Bluto10 Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 im no guru on tablets but i heard they were once seen as a big rival to the ipad but have since failed primarily due to poor app support, i believe. peronally i would only usea tablet for websurfing and email and maybe streaming tv so perhaps thsi could do the job. it first came in at apple price range but has now bombed to just over 100quid, so i thought it might be worth a look. anyone got any experience of this tablet? Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 im no guru on tablets but i heard they were once seen as a big rival to the ipad but have since failed primarily due to poor app support, i believe. peronally i would only usea tablet for websurfing and email and maybe streaming tv so perhaps thsi could do the job. it first came in at apple price range but has now bombed to just over 100quid, so i thought it might be worth a look. anyone got any experience of this tablet? I looked at one of them recently, cracking deal but no use for what I need it for. I work abroad and need a computer for surfing the net, watching media (movies, porn) and skyping home. Although the playbook has a 64gig hard drive which I can load up from my hard drives via a pc and remove as required, you cannot skype on it so it was no use to me. I had considered an ipad but with no USB, card slot or easy way of watching my media unless fucking about converting it or actually buying it from Apple ( I've bought a Samsung tablet which should better suit my needs. The playbook sound ideal for you, cheap as chips just now in Currys / PC World. Link to comment
essexdon Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 i looked at one till i noticed that you need a blackberry phone to fully benefit from the thing Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 13, 2012 Author Share Posted September 13, 2012 i looked at one till i noticed that you need a blackberry phone to fully benefit from the thing in what way? is that not just for the email/business/work side of things? as a play thing do you still need a blackb phone? Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 i looked at one till i noticed that you need a blackberry phone to fully benefit from the thing Just so that you could tether off your phone and have the two speaking to each other, the thing would be perfect for what Bluto needs it for. Link to comment
essexdon Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 can only go by what they said in shop which was that to fully benefit from 'some' features it needed the phone. i went and got the samsung instead.i imagine they are much of a muchness if for gaming/surfing etc Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 cheers for the advice guys, i think i'll take a punt on one. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 I bought a tablet thing a few months ago, the novelty wears off pretty quick, not picked it up in weeks. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 I bought a tablet thing a few months ago, the novelty wears off pretty quick, not picked it up in weeks. aye but for little over a hunner quid, its ''no big deal''. nae when compared to the markey leader ipad, well thats different, they cost a lot. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 aye but for little over a hunner quid, its ''no big deal''. nae when compared to the markey leader ipad, well thats different, they cost a lot. What's with the sensible posts? have you had a bang to the head? Bring back the old bluto! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 settle min george was being helpful and putting this cut price dealout there to my aberdeen people. you should thank me! Link to comment
Henry Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 I think his long-suffering wife may have put the foot down, 'it's me or the drink.' We're now seeing Bluto trying to dry out in front of our eyes. Instead of liquidising all his cash, he's now got a bit of disposable income, and needs something to distract from the thought of drink. I predict we'll be back to normal by next Friday, good old pished Bluto, the wife long gone, having done a midnight flit. 3 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 you see harcus, unlike islanders and highlanders, i casn handle my drink. just the other night i had a shit load, and i mean a shitload for the belgium craotia and netherlands hungary games.10am was at my desk keeping things ticking along nicely thats teh differece between me and an alkie.i actually like drink and cann appreciate it, savour it. i dinna like a civilised human. Link to comment
Henry Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 i dinna like a civilised human. I've always thought you were rather uncouth right enough. 10am? FFS, half the day is done by then. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 4, 2012 Author Share Posted October 4, 2012 got my one yesterday, the big bastard 64gb version for a princely sum of 130 of your finest british pounds. its a smooth mover this tablet alright. for websurfing and email and things like that - outstanding value. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 im no guru on tablets but i heard they were once seen as a big rival to the ipad but have since failed primarily due to poor app support, i believe. peronally i would only usea tablet for websurfing and email and maybe streaming tv so perhaps thsi could do the job. it first came in at apple price range but has now bombed to just over 100quid, so i thought it might be worth a look. anyone got any experience of this tablet? A blackberry playbook sounds like something you'd use to lure a 5 year old into a Land Rover Discovery. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 4, 2012 Author Share Posted October 4, 2012 A blackberry playbook sounds like something you'd use to lure a 5 year old into a Land Rover Discovery. aye weird name, especially as its apparently more of a business type tablet. another example of stranger branding ive seen recently is icandy. they make pushchairs. when i heard teh name i joked that it was an apple product. only the other day did i see the icandy logo. which is....... an apple. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 aye weird name, especially as its apparently more of a business type tablet. another example of stranger branding ive seen recently is icandy. they make pushchairs. when i heard teh name i joked that it was an apple product. only the other day did i see the icandy logo. which is....... an apple. You must have missed the current news situation in Wales I take it. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 I've got an android tablet, anyone know any apps that will keep my amused for a few minutes? angry birds and temple run need not apply. Got a flight with easyjet tomorrow, need something to beat the boredom, I'm assuming they won't have tv's installed on them. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 4, 2012 Author Share Posted October 4, 2012 Got a flight with easyjet tomorrow, need something to beat the boredom, I'm assuming they won't have tv's installed on them. join the Mile I Club. simila to the mile high club but for the solitary traveller. and have a few beers in the easyjet lounge (pub) beforehand. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 join the Mile I Club. simila to the mile high club but for the solitary traveller. and have a few beers in the easyjet lounge (pub) beforehand. Heading to the airport early to hit the battle crusier for a few, 30 of us heading to krakow, should be carnage! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 4, 2012 Author Share Posted October 4, 2012 Heading to the airport early to hit the battle crusier for a few, 30 of us heading to krakow, should be carnage! nice. 30 of you, thats a good squad. theres bound to be a few token geeks amonst that lot, so dinna let them drag you down. krakow, beautiful city.dinna bother pishing about with museums and tourist rubbish like that. soak up the atmos like a local, in one of the citys many nuclear subs, a far more memorable experience. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 Heading to the airport early to hit the battle crusier for a few, 30 of us heading to krakow, should be carnage! 30 of you off to a stagger abroad and you're taking a tablet for the flight? Get a hud of yersel for fuck sake. You should be pished, out yer nut, smoking in the toilets and groping the stewardess. Playing a game of tetris shouldn't be on your list of things to do. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 30 of you off to a stagger abroad and you're taking a tablet for the flight? Get a hud of yersel for fuck sake. You should be pished, out yer nut, smoking in the toilets and groping the stewardess. Playing a game of tetris shouldn't be on your list of things to do.We're a civilised bunch us Bucksburn blokes and we're no longer in the first flush of youth. It will be a few small ports before take off and perhaps a game of cribbage or backgammon on board, we'll then feast ourselves on the plethero of museums and culture that Krakow has to offer. 2 Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 nice. 30 of you, thats a good squad. theres bound to be a few token geeks amonst that lot, so dinna let them drag you down. krakow, beautiful city.dinna bother pishing about with museums and tourist rubbish like that. soak up the atmos like a local, in one of the citys many nuclear subs, a far more memorable experience. Aye, someone mentioned going to Aushwitz on the Sunday but Man Utd are on the telly so sack that! 24 hour party people, drugs drink and rock an roll! 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 Aye, someone mentioned going to Aushwitz on the Sunday but Man Utd are on the telly so sack that! 24 hour party people, drugs drink and rock an roll! It used to be so much better than that. Link to comment
Monkey Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 Check the iplayer app on the android as you may now be able to download shows and watch them later. Thus your lack of TV is solved. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 Cheers Monkey, wasn't aware you could download stuff, thought it was just watch through wifi, will give that a go tonight. Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 I bought a tablet thing a few months ago, the novelty wears off pretty quick, not picked it up in weeks. I'm away to punt this Samsung thing to some Angolan and buy another netbook when I get home. Tablets are for poofs. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 4, 2012 Share Posted October 4, 2012 I'm away to punt this Samsung thing to some Angolan and buy another netbook when I get home. Tablets are for poofs. I agree, handy for a plane though! Link to comment