Liam Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 8 years to the day that Zero died. Brilliant football player, and as a kid was my all time hero. Remember meeting him a couple times at Pittodrie and being in complete awe of him, and remember him having a lot of time to spend with myself. Always came across as a complete gentleman. RIP Zero 2 Link to comment
OddJob Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 8 years to the day that Zero died. Brilliant football player, and as a kid was my all time hero. Remember meeting him a couple times at Pittodrie and being in complete awe of him, and remember him having a lot of time to spend with myself. Always came across as a complete gentleman. RIP Zero8 years I was surprised at how much adulation he was given as a player as i thought he was overrated, however as a person he was indeed a top guy Link to comment
Ke1t Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 8 years I was surprised at how much adulation he was given as a player as i thought he was overrated, however as a person he was indeed a top guy Yeah, he showed flashes of... I'm not going to say brilliance but flashes of very goodness. A lot of enthusiasm for the game, and certainly a pretty good player. His untimely death, unfortunately, doesn't elevate his ability in retrospect. Not a legend, but the kind of player we missed particularly in the Diamond Years. Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Was a very skillful player and always had something extra about him. However, I don't think he showed it enough. I will always remember him running from halfway to roll the ball into the net against Hibs - brilliant! Very sad indeed. Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 RIP to a true AFC legend. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 As Kelt says, showed rare flashes of goodness but in no way was he a great player, as great players do it consistently. Not fit to lace Jess' boots. Very sad story though. RIP Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 RIP to a true AFC legend.Settle. I do realise you are of a much younger generation and need something to cling to from a pretty unforgettable era, but a true AFC legend stretches it way too far. 3 3 Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Think he got targeted by defenders in this country. Remember he got injured and didn't look the same player when he came back. Provided some great moments but I agree not a patch on Jess, who is probably my all time favourite Dons player that I can remember watching. Link to comment
Miglo don Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 I ran on the pitch after the 2000 Scottish cup final and got his boots, gave him a bear hug also. Remember his hat trick at dens and goal at love street in Scottish cup. R.I.P. Zero! Link to comment
Tommy Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Loved his splashing in the puddle goal celebration at Dens, his cup goal v st mirren and one against Hibs. Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment
Redstar Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 As Kelt says, showed rare flashes of goodness but in no way was he a great player, as great players do it consistently. Not fit to lace Jess' boots. Very sad story though. RIPPoor comparison chief...Jess was a player with zero 1 8 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Poor comparison chief...Jess was a player with zero 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Poor comparison chief...Jess was a player with zero Link to comment
OddJob Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Poor comparison chief...Jess was a player with zero Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 RIP to a true AFC legend. Settle doon loon. No way was Zero a 'Legend'.A good player yes, but his good to great performances were few and far between.In fact you could describe his time at Aberdeen as underwhelming on the whole. Still, RIP min Link to comment
Redstar Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Here was me thinking its what he does on the pitch that really counts. You must think Ben Thornley was a superstar.Wooosh 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Yeah, liked him at times but his attitude was stinking at other times. He was no Aberdeen legend in my eyes and the Jess comment from above was just bizarre. Link to comment
caledonia Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 As Kelt says, showed rare flashes of goodness but in no way was he a great player, as great players do it consistently. Not fit to lace Jess' boots. Very sad story though. RIP Being old enough to see some of the great skillful players of the past for me Jess just does not do it.I did see glimpses of his true potential but for me he was far to inconsistent and i do not think he was as good as Zero either. But i suppose different icons for different eras as a lot of the younger guys on here wont have seen the likes of Zoltan Varga, Arthur Graham, Gordon Strachan or even the most skillfull player ever at pittodrie - Dougie Bell Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Appeared to be one of the good guys off the pitch but on the pitch, some flashes of brilliance here and there but not consistent enough. Can't believe it's been so long. Didn't MT do something at his memorial service at Pittodrie? Link to comment
Pash Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Had his #47 and #0 shirts when I was a youngster, was wearing the 47 one under my Donside top when I took a pen at Dens Park in 2000, think he stormed off in that game cos he got subbed?!?! Was last game of the season and we won 2-0. R.I.P. Zero Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 WoooshWoosh it up yer arse. Dinna try and backtrack by pretending ye made a cunt o' yersel on purpose. 1 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Being old enough to see some of the great skillful players of the past for me Jess just does not do it.I did see glimpses of his true potential but for me he was far to inconsistent and i do not think he was as good as Zero either. But i suppose different icons for different eras as a lot of the younger guys on here wont have seen the likes of Zoltan Varga, Arthur Graham, Gordon Strachan or even the most skillfull player ever at pittodrie - Dougie BellI'm old enough to have saw us throughout the 80's and Jess is up there with the best of them.In my opinion only. Link to comment
Redstar Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Woosh it up yer arse. Dinna try and backtrack by pretending ye made a cunt o' yersel on purpose.You just don't get it do you?...I guess that 1 Link to comment
zander Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Say a cult hero would fit him best. One of the players I idolised when I was a kid. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 You just don't get it do you?...I guess that Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Say a cult hero would fit him best. One of the players I idolised when I was a kid. We often have this discussion on the bus, about how 'idols' over the years have got shitter and shitter. Link to comment
caledonia Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 You just don't get it do you?...I guess that Link to comment
caledonia Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 We often have this discussion on the bus, about how 'idols' over the years have got shitter and shitter. Moves along the same lines as the team really. Link to comment
Tommy Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 We often have this discussion on the bus, about how 'idols' over the years have got shitter and shitter.Aye, it's a shame for younger fans who say Anderson is a legend when theyhaven't seen a proper legend.Obviously not their fault but I'm so grateful to have seen many legends playfor us.As someone said, Zero may well have been a cult hero for the short time hewas here but nowhere near a legend. Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment
caledonia Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 He's never mentioned it if he has ok give me a clue because trawling his posts i can not find anythingNot that it matters to the topic in hand i was just curious Link to comment