Decent crowd let down again.

Don't know what Brown was thinking at various points today first and foremost. Resting one of our two players of the season in such a big game is just stupid. Having Magennis and Robertson as full backs puts far too much strain on the defensive side of the team. One can be looked after and protected, but both can't. All St Mirren's good play came down against Magennis when he was at right back. He did serve some purpose when moved up top, more so than Vernon who looked dead on his feet from the start. Why Magennis went off, I don't know. Why McGinn was the lone forward in extra time when punts were still the order of the day, I don't know. Enough about that though, the players:

Langers - Fuck sake for both goals. Especially the second. Hibs was maybe acceptable as he could score anywhere. This angle is so ridiculous, there is only one place he is scoring it and Langers should be covering it.

Anderson - Looks knackered. Dallied for St Mirren's second. Not a good day for him

Reynolds - Was he at fault (amongst others) for the first goal.

Magennis - When St Mirren were getting in behind, it was always the left wing. Positional awareness is lacking and was a fundamental issue in both goals. A proper right back would have dealt with both. Up top he caused issues and won some high balls. Yet again in the right place at the end of a match to get a goal. His power and pace would have been useful up front in extra time against a tired defence...

Robertson - Did alright, but some bad decision making going forward, and was helped out/saved by Reynolds a few times.

Osbourne - Should have started at right back. Had a reasonable game, despite being moved around a lot. Still put in a great shift in extra time, despite his groin/hamstring injury appearing to hae made a re-appearance.

Rae - Decent enough first 45, dead on his feet after. Game passed him by, should never have been on at the end.

Hughes - Reasonable contribution at times, popping up all over the pitch, distributing well. Anonymous at other times, (game bypassed our central midfield for considerable parts of the second half). Penalty was trying to be too smart when we needed someone to get the first one scored.

Hayes - Best player on the pitch first 45 minutes probably. Obviously not fit, faded second half, completely out of the game in extra time.

McGinn - Livewire. Should have done better with the chance in the first half of extra time. Was constantly involved throughout the game though and had some decent play.

Vernon - Him being on encouraged the long ball, but he won none. Dallied on all the ball when he did get in. Says something when Magennis looked exponentially better than him up top. His goal was a pretty awful header and all down to a Samson slip. Something doesn't seem right with him, after a couple of better performances a few weeks back.

Fraser - Constant threat. Should have started.

Smith - Constant threat and good on the ball. Should have been on for Rae. Shame about the penalty, a lot of pressure for someone so inexperienced.

Naysmith - Had little to do when he came on, looked ok. Should have taken out the boy at the end before he got to Langfield to dive (I don't see why he would have dived as it was easier to stay on feet and scored, I'd have thought).

All in all, though the team didn't do enough to threaten Samson's goal after the early pressure and defensive/goalkeeping errors proved costly given that we largely dominated possession.

Massively disappointed.

Did not understand why he took Magennis off as he made a big difference when pushed upfront. We were fucking honking for large parts of that game though, why we played so many high balls is beyond me, as they were always going to mop them up.

Vernon - despite his goal - has got to be dropped for the County game. He just doesn't look sharp at all.

Credit to Smith for even having the balls to take that penalty, but really the older heads like Rae should have taken that responsibility imo

Cannot believe we lost to that crock of shite and that Goodwin is a fucking penis

Magennis was injured when he came off. Looks like he was communicating that to the bench shortly beforehand anyway.

I don't think swapping Fraser for Hayes was that big a deal in terms of the overall game as I think we had enough out there to win the game. Let down by a monumental fuck up for the second goal (didn't see the first as was just sitting down, boy next to me was fairly raging with Langfield though :dontknow: ). Anderson almost got caught out again when Thompson's header hit the post. Fuck knows what happened with the boys "dive" at the end. I thought Langfield got a bit of the ball and the man and it should have just been waved away.

Nae much to say about the pens. Hughes is out by a few inches and Smith's was well saved.

And Van Zanten's a cunt. Kicked out at Fraser whilst he was on the deck. The prick.

Right down the front of the stand where Anderson lost the ball. Langfield was shouting "Time" at him. I'm sorry, but from what I understand, time was the last thing to be shouting at him in that position.

Even up until Anderson tried to clear it Langfield was screaming it at him!

I had a rare time where I could fully concentrate on Langfield when we were shooting towards the RDS as I was in the SS Section X. His communication really is dire. Various times the ball came in to the box, where players were looking for info from him to what was happening in the box and he was offering fuck all.

For me move on. The improvement is continuing but the weak links are all

too apparent. Vernon MUST be dropped. He's pathetic. As for the goalkeeper situation I'm fucked if ican see light at the end of the tunnel before January.

Our first choice keeper is the worst player in the SPL, our second choice is an untested youngster. Dangerous combination. Our third choice is nothing short of a mental

lunatic.

Other than that and the fact it's clear Gav Rae can't play 2 games in a week and Chris Clark being er well Chris Clark I'm actually quite pleased at overall outlook at Pittodrie just now. That doesnt chance after tonight's smash and grab.

To think some were advocating a new deal for Brown.

Some decent football when ball was played on the deck but resorted to panic with long high ball nonsense.

Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever.

Why we constantly play long & high balls i don't understand. Sorry but we aren't that sort of team and the players should know that surely by now

Don't know what Brown was thinking at various points today first and foremost. Resting one of our two players of the season in such a big game is just stupid. Having Magennis and Robertson as full backs puts far too much strain on the defensive side of the team. One can be looked after and protected, but both can't. All St Mirren's good play came down against Magennis when he was at right back. He did serve some purpose when moved up top, more so than Vernon who looked dead on his feet from the start. Why Magennis went off, I don't know. Why McGinn was the lone forward in extra time when punts were still the order of the day, I don't know. Enough about that though, the players:

Langers - Fuck sake for both goals. Especially the second. Hibs was maybe acceptable as he could score anywhere. This angle is so ridiculous, there is only one place he is scoring it and Langers should be covering it.

Anderson - Looks knackered. Dallied for St Mirren's second. Not a good day for him

Magennis - When St Mirren were getting in behind, it was always the left wing. Positional awareness is lacking and was a fundamental issue in both goals. A proper right back would have dealt with both. Up top he caused issues and won some high balls. Yet again in the right place at the end of a match to get a goal. His power and pace would have been useful up front in extra time against a tired defence...

Robertson - Did alright, but some bad decision making going forward, and was helped out/saved by Reynolds a few times.

Osbourne - Should have started at right back. Had a reasonable game, despite being moved around a lot. Still put in a great shift in extra time, despite his groin/hamstring injury appearing to hae made a re-appearance.

Rae - Decent enough first 45, dead on his feet after. Game passed him by, should never have been on at the end.

Hughes - Reasonable contribution at times, popping up all over the pitch, distributing well. Anonymous at other times, (game bypassed our central midfield for considerable parts of the second half). Penalty was trying to be too smart when we needed someone to get the first one scored.

Hayes - Best player on the pitch first 45 minutes probably. Obviously not fit, faded second half, completely out of the game in extra time.

McGinn - Livewire. Should have done better with the chance in the first half of extra time. Was constantly involved throughout the game though and had some decent play.

Vernon - Him being on encouraged the long ball, but he won none. Dallied on all the ball when he did get in. Says something when Magennis looked exponentially better than him up top. His goal was a pretty awful header and all down to a Samson slip. Something doesn't seem right with him, after a couple of better performances a few weeks back.

Smith - Constant threat and good on the ball. Should have been on for Rae. Shame about the penalty, a lot of pressure for someone so inexperienced.

Naysmith - Had little to do when he came on, looked ok. Should have taken out the boy at the end before he got to Langfield to dive (I don't see why he would have dived as it was easier to stay on feet and scored, I'd have thought).

All in all, though the team didn't do enough to threaten Samson's goal after the early pressure and defensive/goalkeeping errors proved costly given that we largely dominated possession.

Massively disappointed.

Very good post. Some excellent points made. Still some way to go before consistency and quality is at acceptable levels.

Cammy Smith was the only player of any use tonight, penalty miss aside.

The rest were awful.

Poor tactics - why punt the ball high to Vernon?. I could have sworn we were playing at times a 4-3-2 with one winger.

Give McManus or Smith a shotty up top. Would also start blending Jordan Brown into the team more - Rae and Hughes won't last the season injury free and Chris Clark is shit.

Massively disappointed.

Have a plus 1.

I was in section x too.

So our view on the game is similar.

Agree with most of initial post but crowd was numbers wise poor but ok vocally at times.

Langfield is shite and so are Robertson and Magennis at full back. Actually thought Reynolds was shite for 75 mins but came onto game later in.

Mcginn and Fraser looked good but that was shocking to watch. I think at mirren probably deserved win as it defo wasn't a dive at the end.

Feel kind of similar to how I felt after hibs semi final, deflated but was kind of expecting it. Shit night

First things first, a half decent keeper would have saved both St Mirren goals, I dunno what the f*ck he was thinking about at the first one and beaten again at his near post for the second...............from my view right in line in the mainer it looked a stick on spot kick and possible a red card as well late on in extra time

Much as I hate to admit it, Broown was schooled tactics wise last night by Lennon, they targetted Josh as the weak link and it worked, whilst our tactics seemed to largely consist of lumpin the ball up to Vernon who was marked by two giant CH's

Canna really believe that Broon went to a 4141 formation in extra time (well aye I can really with his history).........St Mirren after losing the late goal were there for the taking but we let them settle again

Penalties?............I couldnt have been the only one in the ground who feared the worst

I am not too despondant as the signs are there that there is still VAST improvement on the last few years.

I think there wasn't too much problems with the tactics but the personnel could have been a bit different. McGinn came on to a great game as did others who decided to wake up with 80 minutes played.

From my seat in the RDS Langfield was more culpable at first goal than second. May well feel different when see it on tv but at the time felt it was a great strike and credit to the striker (unlike the Doyle Hibs one).

Penalties well... not sure I'd have picked a lad that has never scored for the club or his previous club as the lad to take the first one but heyho. Although well done to those that volunteered to take one. Probably feel that Rae and Anderson should both have volunteered (clearly at least one didn't) but again, nevermind.

Onwards to the league business and it will be well and truely forgotten about if we can either win the next two or go undefeated in the next three.

Every man and his dog could see that the changes needed to come right after (or ever at) half time. We were playing a poor team, so for me, changing to 4-4-2 with Fraser and Hayes wide was the obvious choice. We eventually got to that towards the end of the game and we created chances. Pa Broon has to take the blame for that result.

And taking 10 men back for a corner is horrendous. Just invites pressure and encourages the opposing team to attack. Everytime we did that last night, and got it cleared, there were no players up challenging and the ball and we were immediately under pressure again.