Question Of The Day

granite sheep

Had an affa fine supper o Cottage Pie wi steamed cabbage last night, and as you do, am farting so much I'm doin a mean impression o a motorbike wi nae silencer. But why is it that cabbage makes farts really fucking stink? It's so bad, am considering bottling it and selling it to the North Koreans as a weapon of mass destruction.

The Boofon will probably say I've been hoodwinked by the internet again.. but this makes sense. it is indigestible (although cabbage, broccoli and the like have some nutrient in them that's supposed to be good for you, so eat them anyway i'd say :thumbup1: )

The smell of farts comes from gas and mercaptans (other gases) in the mixture. These compounds contain sulfur. The more sulfur-rich foods you eat, the more sulfides and mercaptans will be made by the bacteria in you guts, and the more your farts will stink. Foods like cauliflower, eggs and meat are really bad for making stinky farts. Beans on the other hand, may make you fart a lot but they aren't usually the smelly kind.

http://www.kidzworld.com/article/473-the-science-of-farting

The Boofon will probably say I've been hoodwinked by the internet again.. but this makes sense. it is indigestible (although cabbage, broccoli and the like have some nutrient in them that's supposed to be good for you, so eat them anyway i'd say :thumbup1: )

The smell of farts comes from gas and mercaptans (other gases) in the mixture. These compounds contain sulfur. The more sulfur-rich foods you eat, the more sulfides and mercaptans will be made by the bacteria in you guts, and the more your farts will stink. Foods like cauliflower, eggs and meat are really bad for making stinky farts. Beans on the other hand, may make you fart a lot but they aren't usually the smelly kind.

http://www.kidzworld.com/article/473-the-science-of-farting

Cabbage is clearly digestible so if you're referring to that that yes you have been hoodwinked.

It's also extremely good for you. Pretty much up near the top in the superveg class. Plenty people are put off cabbage simply because when they grew up they were served cabbage that was boiled to a pulp and have that memory of bland tasteless gunk installed in the mind. Same goes for brussel sprouts. Just a big pan of green bitter tasting gunk if not prepared correctly.

Raw shredded cabbage with a little dash of olive oil and black pepper. Superb.

If that doesn't take your fancy then steam it and do likewise with the seasoning.

However topping cabbage and brussel sprouts in the ace veg list is kale. King of the cabbage family. :king:

Another question. If ma farts are really that bad, and I can bottle them, fa's gonna give me best price for them as a weapon of mass destruction? USA? Russia? China? Iran? North Korea?

Ye cannae beat a Guinness induced fart, tho it has to be delivered with extreme caution.

I used to let one go in my apprentices piece box, picturing his Mithers face when opening the fucker.

Cabbage is clearly digestible so if you're referring to that that yes you have been hoodwinked.

It's also extremely good for you. Pretty much up near the top in the superveg class. Plenty people are put off cabbage simply because when they grew up they were served cabbage that was boiled to a pulp and have that memory of bland tasteless gunk installed in the mind. Same goes for brussel sprouts. Just a big pan of green bitter tasting gunk if not prepared correctly.

Raw shredded cabbage with a little dash of olive oil and black pepper. Superb.

If that doesn't take your fancy then steam it and do likewise with the seasoning.

However topping cabbage and brussel sprouts in the ace veg list is kale. King of the cabbage family. :king:

I dinna like sprouts one bit, so decided to spice them up for the Christmas dinner just past.

Crushed roasted hazelnuts, orange zest, butter and peas mixed in with steam sprouts

Magic

Edit- farted like a good un as well

Right here's today's question. Let's say for arguments sake a cask of whisky takes 8 years to mature.

What do distilleries do for their first 8 years to make money? :dontknow:

A ten year old malt is not necessarily ten years old. It's matured to a ten year old status by steeping in oak casks formerly used for sherry or port for example.

Just ask saville. If it looks and tastes of age then it's game on.

A ten year old malt is not necessarily ten years old. It's matured to a ten year old status by steeping in oak casks formerly used for sherry or port for example.

Just ask saville. If it looks and tastes of age then it's game on.

Fair enough. They still go for a considerable time with what appears to be no income. How do they survive these years with no income?

This might be too easy and I may well have been caught by a fishing expedition.

10 year old sold today was made some time ago.

The 10 year old sold in 2014 will have been made a year after that.

Brand new whisky distilleries will have cash flow issues until the product is ready to be bought but how many of them are there? I don't believe there is a serious debate to be had on the idleness of distillers.

No fishing attempt it's just a question that has me puzzled.

It's just something that I thought about when Glenglassaugh distillery near Portsoy reopened and the thread made me think this would be a good time to ask the question.

Glenglassaugh

Right here's today's question. Let's say for arguments sake a cask of whisky takes 8 years to mature.

What do distilleries do for their first 8 years to make money? :dontknow:

I thought about this some time ago as there has been numerous distilleries either re-opened or new ones opened in recent years.

Rocket is essentially correct. Their business plan will have to allow for 8-10 years with no revenue.

However, they could sell to blenders before that - eg Bells, Whyte & Mackay etc in order to plug some gaps in the income statements.

In addition, they would also be able to sell numerous small casks to collecters and other afficianados at start-up. I would imagine that with the right sort of brand, there would be enough rich whisky fans out there who would be prepared to pay a pretty penny for the "first ever" cask from a distillery, either as an investment or just to show off to friends.

Lastly, the distillery would still be producing spirit from day one. You could probably use this to make Sambuca, or something equally disgusting.

Had an affa fine supper o Cottage Pie wi steamed cabbage last night, and as you do, am farting so much I'm doin a mean impression o a motorbike wi nae silencer. But why is it that cabbage makes farts really fucking stink? It's so bad, am considering bottling it and selling it to the North Koreans as a weapon of mass destruction.

One of the main staples of North Korean diet (when they have something to eat) is Kimchi, which is fermented cabbage. They won't be in the market for yer farts as they have plenty at home. :dc:

Bugger. Fit aboot the iranians then?

As for Jigot's question, I guess that's fit toilet brushes were invented for: cleaning the bowl must be its secondary purpose.

How does wifies with long manicured finger nails wipe their bum clean without tearing the paper and thus their bleached arsehole?

This puzzle has caused me many a sleepless night. :itch-chin:

Speaking for my wife, her nails are actually rounded, so they're actually less able to cut through stuff than regular nails. I think a lot of fake nails are like that, though admittedly my experience with fake nails is limited to the wife and my tranny period in the late 80s.

Pity like, because I used to like a chick dragging her nails along the length of my little fella.

These days I have to scrape it with a hairbrush to get that effect.

Speaking for my wife, her nails are actually rounded, so they're actually less able to cut through stuff than regular nails. I think a lot of fake nails are like that, though admittedly my experience with fake nails is limited to the wife and my tranny period in the late 80s.

Pity like, because I used to like a chick dragging her nails along the length of my little fella.

These days I have to scrape it with a hairbrush to get that effect.

It's lucky we both have a full head of hair. Have you ever tried a cheese grater for the rougher effect?