warm I canna handle it, so I could never handle the continental lifestyle.

Thats exactly what I feel , You choose one team , no other team can ever compete , that's exactly why I still read the EE on line , I have Free sat and watch the highlights on a Sunday night .

By fuck i do love The Dons ( even though the fitbas mince) :scarf:

Ah that's fine then if your wife is French.

I agree it's not a good economic outlook in the UK right now.

But I love the shite weather, I revel in it, if it's too warm I canna handle it, so I could never handle the continental lifestyle.

I love the climate here , I am still unemployed so i just walk about with my shades on and a loaf under my airm :thumbup1:

:laughing::applause: thats epic min, quality haha. the standard in Ligue 2 is better than the spl for a start so ur winnin aridy. tours had koscielny and giroud so u might see a few future stars ana, plus the weather like u mentioned. id imagine u would never celebrate a goal like u would watchin a dons game but u can deffo support ur second local team and get involved, after all everybody needs fitba eh! good on yi min!

Thats the thing eh , you do need the fitba , I need to get a break for a few hours every couple of weeks to stand among blokes and shout like fuck at 11 pansies on a fitba pitch , i hope in the Tours team there is a right fucking hard man , we all like em eh ? a mix of :nutso: and :angry2: and :banghead:

I take my son to watch CD Tenerife when im at home and he loves it, hes only 3 and hes been going the last 8 months and loves it. Taken him to pittodrie for his 1st game against hearts when were back in Aberdeen, newco depending

Thats exactly how I feel, "newco depending", No way will I buy a top for the kids or take them anywhere near todders if the newco huns return to the top flight . How's the fitba at Tenerife ? Good team ?

Was in Georgia for a year where I watched all the national team's home games including a 1-0 win over Croatia. Incredible atmosphere for that one. Domestically I went to one league game, Lokomotiv Tbilisi v Dinamo Tbilisi which was a huge letdown, both in terms of standard and attendance. Never went to a league game after that but did watch Dinamo in Europe League qualifiers, pumped Llanelli, Rekyjavik and then lost out in extra time to AEK Athens. The last one was fantastic, well over 40,000 in the ground and the Georgians are a noisy crowd especially when fitba's involved.

In Budapest, I kind of adopted Ujpest as my side but only made three home games last season. They won them all even though otherwise they had a gash season, almost relegated. Again, standard was rank. I'd say Scottish 2nd Division. My old man was over for one game, and he fell asleep during 1st half.

Cannae replace the Dons but will always feed the going to the fitba habit wherever I am.

Thats exactly how I feel, "newco depending", No way will I buy a top for the kids or take them anywhere near todders if the newco huns return to the top flight . How's the fitba at Tenerife ? Good team ?

Not that good this year, they got relegated from la liga last gamecof the season in the 93rd minute a couple of seasons ago and went into freefall and went down to thexSpanish 3rd division, saying that they have a play off final on Sunday and if they win theyll be back on segunda b so fingers crossed. Theres been a good few folk from Aberdeen been going to the games the past 4 years

I watch Perth Glory occassionally... I don't support them by any means. Mainly because of who they have in charge at the moment.

Like you, I just enjoy watching the odd game of live football. The standard is terrible though - pretty similar to the SPL.

Same! When Billy Mehmet can come and be one of your top players you can only expect so much. Been to Suncorp in Brisbane a few times and the atmosphere was decent, certainly none of that fake cockney accent the Perth fans seem to sing in.

Getting a season ticket for behind the goals on the blue seats , costs only 160 euros for the season , 49 euros for a parking space and they give you a free fitba top , heres a wee video of the stadium ( http://www.toursfc.fr/14/34/videos.html?vid=163 ) . Went to the ticket office and a right gent there told me to go into the stadium and have a look around if i wanted , so i did . What a great feeling it always is when you enter a fitba stadium . Come on you ........ fuck knows what these lot call themselves ............Allez les Bleus ?!

Nae nithin near as right as COYR

I bought a season ticket for Brann Bergen for a few consecutive seasons as it kept me oot the pub. It was a bit of a novelty as the Norwegian season spans April to October more or less so summer fitba but it coincided with a successful spell winning the cup and the league a few seasons later which is obviously something that has not been forthcoming here back home for a long long time.

Plus with the AFC connections of my namesake and Cato Guntveit although funnily enough that wee fat hun Charlie Miller actually gave me the time of day when I approached them normally pished out on the town.

It was a good experience overall and the rivalries with Viking were good although sadly missed the edge we get here. Best night was when Everton came to town in a Euro tie and I berated the scouse gits much to the amusement of the guffy loving nogs

Not a whole lot in the way of good fitba here. There was the Detroit Ignition, but they've folded... so we have to wait and see if the Detroit MLS application is successful or not. A fair few franchise attempts fail, and Detroit already has pro Handegg, Basketball, Baseball and Hockey. That's not even taking into account the massive followings for college handegg, with crowds at the Wolverines stadium.. called, I shit you not, The Big House... crowds of 110,000 per game.

Lot of sports fans in Michigan.

I reckon a fitba team could get 30k regularly.

Saw one Brisbane Strikers game back in 2000/2001 and it was horrific. Not been to a fitba game since even though the Roar are much much better than the old league teams.

Do watch it - using dodgy streams online - though on occasion. Sometimes you get good moments in games and the Roar this last couple of seasons played the game the right way but more often than not the game reminds me of poor SPL/1stDiv... but slower.

Saw one Brisbane Strikers game back in 2000/2001 and it was horrific. Not been to a fitba game since even though the Roar are much much better than the old league teams.

Do watch it - using dodgy streams online - though on occasion. Sometimes you get good moments in games and the Roar this last couple of seasons played the game the right way but more often than not the game reminds me of poor SPL/1stDiv... but slower.

Fair play to Brisbane, they actually play some good football and are very easy on the eye - far more entertaining and progressive style than anything I've seen in the SPL. If I was out your way, I'd have definitely been a regular. Of course now they've lost their manager they'll probably revert to the same turgid shit that's churned out by the rest of the league.

I think you could be right about the Roar from now on. Postecoglou definitely changed things up. Will be interesting to see if Victory show the same kind of change.

The only thing against how nicely they played is that the pace is so much slower it is easier - if you try like Roar the last couple of seasons - to play the game the right way.

The whole league is so far improved over the old NSL days it's not real... man it was bad then. I'm sure Peterhead could have beaten the Strikers and they were in the finals each of the last few seasons before the A-League came in.