Bluto10 Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 been there a few times now and its always a most pleasant stay. the scenery is stunning all rolling hills and bendy rivers. the food is classy yet also hearty enough to feel like grandmas sunday lunch. and of course the beer is as good as youll find anywhere. last place i visited was 2 nights in a brautiffuly picturesque village called durbuy. had a great microbrewery brewing some amber that i brought home with me. markloff?? affa fine it was. when a country like belgium has so many worthwhile places to visit it just makes you realise how much is out there all accross the globe just waiting to be pub crawld. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 What were the other 5 places to go? Agreed. The Ardennes is beautiful. Had an ex who was half Belgian years ago and we backpacked round the country and Luxembourg. Was back this year doing the battlefields. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 I like their pat Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 Oh and they are different breed from the French. So polite. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 13, 2012 Author Share Posted September 13, 2012 What were the other 5 places to go? Agreed. The Ardennes is beautiful. Had an ex who was half Belgian years ago and we backpacked round the country and Luxembourg. Was back this year doing the battlefields. lux - good shout. luxemboug city is ace ! got blootered there big style. esche-sur-sur too. stunningly pretty Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 13, 2012 Author Share Posted September 13, 2012 What were the other 5 places to go?. the borders and 4 others Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 been there a few times now and its always a most pleasant stay. the scenery is stunning all rolling hills and bendy rivers. the food is classy yet also hearty enough to feel like grandmas sunday lunch. and of course the beer is as good as youll find anywhere. last place i visited was 2 nights in a brautiffuly picturesque village called durbuy. had a great microbrewery brewing some amber that i brought home with me. markloff?? affa fine it was. when a country like belgium has so many worthwhile places to visit it just makes you realise how much is out there all accross the globe just waiting to be pub crawld. Just be alert for the rumble of distant Panzer engines through the early morning mist. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 Oh and they are different breed from the French. So polite. everyone is polite when compared to the French, even rocket. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 13, 2012 Author Share Posted September 13, 2012 everyone is polite when compared to the French, even rocket. rockets just like a typical frenchman - gay Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 Panzer - one of my favourite words ever Totes and amazeballs - two of the word words ever and I'd love to flatten anyone with a panzer if they used such language in my presence Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 13, 2012 Share Posted September 13, 2012 The french are great if they like you. My favourite country in the world. I never admit to masochistic tendencies despite wearing stilettos in private. They don't like me because my French is shit. In Belgium they expect nothing more than me speaking in my native tongue and respond accordingly in my native tongue. I try and give it execuse moi gar Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 The where? its the belgiumese and lumembourgers equivalent of the borders. great place for kids too tup, plenty 'activities' to do there. main one being the local beer but llosers like you can also go walking, kayaking and the like Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 its the belgiumese and lumembourgers equivalent of the borders. great place for kids too tup, plenty 'activities' to do there. main one being the local beer but llosers like you can also go walking, kayaking and the like i thought Tup didn't like travelling and spending time with foreigners? Link to comment
tup Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 its the belgiumese and lumembourgers equivalent of the borders. great place for kids too tup, plenty 'activities' to do there. main one being the local beer but llosers like you can also go walking, kayaking and the like Still foreign though, eh? Plus I'd have to get on a plane to get there which I'm not keen on. Link to comment
tup Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 i thought Tup didn't like travelling and spending time with foreigners? Correct as you'll see from my reply. Spooky that you should post that at the same time, almost as if you could read my mind. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 tup is like those minks from trailor parks in america. doesnt even venture out of his state/region far less ever own a passport. he should pop over to blutos holiday corner to talk it through Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 Correct as you'll see from my reply. Spooky that you should post that at the same time, almost as if you could read my mind. almost. maybe you should try to overcome your fear of flying for your childrens' benefit? not only will they (hopefully) grow up unfraid of flying, but perhaps learn a life lesson in seeing you conquer your own fear? Link to comment
tup Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 almost. maybe you should try to overcome your fear of flying for your childrens' benefit? not only will they (hopefully) grow up unfraid of flying, but perhaps learn a life lesson in seeing you conquer your own fear? I'm not afraid of flying and I'll still fly if need be, Eurodisney recently for instance, but I'm wary of lumps of metal with even bigger lumps of metal sticking out the sides firing themselves up into the sky and expecting the inhabitants to be comfortable within that environment. i.e. I dinna trust aviation. My kids ken fine nothing scares me. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 check the big keyboard mentalist giving it the big i am about flying. i bet you shite it at the mere mention of a boarding pass. Link to comment
tup Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 I repeat, nothing scares me. This Ardennes place sounds pish regardless. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 14, 2012 Author Share Posted September 14, 2012 come on then give us your best places to go 63: post then...... and dinna say tain, ullapool or some other pish Link to comment
essexdon Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 spent a few days at rocroi in ardennes, fantastic wee place, bucket loads of history Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 Was back this year doing the battlefields.What was that like, sounds good? I love Band of Brothers, visiting those places would be right up my street. Link to comment
essexdon Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 am off to ypres at end of month, great uncle is on menin gate, after that am planning on battlefield visit. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 What was that like, sounds good? I love Band of Brothers, visiting those places would be right up my street. am off to ypres at end of month, great uncle is on menin gate, after that am planning on battlefield visit. Loved it. Cant recommend doing it enough. Although I would say forget joining a tour and diy. I hired a car and bought Major and Mrs Holt's guides to Ypres and Sommes which are unbelievably good. Spent a night on Passchendale battlefield at a place called Varlet Farm. It was amazing and ranked No1 on Tripadvisor. Then headed into France. So only spent one and half days touring Ypres area but saw all the main sights. I couldn't believe how small an area it was that they fought over, just a few miles. May go back and revisit Ardennes and do more WW2 battlefields Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 Panzer - one of my favourite words ever Totes and amazeballs - two of the word words ever and I'd love to flatten anyone with a panzer if they used such language in my presencehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYcYdqTkbxw Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYcYdqTkbxw Won't pretend to know what's going on in thread any more, nor why it took a detour down WW2 German Martial Music Avenue, but here's my favourite piece of NAZI-related marching music. One thing you have to say about the NAZIs is they knew how to put on a show. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkV1ZbU7eqs&bpctr=1347651701 Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 14, 2012 Share Posted September 14, 2012 I'm not afraid of flying and I'll still fly if need be, Eurodisney recently for instance, but I'm wary of lumps of metal with even bigger lumps of metal sticking out the sides firing themselves up into the sky and expecting the inhabitants to be comfortable within that environment. i.e. I dinna trust aviation. My kids ken fine nothing scares me.How did you find Disneyland Paris tup?I took the kids with the Eurostar last year. Much cheaper and more convenient that the plane. Link to comment