weemackie Posted August 14, 2012 Share Posted August 14, 2012 Been offered the chance to do a job in southern Iraq. Anyone worked down there before? I only know that it's southern Iraq and its onshore at an oil terminal. Anyone ken what it's like safety wise working in the south? Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted August 14, 2012 Share Posted August 14, 2012 Never worked there personally but have done a little bit of work in terms of getting people out to Iraq. It comes with the usual risks that you'd expect in Iraq however I imagine you'd have armoured security to and from the airport and while you'll there you would live in a heavily guarded compond with other Western workers. I've heard the facilities can be reasonable for what they are, but I'm sure they vary place to place. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 14, 2012 Share Posted August 14, 2012 Been offered the chance to do a job in southern Iraq. Anyone worked down there before? I only know that it's southern Iraq and its onshore at an oil terminal. Anyone ken what it's like safety wise working in the south? There's much worse places to work. The safety record is pretty good, a lot of people hear the name and shit themselves. Link to comment
tup Posted August 14, 2012 Share Posted August 14, 2012 There's much worse places to work. Agreed. The bakery in Asda for instance. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 14, 2012 Share Posted August 14, 2012 Agreed. The bakery in Asda for instance. I'm sure it is. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted August 14, 2012 Share Posted August 14, 2012 theres far more better places to work. if youve been offered a gig in Iraq, then you must have enough on your cv to work elsewhere in the world (if thats yer bag) id avoid it like a millertime thread. Link to comment
weemackie Posted August 15, 2012 Author Share Posted August 15, 2012 Ive put my name forward for it. The first part of the job is in Dubai then will be going down to Iraq to complete it. Im sure there is better places to work but im sure it'll be an experience anyway Link to comment
BubbaRayDon Posted August 15, 2012 Share Posted August 15, 2012 Mair to life than money... sorry, i mean getting an "experience" Used to do my fair share of work in scary arsed places around the world. Got married, had kids and jacked that shit in. Nae worth the risk and potential follow ons. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 15, 2012 Share Posted August 15, 2012 Mair to life than money... sorry, i mean getting an "experience" Used to do my fair share of work in scary arsed places around the world. Got married, had kids and jacked that shit in. Nae worth the risk and potential follow ons. Link to comment
Iraq_Red Posted August 16, 2012 Share Posted August 16, 2012 PM me if you want a wee bit more info. It was 5 years ago I was there and I's sure its changed a bit but there might be a few things you may want to get straight before you went out (R&R etc) Link to comment