Chappit Neeps Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 So, after 5 years in Oz we have decided to get the ball rolling for a move back to the motherland. Any tips on where to look for jobs in oil and gas? I've looked at oilcareers.com but is it just a case of going onto each agency / oil company website and having a looky? Appreciate any advice! Link to comment
Bamber Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 So, after 5 years in Oz we have decided to get the ball rolling for a move back to the motherland. Any tips on where to look for jobs in oil and gas? I've looked at oilcareers.com but is it just a case of going onto each agency / oil company website and having a looky? Appreciate any advice! Agencies look at oil careers.com and linkedin.com - If I change even a full stop on either profile then I have to switch of my phone for a week or two from them all phoning up to say "i see you have changed your profile are you looking for work?", I'm now even getting calls at home after 730 at night! Just make sure its is clear you are looking for Aberdeen and they will come looking for you Link to comment
rgudon Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 So, after 5 years in Oz we have decided to get the ball rolling for a move back to the motherland. Any tips on where to look for jobs in oil and gas? I've looked at oilcareers.com but is it just a case of going onto each agency / oil company website and having a looky? Appreciate any advice! put your CV on oilcareers put your CV on https://www.oilandgasjobsearch.com/ sit back and wait for the phonecalls. Link to comment
Chappit Neeps Posted January 14, 2013 Author Share Posted January 14, 2013 Excellent responses mate, much appreciated! I'll get on that today. I'm a Quality Manager, seems to be a wee bit of work about so we'll see! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Yeah I have noticed this myself. On the one hand, you've got a wealth of different agencies looking at your CV and trying to find you a job, on the other hand you are going to get sick of answering calls every 10 minutes. It's just something you will have to deal with if your planning on going down the agency route. I can't complain, I got a new job through Oil Careers but it's not been without it's pains! I'm still getting phone calls, emails and linkedin messages from recruiters. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 If you're a Quality Manager you'll get a job in Aberdeen no bother. Loads of Operators/Service companies recruiting in that discipline. Good luck Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Quality Manager... QA/QC or Integrity? If its integrity pm me your email address. If its QA/QC feck off PM me anyway, I know a couple of very good agencies that will be able to sort you out no probs. I used to work in recruitment - in house - so the contact book is pretty decent. If you send me some of your details I'll get you on my linkedin and fire you off to the right folk on there as well. The only problem you might have is too many agencies will contact you. The market here is mental at the moment, any half decent CV is being picked up by 15-20 agencies all trying to fill roles. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Excellent responses mate, much appreciated! I'll get on that today. I'm a Quality Manager, seems to be a wee bit of work about so we'll see! If you don't mind me asking, what's made you want to go back? Best of luck with your job search! Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Jimmy was a quality manager. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Jimmy was a quality manager. :applause: Link to comment
GK55 Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Fire me through a pm. I currently work as a Lead Quality Advisor in Aberdeen, and know of a few positions. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 What does a quality advisor/manager actually do? Link to comment
GK55 Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 What does a quality advisor/manager actually do? I've put down just a few things i do here; Set up Quality Management System (to ISO 9001:2008 standard), carry out internal & supplier audits, make sure others are following correct procedures and know what procedures they should actually be using!, suggest improvement areas in the companies system, monitor Quality of the actual equipment throughout the project, reviewing and approving engineering procedures/drawings/bills of materials etc, failure investigations etc etc...just a few, and a whole lot more. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 What does a quality advisor/manager actually do? Less than an HSE Advisor but not hated so much unfortunately. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Less than an HSE Advisor but not hated so much unfortunately. Thats more tae dae wi the person than the role. Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 14, 2013 Share Posted January 14, 2013 Fire me through a pm. I currently work as a Lead Quality Advisor in Aberdeen, and know of a few positions. Qualifies regularly for Europe.Gets to semi-finals.Loses to lower league teams.Is good to have about the place. Link to comment
Chappit Neeps Posted January 14, 2013 Author Share Posted January 14, 2013 Thanks for the responses people, it's like citizens advice in here but better!! Cyber pints to you all for now....these will be replaced with real life ones should I snare a move back to the motherland! :cheers: Link to comment
Chappit Neeps Posted January 14, 2013 Author Share Posted January 14, 2013 If you don't mind me asking, what's made you want to go back? Best of luck with your job search! SOTR, mainly family reasons. We have a wee one now and I'm not too comfortable having her grow up and not know any of her family. I think I'd rather give her a few years to develop a hatred for family get togethers than to never know of them! We're about to get citizenship so if we did come back and hated it at least we wouldn't have to fart about with visas to go back. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 15, 2013 Share Posted January 15, 2013 Skype min - more than enough for family top-ups. Link to comment
RUL Posted January 15, 2013 Share Posted January 15, 2013 Admit it, your just missing the dons. I wouldn't believe what you read on here min, we are still boring to watch and it's still freezing, all year. Link to comment
rgudon Posted January 16, 2013 Share Posted January 16, 2013 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2263295/British-workers-abducted-al-Qaeda-foreigners-seized-BP-gas-field-Algeria.html I have an interview for a job there the morn Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 16, 2013 Share Posted January 16, 2013 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2263295/British-workers-abducted-al-Qaeda-foreigners-seized-BP-gas-field-Algeria.html I have an interview for a job there the morn What's the recruitment process like for al-Qaeda? Link to comment
rgudon Posted January 16, 2013 Share Posted January 16, 2013 What's the recruitment process like for al-Qaeda? Link to comment
dave_min Posted January 16, 2013 Share Posted January 16, 2013 At Al Queda? Good luck. Too slow Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 16, 2013 Share Posted January 16, 2013 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2263295/British-workers-abducted-al-Qaeda-foreigners-seized-BP-gas-field-Algeria.html I have an interview for a job there the morn We've got guys out there, they werent touched though. Link to comment
Patty Posted February 25, 2013 Share Posted February 25, 2013 Getting my CV put on a couple these sites tonight I think. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 25, 2013 Share Posted February 25, 2013 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2263295/British-workers-abducted-al-Qaeda-foreigners-seized-BP-gas-field-Algeria.html I have an interview for a job there the morn What were you going to be doing RGU? Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted February 25, 2013 Share Posted February 25, 2013 I'm a non coded welder fabricator looking to go into an onshore oil company anyone know of any companies that are looking? Link to comment
weapon Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 I'm a non coded welder fabricator looking to go into an onshore oil company anyone know of any companies that are looking? Anyone on here worked or had any dealings with Nautronix or Bond before????? Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Anyone on here worked or had any dealings with Nautronix or Bond before?????Bond are the helicopter people are they? Never heard o the other company. Link to comment