Butteries Rule

Clearly a matter of taste, you obviously prefer butteries, but it is the lard content in rowies which seperates the men from the boys.

Folk even in Aberdeen speak of butteries or rolls, but I never hear anyone refer to anything other than Aitkens " Rowies ".

A real Torry delicacy.

To be honest I've nae problem with what neeps call their particular version, but toonsers calling them butteries is just effeminate!

I'd never use the word rowie.

And a rowie is an identical thing to a buttery, which is also made with lard.

All this mythical pish about one bakery selling rowies or butteries which are in a different taste stratosphere than other bakeries ones, which use identical ingredients, is just nonsense dreamt up in the head of the mouth of the beholder.

They're all the fucking same, and they're not that great, serious heartburn off them.

All this mythical pish about one bakery selling rowies or butteries which are in a different taste stratosphere than other bakeries ones, which use identical ingredients, is just nonsense dreamt up in the head of the mouth of the beholder.

They're all the fucking same, and they're not that great, serious heartburn off them.

They were always butteries to me as well...Rowie looks to be what they are referred to in Torry...probably in case some daftie got confused with the battery

Aberdeen Mad used to encourage threads like this.

Butteries are OK once in a blue moon, but you can never eat more than one, and they're hardly worth writing home about at the best of times.

It's wartime food, when things were rationed, and it's all but obsolete now.

You never see big threads eulogising paninis, they're also boggin, like eating kitchen worktops with a filling.

No they are definitely not all the same.

I could safely leave a bag of rowies from less worthy bakers on my car passenger seat.

Dry tasteless crap.

Cannot do this with Aitkens, the seat would be soiled with greasy stains.

There is also the variety with Aitkens, whereby you sometimes get them soft and sometimes crusty, but always delicious.

Not factory manufactured, everything the exact same shape, size and taste.

Maybe they're not all the same but Aitkens Rowies are never going to be served up in Michelin starred eateries is the point I'm making.

They're up there with potted head and boiled ham shanks and buttered rich tea biscuits in the obsolete stakes.

My nana used to make all that pish. She survived a couple of wars.

I never and I've no intentions of putting these fat laced atrocities on a false pedestal.

I prefer a normal buttered roll with a steak pie or Gregg's steak slice on it.

I dinna think you can get a bug o brokeners fae Greggs though.

Used to pick up said bug o brokeners fae Aitkens on the way to deliver my papers.

Definition:- Bug o brokeners - A bag of the days broken biscuits and fancy pieces which are not otherwise deemed to be suitable for general sale. A favourite of paper loons in 70's Torry.

I dinna think you can get a bug o brokeners fae Greggs though.

Used to pick up said bug o brokeners fae Aitkens on the way to deliver my papers.

Definition:- Bug o brokeners - A bag of the days broken biscuits and fancy pieces which are not otherwise deemed to be suitable for general sale. A favourite of paper loons in 70's Torry.

Classic, this idea was later commercialised into bags of Mis-Shapes, sold by Woolies, where you would get lumps of mongofied chocolate of various incarnations for a massive whack down on the normal price.

Then some smart cu*t swept the floor after a days "crunchie making" and came up with these cadbury_s_crunchie_nuggets.jpg

Butteries are OK once in a blue moon, but you can never eat more than one, and they're hardly worth writing home about at the best of times.

It's wartime food, when things were rationed, and it's all but obsolete now.

Wow, tup, never thought that 2 butteries on a plate would have you reduced to a quivering heartburn riddled wreck.

I can happily manage two without pain and indeed with a good deal of pleasure. Rich in energy mind so you've got to work it off.

Wow, tup, never thought that 2 butteries on a plate would have you reduced to a quivering heartburn riddled wreck.

I can happily manage two without pain and indeed with a good deal of pleasure. Rich in energy mind so you've got to work it off.

I can manage to eat them and the heartburn from them is dependant on where they're sourced from and how dry they are but I dinna think they're great.

Six peanut butter sandwiches is much better for you.

yeah.... only if your a wimp.

Definitely not all the same and some make much better than others. Favourite one's are the crusty one's, as Lang Bar referred to them, that are swimming in grease. Pop it into the toaster for about half a minute, perfect with a fly!

Maybe they're not all the same but Aitkens Rowies are never going to be served up in Michelin starred eateries is the point I'm making.

They're up there with potted head and boiled ham shanks and buttered rich tea biscuits in the obsolete stakes.

My nana used to make all that pish. She survived a couple of wars.

I never and I've no intentions of putting these fat laced atrocities on a false pedestal.

I prefer a normal buttered roll with a steak pie or Gregg's steak slice on it.

Was it difficult for your nana to chew on a rowie whilst simultaneously tootin' ye aff?

I've been intrigued by the passion that "Butteries/Rowies"ignites on here and have just purchased my first 1/2 dozen Butteries to try them.

They will no doubt be of an inferior Buttery to what you are all used to(asda)but I wasn't prepared to travel 120miles each way to a bakers for what looks like a cross between a croissant and a Yorkshire fuckin puddin.

So,being a Buttery virgin,fit goes oan the cunts?Do you toast them?

I've been intrigued by the passion that "Butteries/Rowies"ignites on here and have just purchased my first 1/2 dozen Butteries to try them.

They will no doubt be of an inferior Buttery to what you are all used to(asda)but I wasn't prepared to travel 120miles each way to a bakers for what looks like a cross between a croissant and a Yorkshire fuckin puddin.

So,being a Buttery virgin,fit goes oan the cunts?Do you toast them?

Noooooo Asda eens are pish and not a patch on the real thing. If supermarket rowies are all you can get though try them just buttered or toast them with butter if they are a day or two old. Jam etc is okay and syrup is fine anna.

Mrs Jigot makes me take things from the back of the shelf(I'm well trained for the big shop) :fight: so they are fresh enough,I'm going to put lashings of butter on them. :thumbs:

Strangely, Morrisons do a buttery which is fuck all like a buttery but still likeable. Always get a bag of Aitkens when up. Salty, lardy, crusty nuggets of gold that will turn the bag see thru in a minute and stain the car seat (or your clothes) in a second.

I've just scoffed 3 with butter,although I sliced the first 2 before the wife called me a cunt and told me to butter the erse of them.They smelt of pastry and were very salty but I like salty things but I did enjoy them.