Jambo83 Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Getting married in April and just had my 3 weeks holiday granted at work. We were thinking Mexico for a fortnight, but then I seen Thailand for the same kind of money and flight times so fancy going there instead as it's bit more special I reckon. I'd probably go to Mexico for just a normal holiday, may as well go somewhere a bit more exotic for the honeymoon. Any of you guys been and can recommend places? Done a bit of a looking online but always good to get a bit of advice from people who've been. You can get a fornight in a nice 4 or 5 star hotel in Koh Samui for approx Link to comment
tup Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 You can buy hoors for a whole week for about Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Leave the wife at home. Link to comment
Jambo83 Posted September 17, 2012 Author Share Posted September 17, 2012 Ha Ha!! That would be a good start! Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 You can buy hoors for a whole week for about 1 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 I went to Hawaii for my honeymoon. It was fucking excellent Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 I went to Maldives for mine. It was exceptional. i went to the worlds best restaurant for mine. the prawns brain was fine. Link to comment
Jones Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 lol don't take your new wife to Bangkok. If you're doing the above plan do the first few days in Phuket then go to Koh Samui. Lamai is the quieter side of Samui, with the higher end resorts last i remember. Chaweng is the bustling night life side, which also has its merits. You're more likely to get booked into a resort with a private beach in Lamai as well. Link to comment
BubbaRayDon Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Go to Cuba. Good cigars and authentic white rum. Sound! Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Having lived and worked in Thailand I'd recommend Koh Samui and Pataya (sp?) - they're two of the nice places. Phuket is horrible unless your intention is to see Thailand's Magaluf... If it's an island/beach holiday you're after I can also recommend some of the Malaysian islands - real island paradises - I have a bit of a soft spot for Perhentian... And of course you can get treated like a king in Bali - some of the Villas in Sanur are to die for... Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Mate just back from her honeymoon to Krabi. Said they both loved it. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Mate just back from her honeymoon to Krabi. Said they both loved it. Been there 3 times. Krabi the town is a hole. Places like Ao Nang along the coast are paradise Link to comment
dervish Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Getting married in April and just had my 3 weeks holiday granted at work. We were thinking Mexico for a fortnight, but then I seen Thailand for the same kind of money and flight times so fancy going there instead as it's bit more special I reckon. I'd probably go to Mexico for just a normal holiday, may as well go somewhere a bit more exotic for the honeymoon. Any of you guys been and can recommend places? Done a bit of a looking online but always good to get a bit of advice from people who've been. You can get a fornight in a nice 4 or 5 star hotel in Koh Samui for approx 1 Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Been to Kho Samui. Stayed in Centara Village right down in the south of the Island.It was great. Very peaceful. Upgraded to a bungalow with private pool and had drinks and snacks delivered every afternoon, plus the Bangkok Times delivered daily in a wee hessian carrier bag.Felt like royalty.Went on a boat trip from the hotel to a remote island for snorkelling. Just got the boat from the hotel's beach. Only me and the wife on it, aside fae the " captain ". Dined at the hotel for 1st 3 nights, then felt like a change, so got the hotel mini bus into Lamai. Nae distance.In the hotel we were paying prices comparable with here, but in Lamai, good food and drinks, at least half the price.And I got to see the quines duncin on the bars, which I didna see at the hotel.Lamai is only a small place. Chaweng is bigger but I got completely pxssed aff at the place because I couldna walk doon the road withoot being accosted by some punter wanting to mak a made to measure suit.Design some shirts afore ye go though, and they'll mak them for ye. So Kho Samui recommended for a peaceful relaxing and far from the madding crowd holiday.Oh aye and it is quite probably the most quaint airport I've ever been at. Grass huts terminals. Also been to Malaysian island Langkawi.Stayed at Meritus Palangi. Superb, loved it.You can do organised trips, but we went up some mountain in a cable car thing, and took a taxi to get there.Driver took us right to the front of the queue, told us to go take our time and enjoy, and he'd see us back in the car park just when we were ready.Probably hired him for about 3 hours and he stung us for aboot a Link to comment
Quagmire Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 I've just rented an apartment in Bangkok for a year. Travelled about to a few different places and it does depend on what you're after. Excellent hotels/resorts for a quiet romantic honeymoon. However i'd choose somewhere within distance of a decent nightlife so you have the option of a few lively nights out! I stayed at the Movenpick Resort in Karon last year with an ex and it was close enough to Patong which was a good laugh for a few drinks and general people watching! Whatever you do book it yourself. Use lastminute/skyscanner/netflights for your flights and book the hotels through Agoda. Internal flights you'll pick up through Air Asia. I priced a 16 day holiday for my parents (4 nights BKK, 7 nights Phuket, 5 nights Koh Samui) and it was Link to comment
Jambo83 Posted September 18, 2012 Author Share Posted September 18, 2012 Good work gents, cheers :thumbs: Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 went to koh samui on a holiday few years back lovely place. if you go, make sure you time it witha full moon party on the nearby island. Link to comment
Giblets Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 Went to Bali and Singapore for my honeymoon, dinna spend too much time in Singapore though, its whore of an expensive day oot. Stayed in 2 different places in Bali - Ubud, and Seminyak - had villas with private pools in both places and would recommend it. Think I booked it through Destinology, think it was a lot cheaper than all the other agencies, and less than Link to comment
Jambo83 Posted September 24, 2012 Author Share Posted September 24, 2012 Hayes & Jarvis quoting me Link to comment
BubbaRayDon Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 ALMOST a boom dark rum Dark rum is for gay pirates only!!! White rum all the way!!! Link to comment
BubbaRayDon Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 incredulous did you try "Santiago" when you were there? Santiago was ok but preferred good old Havana Club. Had a drop of Arecha rum. The Anejo Blanco 3 year old. That was my favourite. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 No MT, white rum all the way. And you don't make mojitos with dark rum. Link to comment
dervish Posted September 24, 2012 Share Posted September 24, 2012 Not the first time you've posted some alternative preferences on here rumpus, but a classic mojito is with white rum. Link to comment