barassie_afc Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 I remember the post I made after the Killie away game , eulogising about our second half performance and how pleased I was about the way we went about the game, the team was GK FubpuppetRB Ryan JackCB Russell AndersonCB Mark ReynoldsLB Andrew ConsidineCM Stephen HughesCM Isaac OsbourneCM Gavin RaeLW Ryan FraserRW Niall McGinnCF Scott Vernon It had a reasonable shape, admittedly Considine was out of position , but he was competent enough being a CB to cope at LB. Fast forward to last night, and I cannot begin to put the formation down Jack , Fraser , Consi aside , the personnel are the same.......... to me this is managerial incompetence nothing more and nothing less Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 I think we are absolutely disgusting to watch when Hughes and Rae are both in the team. Rae started the season well but has faded and Hughes is just fucking shite. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted January 31, 2013 Author Share Posted January 31, 2013 I think we are absolutely disgusting to watch when Hughes and Rae are both in the team. Rae started the season well but has faded and Hughes is just fucking shite. Hughes in that game was outstanding, I agree he was honking last night Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Craig Broon that's what, he disna motivate the team, subs are sometimes stupid as his formations, also took in Fallon & Clark their nae up to it as is Hughes but keeps persisting in playing Hughes & Fallon & he's kept Clangers as number 1! Link to comment
Crossbow Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 I remember the post I made after the Killie away game , eulogising about our second half performance and how pleased I was about the way we went about the game, the team was GK FubpuppetRB Ryan JackCB Russell AndersonCB Mark ReynoldsLB Andrew ConsidineCM Stephen HughesCM Isaac OsbourneCM Gavin RaeLW Ryan FraserRW Niall McGinnCF Scott Vernon It had a reasonable shape, admittedly Considine was out of position , but he was competent enough being a CB to cope at LB. Fast forward to last night, and I cannot begin to put the formation down Jack , Fraser , Consi aside , the personnel are the same.......... to me this is managerial incompetence nothing more and nothing less Hard to disagree - in the Killie game we went a goal down and then took the game to them fearlessly - the back 4 still looked dodgy frankly but because we were attacking we didn't have to worry too much. We had too much for Killie that day. Best I'd seen the dons play in years but only because we attacked - gambled and ran into space rather than holding back in case it broke down and gifted space and opportunity to the opposition. We've lost that mindset, and we have an even dodgier defence and a frankly atrocious keeper. No surprise we're in freefall. Someone will blame the fans soon. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Hard to disagree - in the Killie game we went a goal down and then took the game to them fearlessly - the back 4 still looked dodgy frankly but because we were attacking we didn't have to worry too much. We had too much for Killie that day. Best I'd seen the dons play in years but only because we attacked - gambled and ran into space rather than holding back in case it broke down and gifted space and opportunity to the opposition. We've lost that mindset, and we have an even dodgier defence and a frankly atrocious keeper. No surprise we're in freefall. Someone will blame the fans soon. Blame the fans? We're the best fans in Scotland well travelling we are. All we want is a good team & a good manager that can see what a crook Langfield is. You ca blame us for that. Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Blame for me lays firmly with Brown Persisting with 1 up front at home and also persisting with langfield - utter joke! Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Stewart Milne [/close thread] For all he has to take the blame for I'm not blaming him for our on the pitch performances. Look at the squad and the players available. Buck stops with the manager for formations/tactics and results. Underachieving. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Double Post...what's with them lately? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted January 31, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted January 31, 2013 I remember the post I made after the Killie away game , eulogising about our second half performance and how pleased I was about the way we went about the game, the team was GK FubpuppetRB Ryan JackCB Russell AndersonCB Mark ReynoldsLB Andrew ConsidineCM Stephen HughesCM Isaac OsbourneCM Gavin RaeLW Ryan FraserRW Niall McGinnCF Scott Vernon It had a reasonable shape, admittedly Considine was out of position , but he was competent enough being a CB to cope at LB. Fast forward to last night, and I cannot begin to put the formation down Jack , Fraser , Consi aside , the personnel are the same.......... to me this is managerial incompetence nothing more and nothing less I think it's fairly simple; the manager's PR machine has been so effective that some people actually think we are having a good season when in fact it is fucking awful. His tactics are wrong, constantly. Before last night's game he said he had made minor changes. Minor changes! He changed three players! Two of these players were our best players last Sunday versus Hibs. This is not knee jerk, but he has to be sacked before Sunday, if for nothing else than actually getting someone in goals instead of the fuckwit we actually have. Make no mistake about it, we are going out of the cup on Sunday. Give the job to Jocky Scott for the rest of the season and then make the right appointment in the Summer. Had enough of this constant under performing. I believe Brown has a worse record than Ebbe and Paterson. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 For all he has to take the blame for I'm not blaming him for our on the pitch performances. Look at the squad and the players available. Buck stops with the manager for formations/tactics and results. Underachieving. Have to agree it's nae Milne to blame its Broon. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Our team is too one-dimensional. Brown is not tactically aware enough to change things in a game for the better. You saw it last night, in that he had no answers so adopted a scattergun approach of tactic changes to see if any worked. Any team that is organised defensively, have good wingers, and who can close down our midfield quickly will keep us largely quiet. I think now most teams have worked that out. Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Compared to Mcghee the board have given brown some helluva backing, look at the players he's been allowed to take in! He has no idea how to utilize have of them correctly, i mean how long is he going to persist with vernon in midfield? Link to comment
tup Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Make no mistake about it, we are going out of the cup on Sunday. Do you want a bet? Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 I think it's fairly simple; the manager's PR machine has been so effective that some people actually think we are having a good season when in fact it is fucking awful. His tactics are wrong, constantly. Before last night's game he said he had made minor changes. Minor changes! He changed three players! Two of these players were our best players last Sunday versus Hibs. This is not knee jerk, but he has to be sacked before Sunday, if for nothing else than actually getting someone in goals instead of the fuckwit we actually have. Make no mistake about it, we are going out of the cup on Sunday. Give the job to Jocky Scott for the rest of the season and then make the right appointment in the Summer. Had enough of this constant under performing. I believe Brown has a worse record than Ebbe and Paterson. This is true, just listened to the Sportsound podcast and Billy Dodds claiming that it's been a good season for us because if we go on a run we could push for 3rd/4th. He is a slavering, barely literate moron so I don't give his opinion much consideration but other cunts in media seem to think the same. The only positive this season has been McGinn, and Broon has to take credit there. Otherwise it's the same old pish and it now appears that his goals can no longer cover up the cracks. Losing Fraser was a huge blow, not sure how much blame could be apportioned to Broon for that. However, plenty of blame does lie at Broon's door - sticking with Clangers, wasting wages on the likes of Clark and Fallon, giving opposition way too much respect, playing players out of position needlessly (Magennis, Vernon, Osbourne). Hibs on sunday is of course massive, but they are similarly poor right now and a win there (although enjoyable) would I fear only delay the inevitable fuck up in the next round by which time the league position will have sunk lower. Struggling for optimism right now and it's the same feeling I've had for about five seasons. Link to comment
Red Dragon Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Compared to Mcghee the board have given brown some helluva backing, look at the players he's been allowed to take in! He has no idea how to utilize have of them correctly, i mean how long is he going to persist with vernon in midfield? Surely to fuck Vernon wasn't playing in midfiled last night? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted January 31, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted January 31, 2013 Do you want a bet? Would this be another one of your "cheque lost in the post" moments? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Confidence is low/ We are conceding very weak goals. (coincidence that Considine is out?) We are toothless in attack - We are missing Fraser, no question about it. Brown keeps changing the formation. Brown keeps changing the team around. Brown keeps playing Jamie 'Never had a save to make' Langfield. Add all those into the pot and you get AFC last night. Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Surely to fuck Vernon wasn't playing in midfiled last night? Looked to be, certainly wasnt playing up front! Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 I think we are absolutely disgusting to watch when Hughes and Rae are both in the team. Rae started the season well but has faded and Hughes is just fucking shite. Totally agree with you there. Horrible to watch and are both very defensive! Link to comment
tup Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Would this be another one of your "cheque lost in the post" moments? No, it would be one of those moments where you have a bet, where I think the opposite of what you think, and I'm prepared to back my conviction up with hard cash. You're just talking pish and whining for the sake of it. Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 Would this be another one of your "cheque lost in the post" moments? I take it you eventually got a new one ? Link to comment
weapon Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 We're too structured and defensive, I was at the Hibs game on sunday and although we dominated posession we had little going forward, we're too easy to defend against. Hughes and Rae in centre midfield doesn't work in my opinion they are exactly the same type of player, rarely get forward and are too slow. Milsom on saturday was brialliant but our midfielders and especially our Lb & RB need to get forward more, we're too structured and folk seem to be scared to stray out out of position. Our left backs/right backs get so far up the pitch punt the ball and then basically turn around and sprint for our own byline, the midfielders are the same nobody gambles past the strikers, when they actually manage a forward pass they stop and stand still and expect the strikers to take over and do the rest themselves. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted January 31, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted January 31, 2013 No, it would be one of those moments where you have a bet, where I think the opposite of what you think, and I'm prepared to back my conviction up with hard cash. You're just talking pish and whining for the sake of it. OK Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted January 31, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted January 31, 2013 I take it you eventually got a new one ? No. To be honest I doubt one was sent. Link to comment
thedandydon Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 In the earlier part of the season we looked sharp despite not getting the rewards. Our home form has been poor in terms of results and has been for well over a year. Perhaps frustration is playing its part now as too often weve been the better side but come away with little more than a point. Individual errors and a negative approach from management are probably the chief cause. Yes weve had injury problems and thats probably taken some of the heat off Brown for the poor results. But last night really did show up these problems in flashing lights. Vernon is not a midfielder, he was played there as a result of our injury crisis. Hes never once looked comfortable there, so why on earth was he starting there last night when we have options on the bench? Browns comment about Pawletts inclusion (or lack of) being awkward was just laughable and exemplifies Browns approach to giving the opposition too much respect. Its been obvious in a lot of our home games that we simply look to contain teams (hence the high number of 0-0 half-time scorelines) rather than take the game to them from kick-off. Another baffling change last night saw Vernon replaced when hed finally been pushed into his natural position and was starting to get involved in things up front. Fallon, who contributed nothing and never seemed to know his role as he was forever dropping deep and leaving McGinn isolated up top trying to collect high balls which were easily being mopped up by the St J back line, mysteriously stayed on and continued to do sweet FA. Players were shifted around all over the place so its no wonder we lost our way. But to lose the goals the way we did was criminal and it must be infuriating for players and managers to see the hard work undone by schoolboy errors. Even more infuriating is the fact that the main offenders arent punished for them. Langfield (and im not one who slates the guy religiously) should have a number 2 vying for his jersey and manager strong enough to make the change when things arent going well. If Brown had come in and done just as badly we might all be calling for Langfield again. 1 Link to comment
ebbe Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 to be fair to tup he payed me no problem. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted January 31, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted January 31, 2013 Aye that's what I'm after. Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 31, 2013 Share Posted January 31, 2013 In the earlier part of the season we looked sharp despite not getting the rewards. Our home form has been poor in terms of results and has been for well over a year. Perhaps frustration is playing its part now as too often we 1 Link to comment