Apple Stuff

RUL

I have an iPhone but I consciously have never addressed it as more than a phone. I dislike apple as a business, but for me their phone is most suited to my requirements, so I have one. It makes me no worse or better than any of my friends, but having previously used a BB and a HTC I conclude that I like my current handset best. So sue me, fickle people

Apple stuff is okay, and just that. I recommend it to older family members who need something that won't test their technical skills, and who will like the functionality of iTunes.

The deliberate crippling of Apple products by Apple is the deal breaker for me. And paying a premium price for a pre-crippled device, with less functionality than a cheaper alternative, is not something I'll do.

Really?

REALLY?

I'd struggle to find someone with a Samsung phone amongst my f&f. Just me. So all I get is Iphone this and Iphone that.

Its a phone ffs and Im sure the high end ones can do pretty much the same shit.

:millertime:

Aye, I work with a lot Samsung users and a few of my mates have them...it's what they say. It's boring! All so boring!

• 4 weeks later...

Sick fed up of laptops not lasting much more than 2 or 3 years so thought I would finally take the plunge and convert to a Mac.

Any downsides to Apple computers I should be aware of? I don't need an iMac. Just want a laptop that lasts.

It'll take you a little bit of time to get used to the operating system after using windows for so long but stick with it.

If you are using it for work then it probably would be worth splitting the hard drive and having OSX in one half and windows in the other. You can get an office suite that is compatible with Word, Excel etc but its only good for the basics, if you use complex formatting or formula it doesnt transfer over when you take the file to work that well.

There is usually a mac version or equivalent of any piece of software you use regularly on your pc, just google what you're after with mac stuck to the end of the search.

If you get a pro it will last you for 4-5 years no problem, probably longer. I picked up my first pro about 8 years ago. It was still playing FM at proper speeds 6 years on (FM was a good judge of the system, it tells you how fast the game will go and its made with the latest pc's in mind for the spec it needs to work full speed with everything running). It had been given a right kicking through my djing. Taken to clubs every Friday and Saturday all over Europe, used constantly at home, dropped, splashed, generally abused. The only reason I upgraded was because when I came back from Holland and it had a few blotched on the screen and the keyboard was German which wasnt that usable when using in English all the time. I paid something like €1200 for it new, sold it on ebay, totally upfront about its condition and loads of photos showing the state of its casing and still got about £450 for it. They bought it to rip to buts for parts and sell. So I got almost half my money back for an electronic 6 years after buying it and abusing it.

The hardest thing is getting used to OSX and finding the apps that you are used to with windows, once you do you're laughing.

Bought a Macbook Air mid last year just before the new models came out after seeing just how shit W8 was going to be. Bought a refurbished one from Apple (totally recommend that as the way to go) which has full warranty but saved I think $300 over new and then because the new model came out I got another $250 or so back on top of that because of the price drop of the old refurb. Got to love Apple's policies.

Forgetting any other reason, Apple stuff (generally) is good to go for if you don't want hassles if things go wrong. This is my first Apple computer after 2 iPhones and an iPad. I had issues with my iPhone when out in the UK, walked into the Apple store in Aberdeen and walked out with a replacement iPhone no charge. THAT is how warranty work should be done. A phone bought in Australia, failing (the home button was dodgy) replaced in about 5 minutes in Scotland.

Love the Air though and after some initial fiddling (since I'd never owned one before) got into OSX. It's convinced me to get an iMac or equivalent whenever it comes time to replace my desktop computer.

Totally love the multi-touch on it. Really done very well. Again Apple taking something that is not new but doing it right.

Right... this is my first ever post using a MacBook Air.

How the fuck do you go page up and page down, instead of scrolling slowly down with the arrow keys?

Doh, that one I can find the answer to on the Help bittie.

Shit, I don't even have a Home and End button on this. How do I get to the start and end of the line? Doh again.

This een though. I was telt that Macs could take screen shots and part of a screen shot.

Help bittie says go to File > Take Screen Shot but I don't have that option?

This is going to be hard work...

use 2 fingers on the scroll pad for quickly scrolling up and down the page.

not sure about home and end RS, not something I use.

Few options for screenshot

shift command 3 takes a picture of the entire screen.

shift command 4 lets you select a portion of the screen.

or, open this application that was pre-installed on your Mac: Macintosh HD -> Applications -> Utilities -> Grab - this is an old app, not sure if its included in mountain lion

Right... this is my first ever post using a MacBook Air.

How the fuck do you go page up and page down, instead of scrolling slowly down with the arrow keys?

Doh, that one I can find the answer to on the Help bittie.

Shit, I don't even have a Home and End button on this. How do I get to the start and end of the line? Doh again.

This een though. I was telt that Macs could take screen shots and part of a screen shot.

Help bittie says go to File > Take Screen Shot but I don't have that option?

This is going to be hard work...

To scroll you use the trackpad, hold one finger still and use another to go up and down.

To take a screen shot the way I use is to open the preview application, and go File > Grab

Magic guys. Loving this two finger whooshing up and doon the page. Think I'll spend the next 22 minutes just whooshing.

Cheers for shift command 4 by the way. I heard it clicking like a camera but nae clue where the cunt went after that.

It takes a bit of getting used to RS but once you are used to it you will go on a PC and look a fud as you wave your fingers over the trackpad and wonder why the screen isn't moving. I'm looking at getting a desktop mac. MAinly as it looks cool and porn will look exceptional on the large screen.

What's a trackpad? You mean the mousepad on a pc?

How do I set it up for a right click onyhoo? Far's the control panel on this cunt?

Aye the mousepad. Just do this:

open up System Preferences and click on the Keyboard and mouse icon. Once in that bit click on the Trackpad and then you should have options for secondary clicks and just choose the option you want.

What's a trackpad? You mean the mousepad on a pc?

How do I set it up for a right click onyhoo? Far's the control panel on this cunt?

you hold control and click for the right click!

The track pad has many features when browsing the web for example

if u put your 2 fingers together on it and separate them it will zoom in on the page

if u swipe your 2 fingers to the right it will go back and to the left it will go forward

I've decided to give Apple a go and bought my first ever Iphone last night, gets delivered tomorrow, what's the must have apps?

Not interested in Angry Birds btw. :)

find a hoolie - messagong tool to artange meets with rival firms

bill watch - tell you where nearest plod is

• Admin

I'm away to move away from iPhone.

I'm moving away before Apple suck me in and try and take over the world. I'll be free of them, thankfully.

Samsung Note 2 will be my next phone.

Bad luck Roberto.

Moving from Apple to be free but ending up in the arms of Google's Android.

Google have more chance of taking over the world.

appgratis gives you some free apps. 1 per day

Google Maps lets you put in your starting point and your destination and gives you public transport solutions and is totally foolproof. It was a total lifesaver when I broke down in Scumdee.

I'd recommend Chrome for browsing.

iTorch is a bosker too.