The Boofon Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 International Some flights to half decent locations would be a good way to kick off the new era. Link to comment
paddy Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Was hoping for: Darren Mackie International Airport Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Prestwick airport got landed with the tag line 'pure deid brilliant' (even though it's 35 miles south of Glasgow), so maybe Aberdeen will get 'Fit like' Link to comment
OddJob Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 International Some flights to half decent locations would be a good way to kick off the new era.They used to do flights to Barcelona which i'm surprised they stopped as i thought they would have been very popular. But aye you're right, some different locations would be a great start Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Second worst airport I've been in. A close second to Volgograd only because Volgograd had a dead dog in the bogs. If I ever find a dead dog in the bogs at ABZ it'll leapfrog above Volgograd. 1 1 Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Second worst airport I've been in. A close second to Volgograd only because Volgograd had a dead dog in the bogs. If I ever find a dead dog in the bogs at ABZ it'll leapfrog above Volgograd.It is a god awful airport. Fuck knows what they think changing the name will do. If you rebrand a shite the international shite it is still shite at the end of day. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Second worst airport I've been in. A close second to Volgograd only because Volgograd had a dead dog in the bogs. If I ever find a dead dog in the bogs at ABZ it'll leapfrog above Volgograd. Really? I don't mind it at all. Easy to get around. Clean. I wish they had wifi, but other than that.. God, spend time cooling your heels at Liberty International in NJ (where they don't even have electrical outlets everywhere, and you end up sitting on the floor grouped around a single outlet like a bunch of electronic vagrants with your laptop). Or really dirty grotty airports. I don't know. I don't see much wrong with ABZ, but i don't spend that much time there. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 It is a god awful airport. Fuck knows what they think changing the name will do. If you rebrand a shite the international shite it is still shite at the end of day. I guess it's cheaper to rename something than it is to fix it. As you say, adding the word EXTREME! to something doesn't make it any better if all you're doing is changing the signs. Aberdeen EXTREME INTERNATIONAL airport... of AWESOME! Now with DEAD DOGS! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Really? I don't mind it at all. Easy to get around. Clean. I wish they had wifi, but other than that.. God, spend time cooling your heels at Liberty International in NJ (where they don't even have electrical outlets everywhere, and you end up sitting on the floor grouped around a single outlet like a bunch of electronic vagrants with your laptop). Or really dirty grotty airports. I don't know. I don't see much wrong with ABZ, but i don't spend that much time there. I'm probably being harsh. I feel like being harsh today. Link to comment
Jones Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 You turn up 45 minutes to an hour before a flight. You check in and get on the plane. I've never waited any more than ten minutes to get my bags. Fuck all wrong with it. Agreed, been in plenty shittier airports as a petro-tourist. Link to comment
jassb Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 I don't mind it. They let me in without a passport from amsterdam once cos someone picked up my jacket with my passport in it when we were leaving the plane. Helped that I was able to show a scanned copy that I had on my laptop. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Fucking shyte airport, just travelled through there again this afternoon, canna get a seat, Q at the bar all the way into Boots, then when you get a seat down the bottom in departures there is the Q for gate 3 right through the seating area, CDG may run it close to being the shittest airport. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 8, 2013 Author Share Posted January 8, 2013 Fucking shyte airport, just travelled through there again this afternoon, canna get a seat, Q at the bar all the way into Boots, then when you get a seat down the bottom in departures there is the Q for gate 3 right through the seating area,CDG may run it close to being the shittest airport. CDG is the worst airport in the world by a long shot. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 CDG is the worst airport in the world by a long shot. Least you are fluent in the language... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 8, 2013 Author Share Posted January 8, 2013 Least you are fluent in the language... Hardly fluent. They are ignorant bastards even if you do speak in French anyway. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Kaunas airport is the worst I've been in, (funnily enough the one time I flew there was on a charter from Aberdeen airport, which was my one and only time there). The place only opened up for our flight to land and all that was there were loads of soldiers and some scary, half starved alsations. Link to comment
caledonia Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Not sure if they've finished extending the runway, but hopefully this'll lead to flights to places you'd actually want to go to, save trailing down to Glasgow or Edinburgh. Are they still doing this?EDIT JUST READ ITS BEEN DONE IN 2011 Link to comment
jassb Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Port Harcourt, Luanda, and Pointe Noire are all on a par for the shittiest airports I've been to. Aberdeen is a breeze compared to them. Link to comment
caledonia Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 What about Aberdeen International Football Club Link to comment
OddJob Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Fucking shyte airport, just travelled through there again this afternoon, canna get a seat, Q at the bar all the way into Boots, then when you get a seat down the bottom in departures there is the Q for gate 3 right through the seating area, CDG may run it close to being the shittest airport.That is a bloody shocking airport. The carry on we all had when we missed our connecting flight to Madrid for the Atletico game shows that. Complete incompetence and arrogance from Froggy cunts. Fuck them!!! Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 That is a bloody shocking airport. The carry on we all had when we missed our connecting flight to Madrid for the Atletico game shows that. Complete incompetence and arrogance from Froggy cunts. Fuck them!!! Only been there once, missed my connection to Kiev for going to the game in Ukraine few years back, sorted us on another plane nae bother, albeit via Berlin but still. ABZ is alright for what it is. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Aye, you're always guaranteed a warm welcome when you arrive in Aberdeen airport. Shithole that it is. Nowt worse than some jumped up fairmers boy fae just ootside inverrrruurrrrie in a uniform with a wee bit of power. I've been in plenty of airports with dross facilities, delays etc but nowhere make me feel less welcome than Aberdeen Airport. Link to comment
dervish Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 ABZ is not bad, bar place could do with being bigger and more staff. Tend to head through away down south a lot and cos of the line it's always risky getting food in time which is shite when you've been up since 6am worked then traveled and it's about 8pm and you know you'll not get any food when you get down the line. Wish the shitey eastern (also shite airline) lounge had free booze and or somewhere decent to get food a drink down that end is a fucking trek all the way back up between connections. Link to comment
Redstar Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Only been there once, missed my connection to Kiev for going to the game in Ukraine few years back, sorted us on another plane nae bother, albeit via Berlin but still. ABZ is alright for what it is.really REALLY The place is a fu*king embarrassment...International Airport serving the supposed Oil Capital of Europe...where are the flights to Houston , Dubai , Moscow...in fact anywhere that would be moderately useful to the International oil traveller...It's a poor excuse 2 Link to comment
zander Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Too small an airport not much they can do with it now. Much like the rest of Aberdeen infrastructure. Bourgas Bulgaria is nothing more than a shed. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 airports suck, hateful places. gatwick has a krispy kremes though. cdg is loony bin. the staff are feart of nobody, screw the customer is always right for them. Link to comment
dervish Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 airports suck, hateful places. gatwick has a krispy kremes though. cdg is loony bin. the staff are feart of nobody, screw the customer is always right for them. I mind heading through passport control "early" only to find about 1000 people trying to get through with the 20 or so passport control desks having literally one guy on it. Would have been a few missed planes that day.... quite a few pushy english twats greeting about it too "excuse me mate" (note: not "can we push in front please?") pushing past "aye right fuck off we're all late". Women crying and rugger twats not far behind them. Almost made it worth being in CDG... almost. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 the general public can be chronic sometimes. when you fly easy jet, you seem to think it's ba first class and don't understand it's a bus on wheels. the glamour of air travel. speedy boarding, ha ha. it's good when speedy boarding lets you first on the bus that runs you to the plane. one time, boarding at gatwick, we were half way on, phone rings, every cunt off, your plane has been commandeered to go to the dam. tough willies, here's a voucher for crisps and an oj. maybe if the tv cameras were there, someone would've kicked off. Link to comment
zander Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Used to fly easy jet all the time to Luton, laughable that speedy boarding thing biggest scam they pull IMO. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 8, 2013 Share Posted January 8, 2013 Second worst airport I've been in. A close second to Volgograd only because Volgograd had a dead dog in the bogs. If I ever find a dead dog in the bogs at ABZ it'll leapfrog above Volgograd. Why is it second worst? I imagine you've been to a lot of airports, just wondering, because I've been in lots and imo it's pretty good. You turn up 45 minutes to an hour before a flight. You check in and get on the plane. I've never waited any more than ten minutes to get my bags. Fuck all wrong with it. Exactly. Lost my luggage three times, but that's about it. Short taxi time especially when you land home from your travels is great also. And getting on and off the plane is quick. I take EPK's point about the queue for the bar, they could be done with another one I suppose. However people tend to turn up far too early for flights these days. Online check in means you don't have to be there 2 hours before but people still turn up 2 hours or more before. I think ABZ serves its purpose ok. It has some sunny destinations, granted it could have more. Having London, Amsterdam, Paris and Frankfurt means you can fly on anywhere in the world. However as 'oil capital of Europe' it really should have more oil related direct flights. Azerbaijan Airlines cancelled their thrice weekly flights to Baku a couple months back. There should be direct flights to Houston and no doubt some other places where you guys get put. Not sure if they've finished extending the runway, but hopefully this'll lead to flights to places you'd actually want to go to, save trailing down to Glasgow or Edinburgh. Finished a while ago. Guy at the airpark was telling me that the extension was primarily to allow exisitng planes to fly with more fuel onboard, it's not big enough for bigger planes. Not sure though And I agree re: CDG, an abortion of an airport. I don't know anyone with a good word to say about it. The whole airport is so illogically planned out. But at the end of the day, all airports are shit due to their association with delays, stress, tiredness etc. Link to comment