Stoney Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Got into a discussion last night about the thread i posted yesterday about our midweek form, guy i was speaking too said our form in general at home under brown has been rank. First half season was browns best period here Won 7 from first 15 home games. Since that time (start of last season) Played 31, Won only 9 (just over 29 %) 13 Draws (just under 42%) Lost 9 (Just over 29%) Why is our home form so terrible? Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 28, 2012 Author Share Posted November 28, 2012 Truthfully Stoneward the 429th... I think we play our part in that. We as fans are pish when it comes to getting an atmosphere going. You wouldn't believe Aberdeen are actually playing well right now, and are high up the league - because the fans are still deflated. We have no creativity when it comes to songs. Stand Free and Aberdee x 1000 isn't cutting it anymore. There is nothing from us, so we play our part. So the question is, what will bring us together again? Aye im sure that plays a part too, although i think the fans have been better this season! More positive, atmosphere in general is poor! It was never great during the early 00's but it was fine! Old firm games were always loud enough! Scottish football in general has this problem though. Link to comment
K-9 Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Our sit in and hit on counter tactics don't seem to work at home and far more suited to away games. Need plan b at home from the start rather than after we go goal down and only then come out. Link to comment
zander Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 We are far too easy exposed by teams sitting in up here and looking to hit us on the break. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 as regards the fans t'was ever thus unfortunately. Honestly don't know what is needed to change it but some success would no doubt help. I read Fortress in a defensive way. Nick a goal and close the shop - the well proven W S Myth approach to modern football. We will never be able to do this without recognised and capable full backs. Even the back 3 only works if they've a midfield in front of them and, having gone one up like last night, the wing backs are prepared to do more back than wing. Mcginn can do neither and Josh isn't reliable enough for lock down. Naysmith on one side, anyone, stuart fucking kennedy out of retirement for instance on the other, Consi and a struggling Anderson in the middle with Reynolds in front and that game was ours. I've accepted last night on the grounds of the team we had to put out, and then change, and then change again. Saturday eeech. As I said in the other thread let it snow let it snow let it snow. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 So an atmosphere doesn't inspire players? Of course it does. Aberdeen fans are pish when it comes to getting an atmosphere going. All of us. There is nothing from us at all. Did you not think it was decent enough last night?Especially at 1-1 and 2-1 the whole ground was signing at points. Link to comment
Henry Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Especially at 1-1 and 2-1 the whole ground was signing at points. No wonder it was quiet. 2 Link to comment
zander Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 So an atmosphere doesn't inspire players? Of course it does. Aberdeen fans are pish when it comes to getting an atmosphere going. All of us. There is nothing from us at all. You say this nearly every time we get beat. What is your suggestions? We've tried Ultras groups,Singing sections etc nothing seems to work. A good team on the park will get atmosphere. Link to comment
GK55 Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Could hear a pin drop last night at the game - the atmosphere is terrible. However, not the fans fault in the slightest. Give us good performances, wins, and the atmosphere will return. 1 Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Hate the atmosphere at Todders - would much rather go to an away game - The game at Morton this year was a great laugh, with us reprobates next to the Home fans a great bit of banter ! Pittodrie at the the Celtic game was about as packed as it's going to get - hardly a song sung.... WOuld be nice to see the club and fans get together to try something out - at the very least to try and get some new songs sung and get everyone together... Who's up for the Aberdeen Football Choir ? Number 1 for Christmas with In Your Glasgow Slum...? Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Could hear a pin drop last night at the game - the atmosphere is terrible. However, not the fans fault in the slightest. Give us good performances, wins, and the atmosphere will return. Totally agree. The fans are the paying customers, give them full value for their money and they will cheer. Singing has always been for the hard core, though. Plus the fact there has been so many anti-climax let downs over the last 20 years. Lack of confidence in the team is also a factor. Link to comment
RUL Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 The fans are terrible and some are clearly mad. Their was a mad bird behind me screaming every time we broke forward. Only terracing could generate an atmosphere, at st mirren at home some numptey told me to sit down when we broke quickly. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted November 28, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted November 28, 2012 Truthfully Stoneward the 429th... I think we play our part in that. We as fans are pish when it comes to getting an atmosphere going. You wouldn't believe Aberdeen are actually playing well right now, and are high up the league - because the fans are still deflated. We have no creativity when it comes to songs. Stand Free and Aberdee x 1000 isn't cutting it anymore. There is nothing from us, so we play our part. So the question is, what will bring us together again? Too simplistic and giving them a get out of jail free card. Every home support is shite. 2 Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Too simplistic and giving them a get out of jail free card. Every home support is shite. A decent performance on the pitch will generate a good atmosphere from the support.Management and players are paid well enough to go out and earn the plaudits. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted November 28, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted November 28, 2012 A decent performance on the pitch will generate a good atmosphere from the support.Management and players are paid well enough to go out and earn the plaudits. Old school response and on the money. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Bring back the Copenhagen Horns and RU displays. 2 Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Too simplistic and giving them a get out of jail free card. Every home support is shite. Agreed.Most clubs are the same.The only time our home support gets excited is when the ref is perceived to being a cock towards us. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Bring back the Copenhagen Horns and RU displays. you can stick yet tooteroos up yer arse!! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 So an atmosphere doesn't inspire players? Of course it does. Aberdeen fans are pish when it comes to getting an atmosphere going. All of us. There is nothing from us at all. I used to buy into this pish when I was only going to 5 or 6 games a season. Now I've been to every home game this season I dont think its the case at all. Last night, for example, the whole stadium was behind the team and they threw it away after going 2-1 up. The fans backed them at 0-1, 1-1, 2-1, 2-2 and lost patience when we went down 2-3. They had the backing, they had the encouragement yet they fell asleep and then bottled it. I'd say our biggest problem is that we have 2 or 3 players that have no bottle and cant handle the pressure situations. We've fallen apart in semi's, in front of large home crowds and now on both occasions where we could've went top of the league. Bottle is our issue, lack of it. 1 Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Still a long way before the stay away fans start coming back in my opinion. Too often has the team failed to deliver when it really matters. Twice in the space of 3 weeks we have had the chance to go top of the league and twice we have blown it. I would be interested to see when we last delivered in a match of real significance. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Still a long way before the stay away fans start coming back in my opinion. Too often has the team failed to deliver when it really matters. Twice in the space of 3 weeks we have had the chance to go top of the league and twice we have blown it. I would be interested to see when we last delivered in a match of real significance. Probably the day we beat dead rangers to qualify for Europe. Link to comment
Pash Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 I used to buy into this pish when I was only going to 5 or 6 games a season. Now I've been to every home game this season I dont think its the case at all. Last night, for example, the whole stadium was behind the team and they threw it away after going 2-1 up. The fans backed them at 0-1, 1-1, 2-1, 2-2 and lost patience when we went down 2-3. They had the backing, they had the encouragement yet they fell asleep and then bottled it. I'd say our biggest problem is that we have 2 or 3 players that have no bottle and cant handle the pressure situations. We've fallen apart in semi's, in front of large home crowds and now on both occasions where we could've went top of the league. Bottle is our issue, lack of it. Ding ding ding we have a winner folks. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 I'd say our biggest problem is that we have 2 or 3 players that have no bottle and cant handle the pressure situations. We've fallen apart in semi's, in front of large home crowds and now on both occasions where we could've went top of the league. Bottle is our issue, lack of it. Does this just apply to the current team. or is this a consistent weakness? Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Problem for a while now which is why Broon sweeping the old deadwood oot the door has made a difference (except one obvious example). I'd be interested to know who the young lads, Masson, Brown, even Mcgennis etc are looking to in the dressing room ahead of saturday's game. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 double post - erased Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Problem for a while now which is why Broon sweeping the old deadwood oot the door has made a difference (except one obvious example). I'd be interested to know who the young lads, Masson, Brown, even Mcgennis etc are looking to in the dressing room ahead of saturday's game. This lack of bottle/deadwood theory is an interesting one, and was apparent as a legacy from the Calderwood era, but I would have thought it was just history now. Unless there is something deeply embedded in the Aberdeen culture which means it re-establishes itself on a regular basis. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Management has to take a great deal of responsibility. Brown bottled it against Celtic. Last night not so much and injuries didn't help. The Celtic game tactics the other week were unforgivable. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 home support, not just aberdeen, can seem like a chore for some of them. like a job, something they have to do. woe betide any smart alec with any notion of having a good time. not on my watch, no sireee! Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted November 28, 2012 Share Posted November 28, 2012 Oops wrong thread... Link to comment