The ghost of pele Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Chris Katongo has made the final 5 man short list along with the likes of Drogba, Ba and Toure. Did we not almost sign him a few years back? If we had him and Ferrie bodde prior to his injury we could have been some team. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Oh absolutely. He's just been living the dream in the German lower leagues and playing in China since we failed to get him. He captained the winning team in the nations cup which was a great underdog story... didn't think he looked that great though. Link to comment
Walt Flanagan's Dog Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Did he (or his agent) not fanny about a lot on this deal? I seem to remember something along the lines of us offering him a deal and his agent going to other clubs (I want to say Rangers but I may be confusing this deal with the Joe Lapira one, and Dundee United). Link to comment
muir Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Did he (or his agent) not fanny about a lot on this deal? I seem to remember something along the lines of us offering him a deal and his agent going to other clubs (I want to say Rangers but I may be confusing this deal with the Joe Lapira one, and Dundee United). He was at Jomo Cosmos in South Africa when Jimmy took us on tour there. I think the chat was that we wanted him to come on trial but I think he (or his agent) thought he was too good to go on trial. He then signed for Brondby in Denmark instead. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I remember it looked like Dundee United were gonna sign him at one point. Joseph Lapira hahaha Link to comment
tup Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Half these lads dinna even ken the rules of football so it canna be hard to make the shortlist for player of the year, a modicum of common sense and football ability should suffice. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Ask Zaire fitba team what happens when a free kick is given and the ref blows his whistle... Haha that was a classic. Poor cunt had no idea why he got booked either. Link to comment
tup Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Probably didna even ken what a 'booking' was. He'd have just assumed he was heading for the pot. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Zaire were very naive that tournament. It was those cunts that got Scotland knocked out due to not being able to smash a pile of goals past them. That and Billy Bremner missing a sitter against Brazil. Link to comment
tup Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 They've come a long way since then. These days it's the coloured lads accusing the ref, with their fancy hairdos. Back then it was microphone heads a go-go, everyone one of them black as tar, coming at you in the tunnel like 22 sets of teeth and fingernails. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 almost that blue-black colour. bones through there noses, exciting all the females. Link to comment
tup Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 True, so black they were blue, lips like rubber dinghys, sinister. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 The Zaire player did it to time waste. Apparently after getting hammered in their last game the president of Zaire told the players if they got beat by more than 3 goals by Brazil they would never see their families again! Savage Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 African Cup of nations two years on the bounce is it? Notice Scotland couldn't even qualify for that. Cape Verde could. No wonder Levein got his jotters. Link to comment
tup Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Robert Mugabe was a big Rangers man back in the day. Avid ESPN subscriber. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Robert Mugabe was a big Rangers man back in the day. Avid ESPN subscriber. El Hadji Diouf also a big hun. Edit: Haha I forgot he actually played for them, I just said that because he's a prick. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 African Cup of nations two years on the bounce is it? Notice Scotland couldn't even qualify for that. Cape Verde could. No wonder Levein got his jotters. Here's one for you then. How come Hapoel Tel Aviv get to play in Europa Cup and Champion's league games but Israel try to qualify for the World Cup in the Oceania groups? Something nae right there. Link to comment
tup Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 El Hadji Diouf also a big hun. Edit: Haha I forgot he actually played for them, I just said that because he's a prick. Idi Amin used to eat people for breakfast before settling down to an afternoon of listening to the Rangers game on Sportsound with his favourite commentator, David Begg. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Here's one for you then. How come Hapoel Tel Aviv get to play in Europa Cup and Champion's league games but Israel try to qualify for the World Cup in the Oceania groups? Something nae right there. Is there a joke in there I'm missing? Don't want to bite.... Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Idi Amin used to eat people for breakfast before settling down to an afternoon of listening to the Rangers game on Sportsound with his favourite commentator, David Begg. Charles Taylor used to have the lads round to his gaff to tune into Sportscene with Dougie Donnelly to catch up on the Rangers highlights. You don't want to know what he did to the poor locals when they got beat... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Is there a joke in there I'm missing? Don't want to bite.... No. Israel are in the Oceania groups. Tel Aviv play in Europe. It's fucking ridiculous. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 No. Israel are in the Oceania groups. Tel Aviv play in Europe. It's fucking ridiculous. They're in Northern Ireland's group. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 They're in Northern Ireland's group. Are they? FFS. It does seem a touch strange now I think of it. I probably meant the Asia groups but they're obviously nae in them either. Some country got moved recently I'm sure of it. Those pesky Israelis will be at the bottom of all of this anyway no doubt. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Australia play in Asia now. Found it too easy to win the Oceania cup or whatever they call it, so wanted more of a challenge. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 It's a disgrace that the Israelis are allowed to play in European competition. Ban the fuckers from international sport just like the South Africans were. 2 Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Are they? FFS. It does seem a touch strange now I think of it. I probably meant the Asia groups but they're obviously nae in them either. Some country got moved recently I'm sure of it. Those pesky Israelis will be at the bottom of all of this anyway no doubt.Are you not getting mixed up with Iran there Boofs? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 24, 2012 Share Posted November 24, 2012 Australia play in Asia now. Found it too easy to win the Oceania cup or whatever they call it, so wanted more of a challenge. Thanks Foster. I knew someone had changed continents. That was driving me batty last night trying to remember who it was. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 24, 2012 Share Posted November 24, 2012 Chris Katongo has made the final 5 man short list along with the likes of Drogba, Ba and Toure. Did we not almost sign him a few years back? If we had him and Ferrie bodde prior to his injury we could have been some team. We were nowhere near signing him. He didn't even come here on trial. The club, and Cosmos, said they were going to bring him to Pittodrie in order to get games and put himself in the European shop window, and at the same time were going to forge links with Jomo in order to bring the cream of young African boys to Aberdeen. Same as we were going to do after the Egypt tour. The club talks a good game, but actually getting shit done in a professional and efficient manner is another matter entirely. Link to comment