daytripping Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I'm off to London town on Monday, any of you knowledgable people recommend any places to go or things to do whilst I'm there? I've only been the once in 96 but that was for the Euro's, never saw much outwith the walls of the pubs! It will be a family trip so that rules out any late night trips to Soho with my leather chaps on. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Take them to the House of Commons. Prime Ministers questions on Wednesday. Fantastic architecture and the kids will learn themselves something. It's a gorgeous building inside, and there's always plenty of famous faces floating around. Link to comment
tup Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I've never been to London. It sounds shit. Link to comment
Pash Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Sea Life Aquarium is ace, right across the river from Big Ben and right beside the London Eye, so you could kill a few birds with one stone. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I've never been to London. It sounds shit. youre as well travelled as the average american. you probably dinna even have a passport Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I went to Ronnie Scotts last year, its pretty cool, get to see some great musicians, even if you're not into Jazz, you can appreciate their skill, and its got a vibe about it with all the greats having played there over the years, the foods really good to. Its right in the west end to, so plenty of other options afterwards Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Take them to the House of Commons. Prime Ministers questions on Wednesday. Fantastic architecture and the kids will learn themselves something. It's a gorgeous building inside, and there's always plenty of famous faces floating around. Just read that back to yourself, and imagine yourself being 13 or something, and how boring that sounds. Anyway, London is ace. Going down next Friday actually. Do the open top bus, can get off at all the big stops and that. Did it years ago and it was good. Imperial War Museum also decent. Link to comment
urbanprotection Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Open top bus tour highly recommended. See all the major sights and hop on hop off where you want. Usually get a cruise too. Better with a guide rather than headphones. Hyde Park pretty good too, make use of Boris's bikes. Not sure what nick it'll be in after Olympic shenanigans though. Covent Garden if entertainers up your street. CP Store on Beak Street if that floats your boat, does mine. Nike Flagship was hit with football mad son. Hamleys for kids of all ages. Skip Madam tussauds, dungeons and ripleys. Expensive and poor value. Don't take kids to V&A but NH and Science museums great. O2 good to see if just for the size of the thing. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Just read that back to yourself, and imagine yourself being 13 or something, and how boring that sounds. Anyway, London is ace. Going down next Friday actually. Do the open top bus, can get off at all the big stops and that. Did it years ago and it was good. Imperial War Museum also decent. Pish. It's little things like that you appreciate when you get older. I wish someone had taken me to the House of Commons when i was that age instead of the London Dungeon or madame tussauds. If their nae into the House of Commons, take them upstairs to the House of Lords. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Science Museum is pretty good, especially for kids. Quite interactive from what I remember. London Eye is also worth a wee look. I did the House of Commons for some debate when I was about 12. Idea seemed interesting enough, but at that age it was a boring as fuck way to spend the day. There are various bus tour routes that could give you an idea of places to visit. Take in a show or two as well, if your kids are of an age they may appreciate it. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Pish. It's little things like that you appreciate when you get older. I wish someone had taken me to the House of Commons when i was that age instead of the London Dungeon or madame tussauds. If their nae into the House of Commons, take them upstairs to the House of Lords. the only decent thing in that is the architecture and history. seeing a bunch or argumentative over weight liars is nae my idea of fun. you need to get out more big man. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Pish. It's little things like that you appreciate when you get older. I wish someone had taken me to the House of Commons when i was that age instead of the London Dungeon or madame tussauds. If their nae into the House of Commons, take them upstairs to the House of Lords. I did the House of Commons for some debate when I was about 12. Idea seemed interesting enough, but at that age it was a boring as fuck way to spend the day. Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 9, 2012 Author Share Posted August 9, 2012 I quite fancy Prime ministers questions, is it easy enough to get in? Imperial war museum is on the list! Is Madam Tussauds worth it? my daughter wants to go there but its fecking pricey! they're also going to see a show which isn't cheap, i've ducked out of that and will take in some boozers! Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 the only decent thing in that is the architecture and history. seeing a bunch or argumentative over weight liars is nae my idea of fun. you need to get out more big man. Well, if i ever have kids I'll be taking them to the House of Commons. Education, education, education and all that... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I quite fancy Prime ministers questions, is it easy enough to get in? Imperial war museum is on the list! Is Madam Tussauds worth it? my daughter wants to go there but its fecking pricey! they're also going to see a show which isn't cheap, i've ducked out of that and will take in some boozers! good man. london has some of the best boozers around. take in a boat cruise from westminister to greenwich. pic-nic for family dayts with some wine and beer as you sail doon the river. go to richmond, primrose hill and other outerlying areas. not much to see in the way of attractions but loads of good resteraunts, bars and otehr stuff. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I quite fancy Prime ministers questions, is it easy enough to get in? From recollection my dad got tickets off Alex Salmond. Think you may need to contact beforehand. Well, if i ever have kids I'll be taking them to the House of Commons. Education, education, education and all that... Feck all educational about sitting in the House of Commons for PM Questions or a debate, unless you want to show how boorish those running the country are. Spent about 2 1/2 hours having to sit in silence while Robin Cook (Health minister at the time) droned on about some potential health reforms. Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 9, 2012 Author Share Posted August 9, 2012 good man. london has some of the best boozers around. take in a boat cruise from westminister to greenwich. pic-nic for family dayts with some wine and beer as you sail doon the river. go to richmond, primrose hill and other outerlying areas. not much to see in the way of attractions but loads of good resteraunts, bars and otehr stuff. My hotel is in Greenwich so the river cruise sounds good. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 If you can be bothered with a wee train trip (30-45 mins from Waterloo from recollection), I'd recommend Thorpe Park. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I quite fancy Prime ministers questions, is it easy enough to get in? Imperial war museum is on the list! Is Madam Tussauds worth it? my daughter wants to go there but its fecking pricey! they're also going to see a show which isn't cheap, i've ducked out of that and will take in some boozers! Exactly, there was loads of families with their kids there when i was there. No it's not. It's first come first served, so get there early bells. Always hoachin on a Wednesday. It'll take you 15 minutes to clear security and get your passes and that. Afterwards you can have a bit of a wonder around, there's a gift shop and pish and some stuff to read. Do that until queuing to get into the chamber starts. p.s. The chocolate cake in the Commons Cafe is very tasty. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 p.s. The chocolate cake in the Commons Cafe is mean. Was it not nice to you? 1 Link to comment
tup Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 The House of fucking Commons? To listen to posh gaylords pedantically pontificating over minutae? You can get that without going to London. Just read boofon's posts on here. Link to comment
essexdon Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 as well as the natural history and science museums, there is the British museum on great russell street, the tv museum on the south bank which is just over waterloo bridge.the guildhall is one of londons oldest buildings and a tour is well worth it, the guide often lets kids put their hands into holes in the crypt where there are bones of deid folk from 700 yrs ago, fair makes them jump. take in the plaque to commemorate where the english murdered william wallace at smithfield meat market.at weekends there are tours of the old bailey and royal courts of justice where they can lock the kids up in the cells.the london eye is worth the money but best to go in the morning as the fumes from pollution often create a fog later in the day and spoil the view. a tour of the cutty sark and a trip along the thames on a boat are worthwhile as well Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Well, if i ever have kids I'll be taking them to the House of Commons. Education, education, education and all that... Afterwards - "Dad, you should have listened to Dynamo" 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 9, 2012 Author Share Posted August 9, 2012 Where do you buy tickets for the bus tours? And still wondering if Tussuads is worth it? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 And still wondering if Tussuads is worth it? come on min dayts. youre in one of the worlds best cities and youre asking if its worth visiting a a place like that. you know the answer to taht! Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 9, 2012 Author Share Posted August 9, 2012 come on min dayts. youre in one of the worlds best cities and youre asking if its worth visiting a a place like that. you know the answer to taht! Hahaha, I should have said please give me some reasons for telling my daughter we're not going! other than her old man being a tight arse! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 I think holidays with Big man sound a right hoot. "Daddy, we want to go visit Madame Tussauds and the London dungeon." "Sorry children we're going to the House of Commons to see Prime Ministers question time.It's educational and the architecture of the building alone makes the visit worthwhile.You'll thank me in later years children. The sky's the limit after visiting."Education, education, education. "Aww Dad that sounds boring.You're a right boring cunt, we hate you." That's what awaits you when you have kids big man.Your kids will be wishing that Dynamo was their dad. You've been warned. 1 Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 HMS Belfast, moored opposite the House of Commons on the Thames - part of the Imperial War Museum which, in of itself, is an absolutely superb visit. Link to comment
Pash Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 If you want to keep your hard man image intact then don't go to the dungeons. Link to comment
tup Posted August 9, 2012 Share Posted August 9, 2012 Aye I can just see my kids faces if I said we're spending the day in the Commons. In fact, I'd be raging myself if I went to London for that kind of nonsense. Link to comment