rumpus Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 4 killed and one in intensive care after avalanche in mountains yesterday. What is it with folk who wander around the hills in this weather? The news showed a bunch of spastics heading off up the same hill today. 1 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 4 killed and one in intensive care after avalanche in mountains yesterday. What is it with folk who wander around the hills in this weather? The news showed a bunch of spastics heading off up the same hill today. Did Boof nae say he was going skiing to unwind? 2 Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Why are they spastics? Total ignorant comment! 1 Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 If 4 people were killed a day earlier on a hill you are about to walk up, they must be fucking stupid.Probably the safest time. The avalanche has gone then. Smart thinking in my mind. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 So I would be fucking stupid to drive on the same road that someone died in a car crash on the previous day? Terrible comment to make. My uncle died on lochnagar doing ice climbing and he was an incredibly experienced climber, created routes up Mt McKinley in North America and climbed in the Himalayas countless times, it was just a terrible accident. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 i'd love to the karakorams and see k2, walk in the footsteps of mentalist aleister crowley. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 People shoul be banned from going into the mountains for around 4 months during winter time. As you've just demonstrated, regardless of experience, they not only put their own lives at risk but also the volunteers who head up to rescue / retrieve them. Pointless.This is an exceptional fishing excerise. If it isn't fishing it is fucking stupid. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Has to be fishing and I bit!! Doh! Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Not fishing at all.Then it is fucking stupid. People have died playing fitba. We should ban that as well. People have crashed cars and died. We should ban that as well. People have died on trains. We should ban them. People have heart attacks and died. We should ban hearts. In fact fuck it life is after all nothing but a death sentence so we should ban life. 2 1 Link to comment
cow Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 People shoul be banned from going into the mountains for around 4 months during winter time. As you've just demonstrated, regardless of experience, they not only put their own lives at risk but also the volunteers who head up to rescue / retrieve them. Pointless. Agreed. If you can close a school, close a road and call off a football match it makes perfect sense to close mountains. Perhaps make it a criminal offense to trespass into the hill during the winter break? Cow. 4 Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 A spasticated response. You don't go onto a football pitch, drive a car, jump on a train etc... and think your life is at risk. Standing at the bottom of a mountain, wind chill factor of -50 and a wall of snow above you is asking for trouble.Thats bollocks. You think people go into the mountains and look for trouble? Like everything accidents and deaths happen. Just like they do on the roads. If we banned everything that was remotely dangerous then life would be fucking boring. I understand your point about putting others lives at risk but again people get killed every year by ambulances, cop cars and fire engines as they rush to car crashes. So no it wasn't a spasticated response but merely pointing out the idiocy of your original post. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 I'm an advocate of free speech and the freedom to do whatever you want to your own body, on the understanding that you're the one ultimately responsible for the consequences of your actions. If someone wants to climb a mountain then go for it. You might fall off, like, but you probably knew that already. But who is anyone else to tell you the manner of your leisure activities or death? Tap dance on a shark's heid for all I fucking care. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 I have climbed that mountain and many others in snow and I'm hear to tell the story. Accidents happen and can't be helped. Can't believe you can be so ignorant, I just hope your not involved in an accident. Every time you take your car out on the road in snow you have a higher chance of an accident. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 The only thick ones that do this type of thing are the ones that do it completely unprepared & not having a clue what they are getting themselves into. You know the types I mean.The thick fuckers that turn up in lovely weather in shorts & T-shirts (usually English ) thinking that, since it's lovely weather here, it'll be just as fine up there & then they end up on the side of a hill at night, lost & freezing whilst loads of volunteers have to waste their time looking for the stupid cunts. Used to happen a lot where I'm from & where I worked, in Summer especially.& like I said, pretty much every time I experienced it, it was a bloody English tourist, or group of them. Lost & with no phone signal Link to comment
cow Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Thats bollocks. You think people go into the mountains and look for trouble? They look for danger. They are thrill seekers, and most of the time attention seekers, bullied at school, and dodge soap. They would have been looking to post a few pictures on facebook. 1. at the start of the climb 2. at the top cuddled together 3. in the pub at bottom with a pint. I had a classmate at school who thinks this a socially acceptable way to act. He irritates my newsfeed every Sunday to post up this shite. I was kinda disappointed it wasn't his mug on the t.v when I heard about this *incident*. It would be very easy to use a flag system to determine whether the hill was open to the public. With mountain rescue being refused to anyone that contravenes the flagged advice. Cow. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Agree that people who are ill prepared need a good fucking shake. These climbers that died were incredibly experienced and just in the wrong place at the wrong time. When I climb I never put myself in a situation that I feel uncomfortable in and most climbers would have this attitude as well. Link to comment
cow Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Can't believe you can be so ignorant, I just hope your not involved in an accident. Every time you take your car out on the road in snow you have a higher chance of an accident. ......and an even greater chance of accident if you tried to drive up the hill in question. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 They look for danger. They are thrill seekers, and most of the time attention seekers, bullied at school, and dodge soap. They would have been looking to post a few pictures on facebook. 1. at the start of the climb 2. at the top cuddled together 3. in the pub at bottom with a pint. I had a classmate at school who thinks this a socially acceptable way to act. He irritates my newsfeed every Sunday to post up this shite. I was kinda disappointed it wasn't his mug on the t.v when I heard about this *incident*. It would be very easy to use a flag system to determine whether the hill was open to the public. With mountain rescue being refused to anyone that contravenes the flagged advice. Cow. What a guy you are , wishing someone you know was killed in the avalanche just because you can't comprehend his passion. You are quite obviously a soulless person who is a waste of air. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 The only thick ones that do this type of thing are the ones that do it completely unprepared & not having a clue what they are getting themselves into. You know the types I mean.The thick fuckers that turn up in lovely weather in shorts & T-shirts (usually English ) thinking that, since it's lovely weather here, it'll be just as fine up there & then they end up on the side of a hill at night, lost & freezing whilst loads of volunteers have to waste their time looking for the stupid cunts. Used to happen a lot where I'm from & where I worked, in Summer especially.& like I said, pretty much every time I experienced it, it was a bloody English tourist, or group of them. Lost & with no phone signal Thing is that they're entitled to act on their own stupidity. If they die then they die, and really it's no loss to the gene pool. In fact it serves a fairly positive purpose when Stupids exercise their right to be Stupids. The press gets a story, volunteer searchers (who don't have to volunteer) get to feel like they're great sorts, mountain rescue gets real life practice, non-Stupids get to laugh at the demise of Stupids, the gene pool loses Stupids (if the Stupids in question die), any surviving relatives get a windfall when they split the estate... the positives of Stupids getting themselves stranded/dead on a mountainside far outweigh the negatives. Even the cost of keeping Mountain Rescue funded is negligible... probably a pound per person per year. In the United States Mountain Rescue is paid for by park entrance fees, so it doesn't even cost the taxpayer a cent for all these great benefits. Check this guy out. He's almost certainly dead. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 That was me and my mate aged 16. I blame the ignorance of youth, and a few beers at the Marr Lodge at lunchtime! I don't really want to know why you are bribing a young lad of 16 up the side of a hill with a few beers. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Sorry, I meant we were both 16 at the time. I stopped fraternising with teenage boys when I was 49. Couldn't resist Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 I wouldn't stop them from climbing, in the same way that I wouldn't stop someone from bungee jumping or any other "extreme" sport... But the notion that there should be some sort of outpouring of grief.... Sorry, not from here. Those hills are there 365 days of the year, to climb them when you'd surmise they'd be at their most dangerous is Darwinism at it's best. As a scuba diver I'm well aware of the risks everytime I go for a dive, but I wouldn't put myself in adverse danger if the conditions were to increase the risk of me losing my life. As I said, Darwinism at it's best. You don't fuck with Mother Nature. Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Check this guy out. He's almost certainly dead. Is that not a zombie hun sobering up at Peterheid? Fuck the rangers then, fuck the rangers now, fuck the rangers forever. Link to comment
RUL Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 What a guy you are , wishing someone you know was killed in the avalanche just because you can't comprehend his passion. You are quite obviously a soulless person who is a waste of air.Cows posts are bizarre in general 1 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Cows posts are bizarre in general They're called fence posts. The fact there are cows in the field is an irrelevance. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Folk that climb hills are boring as fuck. "Ooh look at me, I walked up a hill." Chuffed? You've wasted your time there, cunt. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 I have the best times of my life on the hills. These guys were orienteering champions min it's just bad luck. Just a handful of deaths a year, nothing compared to smoking or drinking. It's total ignorance to call this hobby a waste of time. It's the most inspiring I do in my life, I get so much hope and happiness from it. Geoff, is it your uncles memorial on the way to Lochnagar? Link to comment
cow Posted January 21, 2013 Share Posted January 21, 2013 Folk that climb hills are boring as fuck. "Ooh look at me, I walked up a hill." Chuffed? You've wasted your time there, cunt. Correct. It's like folk boast about completing a marathon is 3 hours. You could complete the 26 miles in 30 mins using a Kia Rio. Idiots. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 When snow is forecast people shouldn't go climbing in the mountains, ffs, it's common sense. Why put rescuers life's at risk, you'll get a better view in Summer anyway. RIP to the 4 people who died though, such a waste of young life's, suppose they died doing something they loved so fair play to them. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 22, 2013 Share Posted January 22, 2013 suppose they died doing something they loved so fair play to them. Getting crushed under two million tons of snow and ice? Link to comment