radiatorbleeder Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 One of my mates who claims to be a dons fan says he started supporting man utd because 'They play in red like Aberdeen!' What a f**king gargoyle Must be a few belters kickin aboot? Link to comment
Henry Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I watched a documentary on TV when I was four. 8 1 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Because Charlie Cooke used to play for Chelsea Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Guy i used to knock around with as a kid changed from the Dons to the huns, because souness was his favorite player. He gassed himself in his car several years later. Don't know if it was through the shame of it all or personal problems.. 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 The Fergie one is always funny - lets see if they still follow man u when he leaves. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 "Why do you support Sellick?" "Because my Dad's from Greenock" Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 The Fergie one is always funny - lets see if they still follow man u when he leaves. i'd say thats one of the more 'normal' excuses, reasons.certainly when it comes to supporting a foreign team. if miller was your fav player for the dons i'm sure many people would follow any non scots team he would have joined. take big benfica/napoli/barcelona fan riverplate78, who supports these teams for the simple reason, through maradona (and an assortment of shite argie players like aimar) they have a tenuous link to argentina. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 i'd say thats one of the more 'normal' excuses, reasons.certainly when it comes to supporting a foreign team. if miller was your fav player for the dons i'm sure many people would follow any non scots team he would have joined. take big benfica/napoli/barcelona fan riverplate78, who supports these teams for the simple reason, through maradona (and an assortment of shite argie players like aimar) they have a tenuous link to argentina. there nothing normal about anyone supporting man utd just because an ex manager of your main team is there now. Fergie was and alwasy be a legend for us but the day he left was the end of any support I'd give him. Why do you suuport Man utd bluto? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 there nothing normal about anyone supporting man utd just because an ex manager of your main team is there now. Fergie was and alwasy be a legend for us but the day he left was the end of any support I'd give him. Why do you suuport Man utd bluto? id say there is plenty normal about it. if fergie joined a competitor (sco clyub) then its different.depends how attached you become to your hero players i suppose. support united cause i went there as a young kid with my dad, who is a fan. 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 What, even if you weren't old enough to remember the Fergie era at Pittodrie? I wager for the majority it's more to do with being brought up onSky Sports in the 90's and the modern need to "support" an English team that wins trophies more than anything else. I wouldn't even say its a modern need mate I remember a lot of lads having an english team, some of the folk I know simply picked them at random. the english team supporting mob don't bother me half as much as the Real or Barca fans. Now they are the ones who are brain washed by sky Link to comment
Pash Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 An Aberdonian hun that used to work here said he supported them because his dad was from Inverbervie. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 id say there is plenty normal about it. if fergie joined a competitor (sco clyub) then its different.depends how attached you become to your hero players i suppose. support united cause i went there as a young kid with my dad, who is a fan. I went to a raith rovers game as a kid with my dad, got a top and everything. I don't support raith. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 What, even if you weren't old enough to remember the Fergie era at Pittodrie? then yes that is a wee bit odd. i was talking about my own age group, who are just old enough to remember. actually, even i dont really remember much about fegie Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 An Aberdonian hun that used to work here said he supported them because his dad was from Inverbervie. I know a north east hun that supports them because his dad and grandparents were from Dollar Dollar is closer to Cowdenbeath and Stirling than it does to the hun dome Link to comment
MincePie Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Quotes from various people I've spoken to previously: "I support Man U because Aberdeen are shit" "I support Man U because my cousin lives* about 10 miles from Manchester" *Note that they live there and are not originally from Manchester. Mentalists Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Because it's still Rangers and it's not a new club. That's the mind boggling answer I get when I ask a the rangers fan why he's changed teams. 2 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I went to a raith rovers game as a kid with my dad, got a top and everything. I don't support raith. i should be more explicit, i went to quite a few games. he is also a fan. so his influence and me actually going also me actually liking players like robson got me into them. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Isn't it because they have low self-esteem and need to attach themselves to something successful in order to feel some self-worth? Oh sorry , thats the real reason why .. most common excuses have mainly been said above! 4 1 Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I reckon those who love Real or Barca are in it for the football - know a couple of folk who just love Messi and seeing Barca play, and I can imagine it was the same with Real with Zidane etc. I can see why someone would admire their football and why anyone would admire brilliant fitba but why all of a sudden support this team. the guys I'm referring to appear in the pubs with barca and real tops on to support "their" team, shouting and screaming at the TV. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 As I've grown up, I couldn't care less who folk support in all honesty. I wish more folk followed the Dons from this area instead of Huns / Tims but nothing I can do about it, and if they are sick enough in the head to go down the route of supporting those 2 cunts, they were never worth having in our support in the first place. A funny one though from my point of view, I look out for Lazio's results and watch their games online when I get the chance simply because when James Richardson presented Football Italia, I used to think at the beginning they were saying 'GOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLL LAZIO' but this isn't the case, but it was actually Portuguese (Gola Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I read it in a programme for some team a while back. May have been Sunderlands or something when I went to their game. hhmmm. wasnt there loads of theories when it was on TV but C4 never officially said what it was good show. shame they havent resurrected it. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I see what you're saying here, however say Aberdeen were succesful and more and more people turned to Aberdeen because of success, would you be saying this also? Especially if you'd turned to them also (aside from living in the area). I don't agree with what you're saying, because their is a flip side to it, but I completely understand why you said it. Its all about opinions mate :thumbs: Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 howd you know thats what they were saying? strange taht they woudl be portuguese language... What language is that? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I don't need an excuse to support Benfica tonight do I ? is the hatred of anything related to the old firm ok? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Have ITV lost all rights to CL games? cana find a game on the council TV Link to comment
Henry Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 Have ITV lost all rights to CL games? cana find a game on the council TV Madrid-City was on last night. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I've never understood the need for people to support a non-local side. People paying to go see Man United or Liverpool, rather than go see their local team (such as Aberdeen) makes no sense to me whatsoever.* Primarily I'd say it's a basic, immature 'glory-hunting' thing. Like 90% of people on the west coast would rather follow the ugly sisters rather than support the club two miles down the street. It's kind of pathetic, in my opinion... but each to their own. I've followed various teams from various sports over here, some very successful teams. I've watched the Redwings lift the Stanley Cup, the local hockey team, and felt nothing but a mild, "Oh, that's nice for them. On the flip side of that, I've been depressed to the edge of suicide (not really, but you know what I mean) after watching a meaningless end-of-season Dons capitulation under Alex Miller. Maybe I'm not as mercenary as some, but there's no team in existence, regardless of how rich or successful, who could replace my local team... nor elicit 1% of the emotion involved with following the club that represents you and your city. Even when you're not technically in that city any more. Guys who support a team based upon that team's level of success are beneath contempt. *As a qualifier, I'd add that I understand people staying away from their local team when that club is obviously ripping the piss, or treats its own fans like wankers that they can't be done with. 5 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 I know a couple of guys that now support City, nothing to do with the millions they have spent though, no, definitely not. Its because they know loads of Man U fans and want to get it up them. When they go onto explain further, they were Oasis fans as well, it all makes perfect sense to me. 1 Link to comment
fatshaft Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 id say there is plenty normal about it. if fergie joined a competitor (sco clyub) then its different.depends how attached you become to your hero players i suppose. support united cause i went there as a young kid with my dad, who is a fan.There's absolutely fuck all normal about it at all. The normal reaction to Fergie leaving was to be utterly and completely pissed off, to such an extentr that you wouldn't want anything to do with Man Utd, not the complete fucking opposite. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted September 19, 2012 Share Posted September 19, 2012 As I've grown up, I couldn't care less who folk support in all honesty. I'm the opposite, school days you just had banter with Huns/Tims whatever, now the older I get and further in the past those days become, the more thoroughly I despise all those north east cunts who go on about "we" this and "we" that, and "sheepshaggers", the fucking morons. 3 Link to comment