tup Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 I heard this twice on Saturday but I refuse to join the chorus. I think this song is now defunct, much like the club it refers to. I therefore implore you all to desist from singing it. It makes us look like hypocrites. You could change the first line to Celtic, and make it we hate sevco too, they're shite. But the original must be dispensed with. 3 Link to comment
Tommy Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 I heard this twice on Saturday but I refuse to join the chorus. I think this song is now defunct, much like the club it refers to. I therefore implore you all to desist from singing it. It makes us look like hypocrites. You could change the first line to Celtic, and make it we hate sevco too, they're shite. But the original must be dispensed with. What was their reaction when you told them to STFU ? Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 Aberdeen fans are incapable these days of changing/making up new songs. Anything new or original that is ever sung in a pub is quickly drowned out by the old, uninventive stuff. For a support that coined the famous Who's yer fucking Dadi? chant this is affa depressing. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 Well I think, when we are insistent that Glasgow Rangers don't exist, and in the eyes of the law they do not no matter what these delusional bastards will continue to preach, then it's daft to sing about hating them. Because they don't fucking exist. You canna hate something that disna exist. We hated Glasgow Rangers just sounds daft. So the song is not fit for purpose. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 Well I think, when we are insistent that Glasgow Rangers don't exist, and in the eyes of the law they do not no matter what these delusional bastards will continue to preach, then it's daft to sing about hating them. Because they don't fucking exist. You canna hate something that disna exist. We hated Glasgow Rangers just sounds daft. So the song is not fit for purpose. Correct. I join the crusade to right this wrong. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 We hate Glasgow CelticWe used to hate Rangers too, THEY'RE DEED We hate Dundee Uniteddddd, but Aberdeen we love you. if we're going to get all pedantic about it wouldnt it really be "but Aberdeen we kind a like you." Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 if we're going to get all pedantic about it wouldnt it really be "but Aberdeen we kind a like you." Are you trying to say that my objection to this song is pedantic? Dinna go all Daily Record on us. Link to comment
zander Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 I must have sang this at some point this season, pretty disgusted in myself. Will stop from this point in until its replaced. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 Could change it to Brora 2 Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 Could change it to Brora That's not a bad shout. It would certainly highlight the absurdity of the media et al continuing to repeatedly INSIST that this new club is simply Rangers and that nothing has changed and that the law of the land is simply a convenient way of shedding obscene amounts of debt and that we're 140 so we are by the way and look how many titles n'at we've won etc et-fucking-cetera. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 Are you trying to say that my objection to this song is pedantic? Dinna go all Daily Record on us. Just because something/someone is dead/no longer exists that doesnt necessarily mean the hatred automatically disappears. The fact its sung to land of hope and glory fucks me off a lot more than people deciding their hatred for a dead club is still very much alive. Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 Just because something/someone is dead/no longer exists that doesnt necessarily mean the hatred automatically disappears. The fact its sung to land of hope and glory fucks me off a lot more than people deciding their hatred for a dead club is still very much alive. You cannot hate something which does not exist. Unless you yourself are nuts. Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 They're dead but i still fucking hate them!! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 You cannot hate something which does not exist. Unless you yourself are nuts. People can hate whatever they want, dead or alive. Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 You can remember that you hated them. Past tense. You cannot hate them in the here and now. The song is in the present tense. Therefore it's simply wrong. Capiche? Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 You can remember that you hated them. Past tense. You cannot hate them in the here and now. The song is in the present tense. Therefore it's simply wrong. Capiche? We hated Glasgow Rangers,We hate Celtic noo,We hate Dundee United,But Aberdeen we love you Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 Nope, that suggests we didn't hate Celtic before We hate all glasweigans,we hate dundonians too,We hate cunts from the capital, But Aberdeen we love you. Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 I think probably Cove Rangers is best. We hate Cove RangersWe hate Celtic tooWe hate Dundee UnitedHowever we love Aberdeen 1 Link to comment
robbojunior Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 We hate Elgin CityWe hate Celtic tooWe hate Dundee UnitedBut Aberdeen we love you. We don't hate the rangersThe diddy team in Div 3Cos we're in the Prem divisionyes Aberdeen we love you. Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 It's good that we all agree on this. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 It's good that we all agree on this. magic Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 11, 2012 Share Posted December 11, 2012 Singing at the fitba is gay anyway. Give me a pair of long johns, a travelling rug and a packet of humbugs any day. Link to comment
tup Posted December 11, 2012 Author Share Posted December 11, 2012 Give me a pair of long johns, a travelling rug and a packet of humbugs any day. sheepiekev please let boofon out of the headlock and give him his computer back Link to comment
dervish Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 We hate Glasgow Celtic,We ...pause...We hate Dundee Uniteddddd, but Aberdeen we love you! Link to comment