"yer Doos Still Peckin'?"

Jigot

I find reading this board thoroughly enjoyable,although I am sometimes at a loss to what is said when Doric terms are used.I love reading them all the same but would love them all the more if I knew what some of them meant.I've Googled some but they have a very limited amount of answers.

Any advice of where I can find more?and what does the topic title mean?

Ta.

aabody=everybody

aathing=everything

aaf=off

affa=awfully

aifter=after

aneth=underneath or below

anither=another

atween=between

aye=yes

aye-aye min=hello

baith=both

bairn=a baby or young child

banter=gossip/chat/tease

bawbee=half penny

ben=down or through

bide=stay

biodag=dagger or dirk

birl=spin

birling=drinking match

bitcallant=lad

black affrontit-embarrassed

bleeter=to talk without an aim

bogle wark=ghostly action

bosie=cuddle or hug

brakk=break

bratch=female dog

braw=good or great

brawly=well

cantrips=magic spells or incantations

caul=cold

clachneart=putting stone

claik=gossip

claes=clothes

clamjamfry=company or mob

clarsach=harp

clarty=dirty

coorse=coarse

corrie fister=left handed person

craiter=creature

died=dead

deray=uproar

dhe=God

dinna=don't

dinna fash yersel=don't fuss yourself

dirdum=tumult

dirled=vibrated

div=do

doited=foolish

doon aboot the mou=depressed

douche=kind or gentle

dreich=cold, wet, and windy

drookit=drenched or soaking

eese=use

eneuch=enough

fa's=who

far hiv ye ben=where have you been?

fash=trouble

feart=afraid

feel=daft

ficher=fumble

fin=when

fit=how

fitbaa=football

fit like=hello, how are you?

fit wye=why

fleg=fright

flitt=to remove

flitting=to move home

foostsie-stale or rancid

gads=horrible

gangrel=tramp or vagrant

gash=grim or dismal

guan=going

ging=go

gipe=stupid

glisk=passing glance

glunching=frowning

grapt=wept

hale=whole

hech=cry of surprise

heid=head

hirpling=limping

ingins=onions

jis=just

ken=know

leesome lane=quite alone

loanings-bypath

loon=boy

lugs=ears

maist=most

mare=more

mear=a mare

messages=shopping

min=man

mockit=needs a good wash

mony=many

moulds=graves

nae=no

neen=none

neep=turnip

nivver=never

nivver fash=do not worry

plat=plot of grounds

puckle=a few

pucklie=a small amount

quine=girl

richt=right

riped=searched

riving=raging

routh=abundance

sair=sore

scowp=run

scutter=delay

sillver=silver coin

spotter=mess

spik=speak

spikin=speaking

sotter=mess

steen=stone

stocious=drunk

stot=to bounce

stotter=beautiful

swicking=cheating

telt=told

the morn=tomorrow or in the morning

thirled=under obligation

toom=empty

tumshie=an idiot

tossue=ruffle

trachled=exhausted

trig=active

twaa=two

waabit=tired

wanchancy=wicked

Glesga=Glasgow

wifie=woman

wintit=wanted

yersel=yourself

yett=a gate

Far de ye bide that ye da ken how te spik the dorich like?

The topic title is a alternative take on the common exchange:

A: Fou's yer doos iday? (This means how you doing today - but the literal translations is how's your pigeons today. This is because all teuchter cunts keep pigeons)

B: Aye peckin (This means nae bad - the literal translations is ''always pecking'', in reference to thon pigeons)

Many thanks folks,I'll bookmark this page because I'll be referring to it back and forth.I'm almost a Fifer so a good few words I recognise.

eg Yett as in Yettes o' Muckhart.

An old fella used to asked me if ma doos were peckin,also something like "it's no a blittery weet"or similar.

We had folk fae Buckie working with us occasionally and I was chosen to translate because I "sounded like them"

It's great to know that Old Scots is still flourishing in some airts. :thumbs:

1341660724[/url]' post='784536']

Many thanks folks,I'll bookmark this page because I'll be referring to it back and forth.I'm almost a Fifer so a good few words I recognise.

eg Yett as in Yettes o' Muckhart.

An old fella used to asked me if ma doos were peckin,also something like "it's no a blittery weet"or similar.

We had folk fae Buckie working with us occasionally and I was chosen to translate because I "sounded like them"

It's great to know that Old Scots is still flourishing in some airts. :thumbs:

EPK and Boofon are Buckie loons, often very incoherent at times too.

aabody=everybody

aathing=everything

aaf=off

affa=awfully

aifter=after

aneth=underneath or below

anither=another

atween=between

aye=yes

aye-aye min=hello

baith=both

bairn=a baby or young child

banter=gossip/chat/tease

bawbee=half penny

ben=down or through

bide=stay

biodag=dagger or dirk

birl=spin

birling=drinking match

bitcallant=lad

black affrontit-embarrassed

bleeter=to talk without an aim

bogle wark=ghostly action

bosie=cuddle or hug

brakk=break

bratch=female dog

braw=good or great

brawly=well

cantrips=magic spells or incantations

caul=cold

clachneart=putting stone

claik=gossip

claes=clothes

clamjamfry=company or mob

clarsach=harp

clarty=dirty

coorse=coarse

corrie fister=left handed person

craiter=creature

died=dead

deray=uproar

dhe=God

dinna=don't

dinna fash yersel=don't fuss yourself

dirdum=tumult

dirled=vibrated

div=do

doited=foolish

doon aboot the mou=depressed

douche=kind or gentle

dreich=cold, wet, and windy

drookit=drenched or soaking

eese=use

eneuch=enough

fa's=who

far hiv ye ben=where have you been?

fash=trouble

feart=afraid

feel=daft

ficher=fumble

fin=when

fit=how

fitbaa=football

fit like=hello, how are you?

fit wye=why

fleg=fright

flitt=to remove

flitting=to move home

foostsie-stale or rancid

gads=horrible

gangrel=tramp or vagrant

gash=grim or dismal

guan=going

ging=go

gipe=stupid

glisk=passing glance

glunching=frowning

grapt=wept

hale=whole

hech=cry of surprise

heid=head

hirpling=limping

ingins=onions

jis=just

ken=know

leesome lane=quite alone

loanings-bypath

loon=boy

lugs=ears

maist=most

mare=more

mear=a mare

messages=shopping

min=man

mockit=needs a good wash

mony=many

moulds=graves

nae=no

neen=none

neep=turnip

nivver=never

nivver fash=do not worry

plat=plot of grounds

puckle=a few

pucklie=a small amount

quine=girl

richt=right

riped=searched

riving=raging

routh=abundance

sair=sore

scowp=run

scutter=delay

sillver=silver coin

spotter=mess

spik=speak

spikin=speaking

sotter=mess

steen=stone

stocious=drunk

stot=to bounce

stotter=beautiful

swicking=cheating

telt=told

the morn=tomorrow or in the morning

thirled=under obligation

toom=empty

tumshie=an idiot

tossue=ruffle

trachled=exhausted

trig=active

twaa=two

waabit=tired

wanchancy=wicked

Glesga=Glasgow

wifie=woman

wintit=wanted

yersel=yourself

yett=a gate

+

nout=cow

skitter=shite

+

nummers=numbers

neen=0

ein=1

twa=2

three=3

fower=4

fyve=5

sex=6

sivin=7

eicht=8

nine=9

tin=10

l'livin=11

dizzen=12

Forgot to mention I read some where that Scots find it easier to speak German fluently than say French.Would it be more so in the NE?What with the NE accent and German language being guttural and certain Dorich words look German,in origin perhaps?

jigot.

I find reading this board thoroughly enjoyable,although I am sometimes at a loss to what is said when Doric terms are used.I love reading them all the same but would love them all the more if I knew what some of them meant.I've Googled some but they have a very limited amount of answers.

Any advice of where I can find more?and what does the topic title mean?

Ta.

Foos yer doos, literaly means, "How are your pigeons?"

Aye Pickin', that means the same as 'Chavvin' or Torachini Taracha.... or however the feck that's fucking spelt.

Forgot to mention I read some where that Scots find it easier to speak German fluently than say French.Would it be more so in the NE?What with the NE accent and German language being guttural and certain Dorich words look German,in origin perhaps?

jigot.

Very true, I breezed to a German higher cos I wis basically spikin Doric. All northern European languages are quite easy to get your head round if you try not to think of translating from English, Scandinavian especially although Norwegian is more Scots that Doric or rather Scots is Norsk.

some additions

COWPT- tipped over.

GIRSE- grass.

BREEKS- trousers

PINTS- shoelaces.

i know of some great place names, living out in Donside heard of places called

DRUMNAFUNNER- a farm near Alford.

TAMNAWHAN- a wood up in Strathdon.

COULTERFANNY- a farm in the Banff area.

plus

Sharrnydubs - Farm near Tarves

I used to love this ene at school:

Weel, Geordie Wabster,

Fut excuse the day?

Please sir, please sir,

It was ma muckle tae!

For comin doon by Meerton,

Wi' naether hose nor sheen,

A muckle loupin puddock

Gart me stotter owre a stane.

I doot, Geordie Wabster,

That wunna tell!

Please, sir, please, sir,

I didna hear the bell!

For I trampit on a bee's byke

Nae far fae Nedderbogs,

And I cou'dna hear the clapper

For the buzzin in ma lugs.

Losh, Geordie Wabster,

Fut's this te me noo!

It wis the grunny soo!

For I wis barely roadit,

Fin oot ma mither cam'-

"Rin, Geordie, for the fusky, Aul' Stinker's ta'ena dwam!"

Hoots, Geordie Wabster!

Are ye gyaun gyte?

"Twis a' ma mither's wyte!

For she hid a maist byordnar caul'

This mornin fin she rose,

And she cou'dna get ma porridge steert

For dichtin at her nose.

I doot, Geordie Wabster,

I doot ye're tellin lees!

"Twis mither's new cheese!

For it connacht a' ma stamack,

And it cam' te sie a heicht,

I wis rowein like a bowie

In the riggin o' the nicht.

Gweed be here, Geordie!

This wunna dae ava!

I widna like te blaw,

But the verra morn's mornin

I'll wauken wi' the ****,

And come skelpin doon te Memsie

Fin it's ringin aucht o'clock.

A' richt, Geordie,

Ye'll be in time the morn?

Ay sir, as sure's the boodie's

Watchin Hilly's corn.

And please, sir, please, sir,

That's nae lee ava!

We'll let that flea, Geordie,

Stick te the wa'!

I used to love this ene at school:

Weel, Geordie Wabster,

Fut excuse the day?

Please sir, please sir,

It was ma muckle tae!

For comin doon by Meerton,

Wi' naether hose nor sheen,

A muckle loupin puddock

Gart me stotter owre a stane.

I doot, Geordie Wabster,

That wunna tell!

I didna hear the bell!

For I trampit on a bee's byke

Nae far fae Nedderbogs,

And I cou'dna hear the clapper

For the buzzin in ma lugs.

Losh, Geordie Wabster,

Fut's this te me noo!

It wis the grunny soo!

For I wis barely roadit,

Fin oot ma mither cam'-

"Rin, Geordie, for the fusky, Aul' Stinker's ta'ena dwam!"

Hoots, Geordie Wabster!

Are ye gyaun gyte?

"Twis a' ma mither's wyte!

For she hid a maist byordnar caul'

This mornin fin she rose,

And she cou'dna get ma porridge steert

For dichtin at her nose.

I doot, Geordie Wabster,

I doot ye're tellin lees!

"Twis mither's new cheese!

For it connacht a' ma stamack,

And it cam' te sie a heicht,

I wis rowein like a bowie

In the riggin o' the nicht.

Gweed be here, Geordie!

This wunna dae ava!

I widna like te blaw,

But the verra morn's mornin

I'll wauken wi' the ****,

And come skelpin doon te Memsie

Fin it's ringin aucht o'clock.

A' richt, Geordie,

Ye'll be in time the morn?

Ay sir, as sure's the boodie's

Watchin Hilly's corn.

And please, sir, please, sir,

That's nae lee ava!

We'll let that flea, Geordie,

Stick te the wa'!

Thats braw BM.

I made oot a few lines,I was mystified by more, but I loved them all.

Thanks.

Thats braw BM.

I made oot a few lines,I was mystified by more, but I loved them all.

Thanks.

Just shows you, if some one from Fife struggles, then how difficult it is for foreigners,

No matter how much TV, books, films they watch, they will never hear doric, I work with some Norwegians lads, who's English were fair, its now good, but they will always struggle when I speak 1-2-1 to the lad from Westhill and the Broch,...

Just shows you, if some one from Fife struggles, then how difficult it is for foreigners,

No matter how much TV, books, films they watch, they will never hear doric, I work with some Norwegians lads, who's English were fair, its now good, but they will always struggle when I speak 1-2-1 to the lad from Westhill and the Broch,...

It taks a lang spoon tae sup wi' a Fifer,E-P-K.

You'll no need yin wi' me neebir. :thumbs:

Norwegian has Doric links. A vacuum cleaner in Norwegian is stoor sooker. (dust sucker)

Okay, my father, NE born and bred, used from time to time when I was younger call me and more often my brother a lazy lorrach - has anyone heard this - and if so what is a lorrach?

He did occasionally lob some Army slang in as well so it might be from there.