tommo1903 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Whats the law with regards to drinking on buses to gigs and festivals etc? I'm pretty sure that your not allowed to drink booze on buses to sporting events, but everyone I've spoken to seems to have different interpretations of the law. Google was nae much use, get hunners of different answers on it. Are any of our law folks able to help? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Think it's illegal on buses all the time. Link to comment
zander Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 According to boys on Fitba buses its illegal drinking going to games but ok coming back. I always thought it was illegal full stop same way a passenger can't drink in a car. Know drivers clamp down on it on Football buses but festivals and that they seem sound enough with it, ffs boys were smoking dope on our bus going to Creamfields. Link to comment
Tommy Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 Think it's illegal on buses all the time. Credit that you cope so well. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 I assume you mean a bus hired privately? Think it is at the discretion of the person it is hired from unless a sporting event which is covered by: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1995/39/contents Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 30, 2012 Author Share Posted October 30, 2012 I assume you mean a bus hired privately? Think it is at the discretion of the person it is hired from unless a sporting event which is covered by: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1995/39/contents Aye. Cheers min. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 My mate was heading on the megabus to Dundee on Sat night and some folk near him blatantly pulled out a carry out and it was immediately confiscated. Luckily he had concealed his in a bottle of 7up Suppose that would just be their own rules though, as opposed to the law. Link to comment
dervish Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 I nearly got booted off a bus halfway through to Glasgow from Edinburgh in the middle of nowhere at about 3am for that. To be fair wish to this day he had. Fucking Glasgow. Link to comment
Jigot Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 According to boys on Fitba buses its illegal drinking going to games but ok coming back. I always thought it was illegal full stop same way a passenger can't drink in a car. Know drivers clamp down on it on Football buses but festivals and that they seem sound enough with it, ffs boys were smoking dope on our bus going to Creamfields.That did surprise me!,I didnae ken. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 30, 2012 Share Posted October 30, 2012 According to boys on Fitba buses its illegal drinking going to games but ok coming back. I always thought it was illegal full stop same way a passenger can't drink in a car. Know drivers clamp down on it on Football buses but festivals and that they seem sound enough with it, ffs boys were smoking dope on our bus going to Creamfields. I've never heard of the passenger in a car can't drink thing. Who told you that? I'm pretty sure it's 2 before a designated sporting event and one hour after. Big man should know this! Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 It might be the stuff of urban legend the passenger thing but is that because some drivers claimed that they were intoxicated by second hand booze fumes ? Link to comment
zander Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 I've never heard of the passenger in a car can't drink thing. Who told you that? I'm pretty sure it's 2 before a designated sporting event and one hour after. Big man should know this! Indeed appears I'm speaking pish. Link to comment
Jigot Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 Indeed appears I'm speaking pish.Don't worry,I am bi-lingual and can speak a fair splattering of shite and I am fluid in talking pish. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 It's def not illegal for passengers to drink in a car (how could those clatty looking limos get any business if they couldn't provide Chantelle and her pals a couple of bottles of lambrini to drink, as they hang out the windows, screaming at pedestrians). Also believe a driver can technically sip a bottle of beer or whatever, while they cruise down the road, provided they are not over the limit, then all above board. Link to comment
Monkey Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 I've never heard of the passenger in a car can't drink thing. Who told you that? I'm pretty sure it's 2 before a designated sporting event and one hour after. Big man should know this!I don't think there is a time limit for before or after, it's on vehicles that are going to and from any sporting event no matter when that is.Interestingly enough it also appears it's illegal just to be drunk on the bus regardless of whether you are drinking on the bus or were drinking before.Never seen the police lift anyone for been drunk on any of the buses I've been on and it was not for the lack of drunk people , so can only assume the police only enforce this if they are being particularly officious or someone pisses them off. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 31, 2012 Share Posted October 31, 2012 Fuck going on a bus. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted November 1, 2012 Author Share Posted November 1, 2012 Fuck going on a bus. How about a coach? Not Coach Carter though. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 2, 2012 Share Posted November 2, 2012 How about a coach? Not Coach Carter though. Yes. Link to comment