The ghost of pele Posted September 17, 2012 Share Posted September 17, 2012 Who ate all the pies? Either a really bad picture or someone is enjoying his trips to the baker now that he isn't playing anymore. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/19631669 Good lad though but will definately not be the next dons boss Link to comment
Eastcoastdon Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 One of those XXXXL baggy sponsors tshirts that doesn't fail to flatter Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 Who ate all the pies? Either a really bad picture or someone is enjoying his trips to the baker now that he isn't playing anymore. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/19631669 Good lad though but will definately not be the next dons bossHe obviously has been introduced to Hope the bakers pies in Alloa.They are lush and very more-ish, although the juice runs down to your elbows when having a chomp on one, Link to comment
RUL Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 He seems to be doing ok in div 2 Link to comment
Monkey Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 He seems to be doing ok in div 2I was saying the same in another thread where one poster was stating Hartley had been "found out" at Alloa. Did well to get promotion last year and now sitting in a good position in the league and whilst it's very early in the season I would not be surprised if they end up with a play off spot. I always thought the pitch may give them an advantage in home games but they appear to be doing better away from home. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 I am making an assumption here, but I think the OP may have said that he definitely wouldn't be our next manager for reasons outwith his performance as a manager so far... Link to comment
Poodler Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 What an ugly bastard Link to comment
tup Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 He's doing 'OK at Alloa'. Break out the bunting! Let's get a contract in front of him now before Barcelona swoop for him. Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 I don't see what Hartley has done that Deek Adams hasn't. His wife for starters. Link to comment
MURRA Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 wouldna mind if he was the next manager Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted September 18, 2012 Share Posted September 18, 2012 I thought he was a tad fat when he played for us. Maybe he just always wore unflattering shirts. Link to comment
Eastcoastdon Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Likewise Sheerin. If anything he has done more than Hartley in management. Won 3rd, came close to 2nd div title but finished 2nd. Has them up there again for league and now has them in challenge cup semis! We should be speaking about Sheerin and not hartley. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 Likewise Sheerin. If anything he has done more than Hartley in management. Won 3rd, came close to 2nd div title but finished 2nd. Has them up there again for league and now has them in challenge cup semis! We should be speaking about Sheerin and not hartley. Agree - either is the kind of manager and kind of area we should be looking - someone young, who has made a success of managing a small club stepping up to a bigger challenge. The interview and background work should tell you whether they have been lucky, stumbled across a good group of players, or good, made the best of what they had and recruited wisely. We should be looking for someone who wants to use us as a stepping stone, SAF is an obvious example but it is nigh on impossible for anyone in this era to repeat that success from Scotland - however the principle, young, hungry, looking to make a name is sound. We can be contenders with the right leaders (something we currently seem to lack). Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted September 20, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted September 20, 2012 I was saying the same in another thread where one poster was stating Hartley had been "found out" at Alloa.Did well to get promotion last year and now sitting in a good position in the league and whilst it's very early in the season I would not be surprised if they end up with a play off spot. I always thought the pitch may give them an advantage in home games but they appear to be doing better away from home. It was Tup, so you just ignore and move on. He's like a pet really. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I challenge any of you to challenge my football knowledge. I'm of the opinion that Hartley is going nowhere in football management and I look forward to vindication. I'd also point out he's done nothing in management so far. Agree with point re Sheerin and he's got a huge advantage over Hartley in that he disna have the sneering weegie mentality. 1 Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I challenge any of you to challenge my football knowledge. I'm of the opinion that Hartley is going nowhere in football management and I look forward to vindication. I'd also point out he's done nothing in management so far. Agree with point re Sheerin and he's got a huge advantage over Hartley in that he disna have the sneering weegie mentality.Too early to say whether Sir Paul of Hartley will be a success in fitba management ,even the best has to start somewhere,and even at that, they can only pish with the cock they're given.S.A.F. for example. Link to comment
tup Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I'm saying he's not got the personality to be a success. He does not carry himself correctly and will not gain the respect of a dressing room, a la Mark McGhee. Mark my words. Link to comment
tup Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 Not unlike you to defend weegies barassie. Seeing as you are one. I don't want weegies involved with my football team. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 Not unlike you to defend weegies barassie. Seeing as you are one. I don't want weegies involved with my football team. I wont pass comment on his ability as yet as a manager, but he had respect as a player from the clubs he played for, I've talked with the guy and he semeed to have nothing but praise for Aberdeen. Link to comment
tup Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I wont pass comment on his ability as yet as a manager, but he had respect as a player from the clubs he played for, I've talked with the guy and he semeed to have nothing but praise for Aberdeen. No wonder, he's from Hamilton, even downtown Beirut would be more appealing. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 No wonder, he's from Hamilton, even downtown Beirut would be more appealing. ach...we all have a cross to bare...some worse than others Link to comment
tup Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I see him as another Sturrock, which ties in nicely with the pneumatic bicycle pump up the arse look he's cultivating. He might do well for small clubs in England because they're ambivalent about squeaky voiced weegies. He's not cut out to manage the famous Aberdeen however. Link to comment
Jigot Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I see him as another Sturrock, which ties in nicely with the pneumatic bicycle pump up the arse look he's cultivating. He might do well for small clubs in England because they're ambivalent about squeaky voiced weegies. He's not cut out to manage the famous Aberdeen however.Biding within the realms of reality,who would be your choice to succeed Grandpaw Broon? Link to comment
phoenix Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 .....which ties in nicely with the pneumatic bicycle pump up the arse look he's cultivating. We should never say never but I am in agreement with tup and I reckon the laws of probability , that are so much in evidence these days , would suggest that Hartley , as he is today , would struggle to make an impression in the SPL. One essential bit of criteria I believe is for management to possess and display the ability to be in control ie to manage , not only the working practices of himself and staff but over his own appetites , to have self-discipline. On numerous occasions , like others , I have seen evidence that Hartley is fond , too fond of his food and probably drink as well. Not so bad a habit in the lower divisions but a sign of weakness in the top flight. Always thocht Fergie was an extremely well disciplined Mannie. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 you might think i talk crap, but its different i dont just say it to pass the time, its what i believe but its still crap CRAP 1 Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I see him as another Sturrock, which ties in nicely with the pneumatic bicycle pump up the arse look he's cultivating. He might do well for small clubs in England because they're ambivalent about squeaky voiced weegies. He's not cut out to manage the famous Aberdeen however. Reality not many managers have success, they plod from job/job/job, weve had 1 decent manger in 30yrs, where are the rest of them now? im not sure if your argument is just your weekly weegie blow out, but on a serious note managers like hartley will probably make a living in and around the lower leagues and maybe have a chance 1 day at a "decent" club? Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 I challenge any of you to challenge my football knowledge. I'm of the opinion that Hartley is going nowhere in football management and I look forward to vindication. I'd also point out he's done nothing in management so far. Agree with point re Sheerin and he's got a huge advantage over Hartley in that he disna have the sneering weegie mentality.We'll see. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 you might think i talk crap, but its different i dont just say it to pass the time, its what i believeYou believe you talk crap? At last it sinks in. Thank the lord. Link to comment