muttondressedaslamb Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Read somewhere today that it's 100 days to go. I hate Christmas but I'm sure you're not all as miserable as me, except Tup maybe? Here's why I hate it - hypocrisy of atheists celebrating it. I include myself in this. - massive amount of food wasted- massive consumption of food - pressure put on parents' purse strings-spending time with family you don't like-awkward silences with said family members - Christmas cards. Why? - shit music and TV What's good and bad about Xmas for you? 1 1 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 I've always loved Christmas. Family at Christmas is the best part (when I was younger and still the case now). Lots of good food, drink and people (friends and family) at Christmas -- the more the better. Christmas has changed though. They're quieter and smaller than they used to be (a few family members have died, and some good friends as well as family have moved far away). But I'd argue I've enjoyed the occasions more since I stopped hoping everything would somehow miraculously be perfect, just because it was Christmas. I'm looking forward to the next generation's arrival over the coming years to make things noisy and busy again. 1 Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfBAm-TnPks Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Read somewhere today that it's 100 days to go. I hate Christmas but I'm sure you're not all as miserable as me, except Tup maybe? Here's why I hate it - hypocrisy of atheists celebrating it. I include myself in this. There's nothing hypocritical about Atheists celebrating an end of the year festival... the Christians themselves hijacked the festival from the Pagans. It's not a Christian festival, it's a cultural festival. That Atheists have been forced to recognise it as 'Christmas' is more about the lack of education offered by historically Christian states to their own peoples. You may as well call it Saturnalia or, for Scots/Celts, the Winter Solstice. As an Atheist, and a fairly militant one at that, I really only 'celebrate' Christmas for the loon. I certainly do not go to church or send any kind of religious paraphernalia. now THAT would be hypocritical. For me it's a holiday period that many cultures have traditionally celebrated, and the Christian overtones are little more than a legacy of 'Christian' Europe's dirty little theological phase. We're past that now... or at least should be. What's good and bad about Xmas for you? There's very little to like about Christmas, save a few days off. People get stressed, feel obliged to spend money, and, as you say, visit with people you generally don't care for. On the plus side, being woken at 4am by your son, who's practically pissing himself with excitement because he thinks he heard Santa Claus, but is too scared to run downstairs alone in case he scares Santa away, is magic. Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 - hypocrisy of atheists celebrating it. I include myself in this. The large majority of people that celebrate Xmas don't believe all the religious nonsense attached to it but it's not hypocrisy. For most it's just a time of year that families and communities come together and a special time for the kids. All the religious stuff is just tradition to me. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 What Kelt said. The festival pre-dates Christianity by probably several thousand years, so celebrate away MDAL. Call it Yule, Saturnalia or whatever else if you must... :drink: I actually don't mind Christmas/New Year, but then again I actually like my family and don't get too see them all that often, so it's a good chance to catch up on everyone's chat. The over-hyped, commercial aspects do my box in, naturally, but they are easily enough avoided. Probably the worst thing about the modern Christmas is the excitable pish that gets posted on Bookface, normally by hyperactive, attention-seeking girls, from about the 20th of November onwards. Give. Me. Fucking. Strength. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted September 16, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted September 16, 2012 I'm a big bairn, I actually quite like Chrimbo and the opportunity to shut the front door on Xmas eve and nae surface again till Boxing Day. What I canna stand is the commercialism and pish in the shops which starts in July! Was in M&S last week and they have Xmas Cakes for sale. In feckin September! That said, winna be here this Xmas - heading to The good ole US of A for first Xmas away. Canna wait. Link to comment
tup Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Like turkeys, I'm not a fan of Christmas. You get to see all the relatives you canna stand and did your utmost to avoid for 364 days. Whoopee doo! Then you perpetuate the same petty arguments as you've had since Adam was a boy, end up hating them more than ever, and resolve to try and keep them away next year. The fly bastards take advantage of the faux goodwill though, and any attempt at challenging that sees you labelled as a miserable cunt who hates life itself. Common sense goes out the fucking window. Santa is lies. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Like turkeys, I'm not a fan of Christmas. You get to see all the relatives you canna stand and did your utmost to avoid for 364 days. Whoopee doo! Then you perpetuate the same petty arguments as you've had since Adam was a boy, end up hating them more than ever, and resolve to try and keep them away next year. The fly bastards take advantage of the faux goodwill though, and any attempt at challenging that sees you labelled as a miserable cunt who hates life itself. Common sense goes out the fucking window. Santa is lies. you dinna like xmas cause no one wants to spend time with you. tip of the day, get yourself a single friend then youll enjoy life that little bit more Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 christmas is brilliant. simple as that. if you dont like it youre doing it wrong. 2 2 Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Best thing ? Miles away from the cold of the UK and having a BBQ on a beach or somewhere where it's hot... Hate the British winter, Sunshine and 25+ degrees C for me please... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 -1 for me? poor show from scrooge. 1 1 Link to comment
essexdon Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 same as dj, ill be on a beack somewhere warm not giving a monkeys bout xmas Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 16, 2012 Author Share Posted September 16, 2012 same as dj, ill be on a beack somewhere warm not giving a monkeys bout xmas Lucky you 2. I'd love to be in sunnier climbs at that time of the year. I planned on Melbourne this Xmas and NY but it was hooring expensive so going in October. I'm going to head to Tokyo instead, if my mate is going to be there. It will be baltic but I'll get some snowboarding done up north so not all bad. Just hope she doesn't go all nostalgic and wants to come at Xmas to spend time with her family. Selfish to the core me. Link to comment
minijc Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 -1 for me? -3 or -4 and the snow pelting down is how I love my christmas. 1 Link to comment
Podge Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 All for Christmas but absolutely nothing to do with religion. Same as some others in that it's only time of the year when all of family are off for a week or 2 at the same time and all in the same place. However I did see Xmas cards in Clinton cards or Carlton cards, whatever it is called, in august! Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 16, 2012 Author Share Posted September 16, 2012 Daer Santa For Christmkois pleaasse cud I get a keyB oard that'll coooope better wif my links sausageee fingers so that I can improave ny spelling. I wiz going to leaf a cookie and milc for u but I got hungry so I eight it. Bltuo 3 1 Link to comment
fatshaft Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Here's why I hate it - hypocrisy of atheists celebrating it. I include myself in this. Bollocks. While I understand why you're thinking this, it's simplistic. We've all come to accept the Christmas break, but most of us use this as a time off to be with your kids etc, and just have an extended feel good break in the city of S.A.D. What's wrong with that? I've had similar arguments on here before with those who go on about StAndrews day. I don't know anyone who 'celebrates' St Andrew, it's a psuedonym for 'Scottish Day', which is what I, and everyone I've ever come across treats it as, just like Paddy's day is all about Irishness, and nothong about some gleackit 'saint' that no-one knows anything about. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Building forts and snowball fights while dinner is cooking...with or without kids. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 16, 2012 Author Share Posted September 16, 2012 Bollocks. While I understand why you're thinking this, it's simplistic. We've all come to accept the Christmas break, but most of us use this as a time off to be with your kids etc, and just have an extended feel good break in the city of S.A.D. What's wrong with that? I've had similar arguments on here before with those who go on about StAndrews day. I don't know anyone who 'celebrates' St Andrew, it's a psuedonym for 'Scottish Day', which is what I, and everyone I've ever come across treats it as, just like Paddy's day is all about Irishness, and nothong about some gleackit 'saint' that no-one knows anything about. Nothing is wrong with having time off with your family.But I just don't believe in spending shit loads of money on gifts whether it's based on a Christian event or not and sending happy Christmas cards. I don't believe in Christmas, don't send me a card saying so. And don't send me a happy holidays one either. I'm on holiday, of course I'm happy. It's a complete waste of paper and funds massive tax dodging corporations. I love the holiday aspect of it. I just don't like the excess of it all these days. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Forts? Pfftt. We build replicas of major pieces of engineering. Done the Sydney Opera House last year and the Forth Rail Bridge the year before. Forts don't need to be engineering masterpieces. Just enough to hide behind briefly as you prepare more ammunition. Your replica masterpiece won't save you from having your face washed in snow when I win Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 16, 2012 Author Share Posted September 16, 2012 Just remembered a story about Xmas to warm the cockles. Fred and Rosemary West told their kids from the outset that Santa wasn't true but because they weren't completely heartless they let them pick a present from the Argos catalogue up to the value of Link to comment
buchanskii Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Christmas is a hassle, forced fun with family members who do your head in. My family argue all year round then pretend to love each other just because it’s social protocol. Inevitably, someone has too much to drink and some home truths are dished out, resulting in a shit night. Also, the gifts as well are fucking woeful, I always get shafted with fucking work trousers or socks, whilst spending a fortune on others Boxing Day is the best day of the year, no stress, and you get to tuck in to all the leftovers; a weight off your shoulders. You can just crack open a bottle of cold lager and gamble on the great day of football and Horse racing Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Nothing is wrong with having time off with your family.But I just don't believe in spending shit loads of money on gifts whether it's based on a Christian event or not and sending happy Christmas cards. I don't believe in Christmas, don't send me a card saying so. And don't send me a happy holidays one either. I'm on holiday, of course I'm happy. It's a complete waste of paper and funds massive tax dodging corporations. I love the holiday aspect of it. I just don't like the excess of it all these days. My grandma says to me every year not to spend my money on her and that there's nothing she needs or wants. Every Christmas I'll get a bag of sweets and a card with a Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 i think christmas day should be moved to the middle of the year, got something exciting to bredk up the year then Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 My grandma says to me every year not to spend my money on her and that there's nothing she needs or wants. Every Christmas I'll get a bag of sweets and a card with a Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 i think christmas day should be moved to the middle of the year, got something exciting to bredk up the year then Christmas day is in Dec because without it and hogmany that time of the year would be even more depressing than it usually is Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 When we meet in the car park at Gleneagles and even if there is snow on the ground, you'll not have time to wash my face in snow. You'll have been grabbed by the hair and dragged through reception on the way to the room and to much more worthwhile pursuits. Hopefully you'll not be screaming. They might get security if you were. Well that's all assuming I pass muster in the car park fumble. And you do too. I really think you're underestimating the fun to be had with a tussle in the snow though. Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Corny as it sounds -- give her the gift of your time maybe. Get tickets to something she enjoys, and take her. Or something done around the house. There's lots of things you could do that she'd probably enjoy? Nah, doesn't sound corny! She doesn't get out much now but I do see her every week and you can tell with old folk that it's a real highlight of their day. I do take more care in buying her something that I think she'd actually use or be interested in than others which is the right reason to get someone a present. There's some people that you end up buying them something just to be polite, without any real thought if they'll actually like it or not cause you can't be bothered spending time going round all the shops which is definitely a pointless excersise. Link to comment
phoenix Posted September 16, 2012 Share Posted September 16, 2012 Like it or loathe it , we mebbe wilnae get the choice according to Mayan prophecy. Link to comment