Twitter And Facebook Etc

buzz15afc

the guy that wrote stuff about Tom Daleys dad on twitter is not going to face charges

right or wrong??

right in my opinion... not saying what the guy wrote is acceptable, but celebs/sport-stars/wannabes must surely expect and accept any abuse directed towards them when they open these accounts!!

courts and police in this country must have better things to do than run around after schoolyard type arguments/comments on social network sites....

I'm all for freedom of speech and am very anti censorship...

But maybe kids (and arsehole adults) should actually be taught about netiquette... I mean it's a totally different world to when I grew up... But when I hear the term cyber bullying it just sounds a poofy form of bullying. If you want a fight let's have a go, but don't tweet me or send me a text you fud...

Why can't we just all get along... Apart from if you're a Hunco fan and then you can get fucked...

I'm also not a fan of people losing their jobs and their livelihood through personal social media faux pas.... If you're caught on facebook getting fingered wearing the company threads then it does kinda serve you right, but if you're home made porno becomes an internet sensation should you be fired for that ?

It'd be like losing your job for calling the huns cunts on a football chat forum... I'd hope you'd have no end of free legal advice if that happened...

the guy that wrote stuff about Tom Daleys dad on twitter is not going to face charges

right or wrong??

right in my opinion... not saying what the guy wrote is acceptable, but celebs/sport-stars/wannabes must surely expect and accept any abuse directed towards them when they open these accounts!!

courts and police in this country must have better things to do than run around after schoolyard type arguments/comments on social network sites....

Is it fair that someone gets lifted for calling Daley a mong or fitiver happened....of course not, thats an opinion of 1 person, maybe a thousand people...who knows?

we are lied to every day of the week, by our bosses, politicians, family members, things are said in the heat of the moment all the time, its a nonsense, if some twat wants to slag Daley and his Da then who actually gives a flying fuck?

right or wrong??

Why should they accept abuse just because they are well known? That's nonsense.

Not saying each and every case should go to court, but there have been cases where things have been said on the internet that, if said in public, would result in breach of the peace or racism charges etc. Why should people be allowed to hide behind an internet veil?

There's freedom of speech and being an utter whanker though, this guy clearly lands in category 2!

I also dont buy this "if they're famous they're fair game" attitude. Pish. We're all human, i think some of us maybe haven't developed socially yet. Ye knuckle dragging mofos. :soapbox:

This. Freedom of speech doesn't give you the absolute right to tear into someone. It is qualified by right to privacy and freedom of religion, sexuality etc.

I say you should be allowed to say anything.

Sticks and stones etc.

If this poof Daley canna handle it, that's his problem, not the folk calling him a poof, who appear to have been vinidicated by his tell-tale-tit attitude.

As I never tire of saying, we're all cunts, we only go up and down a sliding scale of cuntishness as we make our way through life.

So potentially every single one of us could get done at some point if this is allowed to escalate.

Which is of course utter fucking nonsense.

Say what you want folks, if folk canna take it, they shouldna be using the internet, it's an extension of society, not some sugar coated bubble where we're all sickeningly forced to be nice to every cunt.

so its ok for a right wing rag to print nonsense on racial tension and make up stories that are clearly racist and are built to cause issues, but some nut job calling someone a paki on the net gets lifted and thousands wasted on a court case....fecken nonsense the lot of it.

Did I say it was ok?

The OP's point was that the tweets and messages should be expected and accepted by the individuals concerned. I say this type of behaviour shouldn't be accepted just because it is the internet. Why should it be?

If the Press Complaints Commission weren't completely useless, then we may see papers being more accountable for what they print. That's another argument, though.

I say you should be allowed to say anything.

Sticks and stones etc.

If this poof Daley canna handle it, that's his problem, not the folk calling him a poof, who appear to have been vinidicated by his tell-tale-tit attitude.

As I never tire of saying, we're all cunts, we only go up and down a sliding scale of cuntishness as we make our way through life.

So potentially every single one of us could get done at some point if this is allowed to escalate.

Which is of course utter fucking nonsense.

Say what you want folks, if folk canna take it, they shouldna be using the internet,it's an extension of society, not some sugar coated bubble where we're all sickeningly forced to be nice to every cunt.

Exactly. The same standards should apply.

You can be sure that wee moron that mocked Tom Daley re his dead father would not have said what he did face to face.

So every time you call someone a poof or a prick in real life you get done for it?

I'd be doing life in prison if that was the case.

What he said about his dad wisna even that bad, that's an extension of the Lady Di mock grief, he's dead, so are lots of other folk, big deal.

Lots of folk say lots of nasty things in real life too which is what I meant by an extension of society, and they never, ever get done for it.

So a twitter account is not some precious bubble where you're only allowed to say good, positive stuff.

If he canna handle it, he shouldna have a twitter account, simple.

right or wrong??

It's a different person who is not going to face charges.

It was a footballer who tweeted about Daley and Waterfield calling the pair "TeamHIV" and then added: "If there is any consolation for finishing fourth at least Daley and Waterfield can go bum each other."

It was decided that as he had tweeted it only to his family and friends and not to anyone directly and then as he deleted it as soon as it started to spread it was to be treated as a joke and not grossly offensive.

Correct decision I think, although may have been different if directed at the people involved specifically.

I think the "dead dad" tweeter may still be waiting to hear if he is to be prosecuted.

So every time you call someone a poof or a prick in real life you get done for it?

I'd be doing life in prison if that was the case.

What he said about his dad wisna even that bad, that's an extension of the Lady Di mock grief, he's dead, so are lots of other folk, big deal.

Lots of folk say lots of nasty things in real life too which is what I meant by an extension of society, and they never, ever get done for it.

So a twitter account is not some precious bubble where you're only allowed to say good, positive stuff.

Not saying each and every case should go to court, but there have been cases where things have been said on the internet that, if said in public, could result in breach of the peace or racism charges etc. Why should people be allowed to hide behind an internet veil?

So to answer your original question, no. Absolutely not. That would just be, dare I say it, political correctness gone mad.

When I said it shouldn't be accepted, I didn't mean every incident should be followed up by the police and taken through the courts. My point is that why should someone stand idly by and take abuse left, right and centre. You wouldn't let it happen in face to face life, so why on the internet? But if someone feels they want to take it court then they have that option. In fact, it is probably the only option they have for some sort of recourse.The person shouldn't have said what they did then. Just like if you didn't want a smack in the mouth, you wouldn't call someone a cunt.

You are accountable for your actions in real life. Why should "cyber" you be free from that?

I'm still not getting this concept of someone just having to accept abuse simply because they have a Twitter account.

One man's abuse is another man's light hearted aside.

Some folk get very easily offended.

For example, calling a woman a bitch is just a term to my mind, but some would see it as derogatory.

Mainly women, same as cow.

However, it's fine for them to call men studs.

Both terms are simply male and female animals.

Which is offensive?

Which is not?

It's a waste of time. The rule should be, say what you want, if someone disna like it they have the option of closing their account.

Most of what they write to their 'followers' is pish anyway. I find all that nicey, nicey stuff offensive.

You dinna see me running to the pigs about it.

I'd be doing life someone's wife in prison if that was the case.

Fixed that for you.

Anyone with a twitter account or a Facebook account should be locked up anyway.

I actually binned my Facebook account this morning (prior to reading this post) as I'm spending too much time on it reading stuff about folk I don't give a fuck about. Might start doing some work to get me through the day instead.

Good stuff, the more the merrier.

I ditched mine after it got me into serious bother as all I did on it was give folk abuse.

Facebook is good for a free photo storage facility. I've got a Dropbox account but it gets filled quickly with photos.

You seem to be very well travelled. I did like looking at people's photos if they were of interesting places or if they were good at photography.

Other than that I think it's bullshit all these people putting up photos of themselves out drinking or doing stupid stuff and I hated it when people put up photos of me. It's all just for posers

You seem to be very well travelled. I did like looking at people's photos if they were of interesting places or if they were good at photography.

Other than that I think it's bullshit all these people putting up photos of themselves out drinking or doing stupid stuff and I hated it when people put up photos of me. It's all just for posers

I feel the same. I came off it before I went off on my travels this summer but my mum kept on at me to join again so that she could see some photos. So I caved. Since then I've been off and on and off. I'm off to OZ soon so will prob post some pics for her as it's an easy way for her to see them. One thing I did do one time I reactivated was change all my security settings so people couldn't tag me in pics or posts without my permission.

For the most part it is bullshit. As you say it's photos of people drinking or doing stupid stuff. Not of any interest to me. Nor is photos of baby scans.

Why do people feel the need to take photos on a night out anyway?

• 3 months later...

I got rid of my Facebook account a good while ago as it's just for posers and attention seekers. Good for perving on women though!

THOUSANDS are leaving Facebook because they want to get back into face-to-face bragging, it has emerged.

The social network lost 600,000 users in December, amid concerns that online showing-off is less meaningful than old-fashioned conversational boasting.

Ex-Facebook user Tom Booker said:

I feel the same. I came off it before I went off on my travels this summer but my mum kept on at me to join again so that she could see some photos. So I caved. Since then I've been off and on and off. I'm off to OZ soon so will prob post some pics for her as it's an easy way for her to see them. One thing I did do one time I reactivated was change all my security settings so people couldn't tag me in pics or posts without my permission.

For the most part it is bullshit. As you say it's photos of people drinking or doing stupid stuff. Not of any interest to me. Nor is photos of baby scans.

Stick your photos on an actual photo site such as Flickr, avoiding all the pish that comes with FB

I agree. Just enjoy your night, nae need for photos.

This can be applied to so many other things now. Gigs being a prime example, where people stand with a camera in their hand the whole time. How can you fully enjoy a gig doing that?

I agree. Just enjoy your night, nae need for photos.

This can be applied to so many other things now. Gigs being a prime example, where people stand with a camera in their hand the whole time. How can you fully enjoy a gig doing that?

I have to admit I've done this myself and you are right, you spend more time concentrating on trying to film the song / photograph the band than actually watching it. I've stopped doing it for that reason. Besides, they always turn out shit unless you take a proper camera!