The Masters 2013

Big Man

Williams V Stevens was a very scrappy affair indeed this afternoon.

Some very dodgy misses. I was starting to question whether it was all legit at one point. A Remarkable comeback by Mark Williams, fair play to him.

Stuart Binghams long pots have been (by in large) very impressive this evening.

• Downvote 6

Fancy either Rory McIlroy or Dustin Johnston. Both hit it long and have the required right to left shape.

Nah min, there's not been a decent Irishman in contention for a long time.

David Morris will probably be the next. I watched him get into the last 16 of the Antwerp open a puckle of years ago. He's got a good heid on him for his age - definitely one to watch for the future.

Fancy either Rory McIlroy or Dustin Johnston. Both hit it long and have the required right to left shape.

Oosthuizen for me, finally got another win last week, and hjas been there or there about most of 2012, and of course r-up last year.

Long way off yet though, bit premature, but then, we should expect that I suppose.

Oosthuizen for me, finally got another win last week, and hjas been there or there about most of 2012, and of course r-up last year.

Long way off yet though, bit premature, but then, we should expect that I suppose.

South African's have fantastic mental toughness. It's no wonder they win many majors.

Damn fine observation. Schwartzel, Grace (who I saw come 2nd at Acaya on the Challenge Tour 18 months ago!), Els, Player, all tough in mind.

And many others besides. never thought of that. They are fucking strong golfers. Must be growing up there and hating blacks. That ruthlessness and prejudice sets them up for life, the bunch of fucking wankers.

Oosthuizen fav for me at Augusta. Machine.

Tim Clark is another. Goosen might be the only SA golfer that can get twitchy. But it's more down to his driving being iffy.

Aye nowadays but when he won one of his majors, canna mind which, his putting on the back nine was immense.

Immelman another strong-minded little racist cunt.

Trevor Immelman has one of the best swings in the game. I feel he under performs.

Linking to Snooker, I've played golf with Steven Hendry and Alan McMannus. Hendry was slightly better, both are cackhanded when putting. Alan actually plays all shots with his hands the wrong way round. They both play off about 5/6.

Damn fine observation. Schwartzel, Grace (who I saw come 2nd at Acaya on the Challenge Tour 18 months ago!), Els, Player, all tough in mind.

And many others besides. never thought of that. They are fucking strong golfers. Must be growing up there and hating blacks. That ruthlessness and prejudice sets them up for life, the bunch of fucking wankers.

It's like their cricket team too. Absolutely merciless. They all look like stone-faced killers. Zero emotion. They just get the job done.

:checkit:

• 2 months later...

I would be shocked if Tiger didn't win but as you say dynamism, no value at the odds.

Charles Howell III = zero chance, based on his name alone. No wank name like that wins at Augusta.

Justin no chance cos his putting nae good enough. He'll get exposed round there.

Charles and Justin will be in the mix RS....anyone else that you funcy?

Just can't see how you guys can rate Rose's chances. He's an awesome golfer who is more than good enough to win a major or two - assuming he has the balls to do it when he gets faced with it for the first time in his life, where so so many have tried and failed before and so few actually have the proven mettle, character, self-belief, self-confidence, guts, balls, whatever you want to call it to cross the line and win a major - but this is Augusta.

Nobody with a recent (within the last couple of years before the event) putting weakness has ever won the Masters. This is what cost Rory McIlroy two years ago. They all remember the drive at 10 into the hooses and him leaning on the driver at 13 after he knocked it into Rae's creek but the reality was that it was his putter that killed him. He missed three inside 7 feet in the first 7 holes. He 4 putted 12. He was a gibbering mess on those greens.

At Kiawah Island, he putted like God on the Sunday. At Dubai in November, where he birdied the last five I think, his putting was immense. Yet the week before when defending Hong Kong, he took 70 putts and missed the cut. McIlroy is too streaky. Being streaky is bad. The best putters, and they are few, consistently produce expert putting stats, month in, month out. They never have a bad month and they rarely hole less than 50 feet's worth of putts in one Rd - maybe twice or thrice a year - where some numpties average 60 odd feet per Rd.

Rose is so far away from being a consistently expert putter right now that I reckon he has zero chance next week. Augusta is the biggest examination of putting feel and touch on the planet, the reality being, of course, that it is a test of the putting mind most of all. Even if his excellent ball-striking gets him close to winning, the golfing gods won't give him THIS major. This one is beyond his recent history and I accept that his putting is dramatically improved and yes he did putt like God in the Ryder Cup, but this is Augusta. That's why Tiger for me and Rose and McIlroy are at terrible value for the short odds given. Oosthuizen has balls. He can putt but whether he can find the same vibe he had last year, time will tell.

My man Olesen got an invite to Houston, had a really bad car crash on the Weds, shot 82 in Rd 1 (where his 2013 scoring average had been sub 70) and withdrew with whiplash injuries on Friday. The medical people told him he couldn't hit balls again until a day or two ago. Hardly great prep for his first Masters. Fingers crossed. His putting data this year is off the planet good.

It's a shame that Olesen has not had the best preparation because, as you say, his putting stats indicate he could go well round Augusta. I can't back him with any confidence after hearing about his accident though.

It's difficult from a betting point of view to find much value, as all the main contenders are being kept by the bookies. Woods obviously is the favourite and his putting this year has been unbelievably good. However, I couldn't back him at that price, I'd worry about his accuracy off the tee. I think Westwood has a better chance this year given he has moved over to the States, his short game looks much sharper too. Mickleson has to be respected, his record at Augusta is tremendous. I love his aggressive play but often that can be his downfall.

For a value bet I'm going for Russell Henley. A graduate from the Webb.com tour, he has already won on the PGA tour this year and has put together some impressive stats. He's a Georgia loon too which won't hurt. Given its his first start at the Masters obviously it's a bit of a lottery and a big ask, but at 150/1 he represents decent value. He's also 8/1 to be the best debutant.

Canna wait for Thursday!