cow Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Perhaps the band most played in the Cow household. Albums. (top 10) 1. UP2. New adventures in Hi-Fi3. Green4. Automatic for the people5. Around the sun6. Document7. Reckoning8. Lifes Rich Pagent9. Out of time10. Murmur Songs (top 10) 1. Find the river2. Hairshirt3. Be mine4. Falls to climb5. Chorus and the ring6. Life and how to live it7. Perfect circle8. Uberlin9. Electrolite10. Sitting still Cow. Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Can honestly say I don't recognise a single thing on that list. Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 Can honestly say I don't recognise a single thing on that list. Dats cool. You should be excited as there is plenty of education waiting for you. Educate me with a cracking song that I've never heard of? Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Michael Stipe is not a fan of scampi though... #dilemma Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 Michael Stipe is not a fan of scampi though... #dilemma Not true. Stipe, Mills and Buck all love the Scampi # eatscampiandlifetill100 #S.T.I.D Link to comment
OddJob Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Cow i canna believe you don't have Cuyahoga on that list. An awesome tune Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 R.E.M. made some catchy tyoons. I'll gie them that. But after two or three listens, their vacuousness irritated. Shallow, tinny music not appreciated by the rocket. A view I would agree with about some of their more successful tunes like -Everbody hurts, Stand, the one I love, Losing My Religion, Shiny happy people. I can see how Stipes voice can be a love/hate thing, as it's unique. What they did best for me was make wonderful album tracks. Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 Cow i canna believe you don't have Cuyahoga on that list. An awesome tune I like the song and indeed I've visited the river, but it would only make top 30 in my list. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Not true. Stipe, Mills and Buck all love the Scampi # eatscampiandlifetill100 #S.T.I.D Stipe was (not sure if he still is) a vegetarian... Have they made quorn scampi yet ? Link to comment
Monkey Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 I had a job in a resteraunt as a KP and one of the other guys who worked there appeared to have the entire back catalogue of REM on loop in the kitchen. I'm not sure if it was a form of brainwashing but I'm a bit partial to a bit of Stipe & co every now and again even if I did start a bit later than others. To your list of songs I would add CrushNight swimming Strange Currencies End of the world Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 Stipe was (not sure if he still is) a vegetarian... Have they made quorn scampi yet ? I've seen him eat meat served by the Italian celeb chef Mario Batali Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 I had a job in a resteraunt as a KP and one of the other guys who worked there appeared to have the entire back catalogue of REM on loop in the kitchen. I'm not sure if it was a form of brainwashing but I'm a bit partial to a bit of Stipe & co every now and again even if I did start a bit later than others. To your list of songs I would add CrushNight swimming Strange Currencies End of the world Good tunes. Strange Currencies is a fantastic tune. Certainly top 20. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Anyway my favourite REM song is Leave... and that I shall... Link to comment
cow Posted January 24, 2013 Author Share Posted January 24, 2013 Anyway my favourite REM song is Leave... and that I shall... Everything of Hi-FI is superb. Again top 20 for me. Perhaps inbetween king of birds and new test leper. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 24, 2013 Share Posted January 24, 2013 Anyway my favourite REM song is Leave... and that I shall...My favourite REM song is.... Nope. 3 1 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 25, 2013 Share Posted January 25, 2013 Live were a better band than R.E.M. Similar types - skinny, bald, HIV suspect frontman. Bit more balls. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 25, 2013 Share Posted January 25, 2013 thunderwizard were a better band than rem. similar types - fat, bald, hiv suspect frontman. shiter songs though. Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 25, 2013 Share Posted January 25, 2013 Shiney happy people was their best song Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 25, 2013 Share Posted January 25, 2013 thunderwizard were a better band than rem. similar types - fat, bald, hiv suspect frontman. shiter songs though.Settle doon Blurto, I used a condom. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted January 25, 2013 Share Posted January 25, 2013 My sister was working in the states aboot 100 years ago now and sent me a tape of this band she'd heard.Never heard of Rapid Eye Movements before then, but this track Green Grow the Rushes did it for me.A bit Byrd'sish but definitely something else going for it. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted January 25, 2013 Share Posted January 25, 2013 Perhaps the band most played in the Cow household. I am so disappointed in you coo Link to comment