granite sheep Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Well, apparently on the 22nd of December, 2012, the Mayan Long Count calendar finishes, and the end o the world comes about. Fit are ye doin for it? Assuming ye believe in such stuff. Me? I'll be drinking through my hangover carried through fae Mad Friday, if armageddon comes, well, it can get right to fuck. Thoughts? 1 Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 22, 2012 Share Posted November 22, 2012 Doom can suck my cock hzaha Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 it's some wee village in the south west of france that the four horsmen will gallop in and kill all the pro-lifers. it's got a lone mountain nearby, that is similar to the one in encounters of the 3rd (4th)? kind. so it must be there. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Ahh fuck! I was looking forward to getting an xbox 720 next year. Pain in the hole this end of the world.. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Well, apparently on the 22nd of December, 2012, the Mayan Long Count calendar finishes, and the end o the world comes about. Fit are ye doin for it? Assuming ye believe in such stuff. Me? I'll be drinking through my hangover carried through fae Mad Friday, if armageddon comes, well, it can get right to fuck. Thoughts? Been following this for the last few years, and read all the conspiracy stories pretty much to death. There's a disturbing number of unrelated End of the World 'Prophesies' that all seem to converge around December 2012, which in itself is kind of worrying. But I've come to the conclusion that it's pretty much all horseshit. The popular Scenarios-O-Doom are; * Mayan Calendar Ends. Ergo the world ends. - Unlikely. The calendar on my fridge expires at the end of 2012 too. I'll just put up a new one for 2013. The expiration of a calendar in no way equates to the end of the world. * Niburu - A giant planet/Brown Dwarf Star orbits into the vicinity of the Earth once every 3500 years or so. And we're all going to die as a result of Niburu's proximity. A feasible scenario, as expounded by Zecharia Stichins. Only problem at this point being there's no sign of Niburu at all, and for it to reach us by Dec 21st 2012 it would have to be moving at a ridiculous speed. A speed that would, according to scientists, have to far exceed an object's escape velocity. This basically means that anything travelling as fast as Niburu would have to be travelling would have long ago been slingshot out of our Solar System and into the depth of space. So, Niburu ain't happening. * Wall-O-Popes - There's only room for one more picture of one more Pope on the Wall-O-Popes at the Vatican. When the last picture goes up, it's tatties. No more Popes = no more World. - Horseshit. Like my calendar, when I run out of room to put up pictures on a wall... I put them on a different wall. Limited wallspace in no way equates to the end of the world. * Project Blue Beam - NASA-made holograms will trick us into thinking either a/ Aliens are landing, b/ Jesus has returned c/ Something else. We'll all throw ourselves to the floor in penitence, and the New World Order, headed by the actual Antichrist, will take over the world, bringing a new Dark Age and a LITERAL Hell on Earth. - Hahahahahahahaha * We'll align with the centre of the galaxy. And we'll all die. - Unlikely... we've aligned with the centre of the galaxy multiple times and the world didn't end. So, yeah, more horseshit. * Pole Shift - North becomes South, the magnetic shield around the Earth dissipates. We all fry. - Not going to happen any time soon. * Seismic disturbances, ie Yellowstone blows - I guess that's possible. Though I think we'd be seeing a lot more seismic activity if it were about to blow. And when it does, yeah, we're all going to die. * Environmental catastrophe ie Global warming. - The most likely scenario, but that's not happening this year or in the next few years. In 20 years things will probably suck pretty bad, though. We'll still be here December 22nd, though. That much is fairly certain. 3 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I'm holding off buying any Christmas presents just in case. Think that's maybe the Aberdonian coming out in me, yer nivver sure. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Well, apparently on the 22nd of December, 2012, the Mayan Long Count calendar finishes, and the end o the world comes about. Fit are ye doin for it? Assuming ye believe in such stuff. Me? I'll be drinking through my hangover carried through fae Mad Friday, if armageddon comes, well, it can get right to fuck. Thoughts? I've bet 1000 quid with Ladbrokes that it happens. Can't wait to pick up my winnings. Oh hud on. 2 Link to comment
360 Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Coral and William Hill are both better than Ladbrokes Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Coral and William Hill are both better than Ladbrokes Better at what? Eating cheese? Making snow angels? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I'm holding off buying any Christmas presents just in case. Think that's maybe the Aberdonian coming out in me, yer nivver sure. Aye, Mrs Byen's birthday is on the day itself. It's a dilemma Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Aye, Mrs Byen's birthday is on the day itself. It's a dilemma Presumably it's happening at midnight as that's when the calendar finishes so with that in mind the world will end when Christmas Island/Kiribati and Samoa hit midnight. With that in mind you're safe to not buy a present until the last minute as they're a good 11 hours ahead of Noggie time so if this comes off you'll be wiped out at about 1pm local time (Not sure what time it is in Bergen at the moment)the day before. If you're still alive come 4pm you're safe as houses and can nip down to the shops for the present. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Aye, Mrs Byen's birthday is on the day itself. It's a dilemma how old is he? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Presumably it's happening at midnight as that's when the calendar finishes so with that in mind the world will end when Christmas Island/Kiribati and Samoa hit midnight. With that in mind you're safe to not buy a present until the last minute as they're a good 11 hours ahead of Noggie time so if this comes off you'll be wiped out at about 1pm local time (Not sure what time it is in Bergen at the moment)the day before. If you're still alive come 4pm you're safe as houses and can nip down to the shops for the present. Eh like yer thinking Boof. Gonna have tae take a leap of faith and buy the wrapping paper now tho. Eh will never make the mistake of puttin her birthday present in paper full of Santas again Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 Eh like yer thinking Boof. Gonna have tae take a leap of faith and buy the wrapping paper now tho. Eh will never make the mistake of puttin her birthday present in paper full of Santas again Any proper Scotsman would have saved the wrapping paper from his own present and used that for his wife. You've been exiled too long and have lost your touch. 1 Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I heard from a reliable source (my kids) that when they calculated the date they forgot about leap years, so the calendar and the end of the world happened last year sometime? Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vw9K0tI9mxc Classic rant. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I like Brian Cox. For a guffie cunt he's a'richt. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I heard from a reliable source (my kids) that when they calculated the date they forgot about leap years, so the calendar and the end of the world happened last year sometime? What happened was that we converted to the Gregorian Calendar from the Julian Calendar. So, 21-12-12 in new Gregorian money is in fact 21-12-08 in old Julian. Basically, the Apocalypse should have happened 4 years ago according to the Mayan Calendar. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 23, 2012 Share Posted November 23, 2012 I wouldn't mind dying if everyone else did, I just don't want to die when others around me can go on enjoying life. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Aberdeen academic discusses 'the end of world' theory I was thinking of going along to this tomorrow night. Might be quite an interesting discussion on the subject. Link to comment