New Washing Machine

Pudgie

I'm sticking in a new washing machine in our bathroom cupboard and I've no Idea how to attach the waste from it to the 4 inch waste for the toilet. It's nae very close to the sink (2 or 3 mtrs) and there's the bog in between the machine and the sink as well.

Anyone any ideas how I could attach it to the 4" waste without uncoupling the pipe? I've been telt you can drill a hole in the top of the 4" waste and get a saddle but I'm fucked if I can find the part.

I'm sticking in a new washing machine in our bathroom cupboard and I've no Idea how to attach the waste from it to the 4 inch waste for the toilet. It's nae very close to the sink (2 or 3 mtrs) and there's the bog in between the machine and the sink as well.

Anyone any ideas how I could attach it to the 4" waste without uncoupling the pipe? I've been telt you can drill a hole in the top of the 4" waste and get a saddle but I'm fucked if I can find the part.

You get a saddle to plumb into your cold water pipe but never heard of one for a toilet waste, suspect you're looking at fitting a new toilet waste pipe with a branch coming off it, I'll go have a quick look on b&q.

You can get a ... *ahem*... strap on boss.

4x1.25 I believe is what you'd be after.

1350573634-09306700.jpg

Cut out a 1.25 diameter hole in the 4" grey waste pipe, strap on your boss, but make sure you're running on a downward incline from the WM, otherwise you're going to get back syphoning.

That would work.

Or if you want the lazy route just shove your waste pipe into the toilet every time you use the machine. :dontknow:

Or throw the waste pipe into the bath thus saving more money for beer. Don't do this when washing new denims as you may end up looking like a Smurf.

I did think about whapping it into the chunty. I like playing Mr DIY though, even though I more often than not haven't a clue what I'm doing.

Listen mate my two brothers are plumbers and if anything goes awry I dinnae bother them now because whenever before I got them to come and sort problems they gave me the impression that they thought that I am a truly thick cunt.

Ach, that's no fun. It would be like hiring a cook to make fillet steaks because they cost a wee bit.

I'm with you, bud.

Nothing better than getting shit done yourself. Nothing worse than looking at a project and saying you can't do it yourself.

I'm always huffy when I have to call in a tradesman.

I'm with you, bud.

Nothing better than getting shit done yourself. Nothing worse than looking at a project and saying you can't do it yourself.

I'm always huffy when I have to call in a tradesman.

Exactly. I've done most of the flooring, papering, painting, shelving and a bit of sparkeying. I love being able to say to people that I've done most of it myself when folk come round.

except when things go wrong with plumbing, you can end up with shite flooding all over your house. this would never happen cooking a steak. :sheepdance:

Ach, there's no active water flow. As long as I don't need a pish half way through then there shouldn't be any water going through the pipe in question.

Nah, you should get a plumber.

If it floods the house and you drown to death, you won't be able to claim insurance as it's not Corgi registered certified installed.

It's Safe Gas now Rumpus get with the flow.

Shite. So I canna just get the dog to stick a paw print on the certificate and say it's "Corgi" registered?

Nah, you should get a plumber.

If it floods the house and you drown to death, you won't be able to claim insurance as it's not Corgi registered certified installed.

Why would you need a gas safe certificate to install a waste pipe? A boiler, a central heating system or a gas hob I can understand but a waste pipe I fail to see why you need gas safe.

Exactly. I've done most of the flooring, papering, painting, shelving and a bit of sparkeying. I love being able to say to people that I've done most of it myself when folk come round.

I'm much the same just now, bought an oldish house and have been renovating room by room mostly myself, floors, skirting s, doors, lighting, switches, all walls, lot of ripping stuff out, I don't touch plastering or papering and leave some sparky stuff, by chance I've got mates in those trades so can get it done at a reasonable price. It's slow going as I spend more time on here than the house but it's slowly taking shape, pretty proud moment when you get a room done and dusted and see it completely transformed.

My latest toy is a power planer, it has enhanced my life no end, love it, borrowed one for a day and bought one the next.

I'm much the same just now, bought an oldish house and have been renovating room by room mostly myself, floors, skirting s, doors, lighting, switches, all walls, lot of ripping stuff out, I don't touch plastering or papering and leave some sparky stuff, by chance I've got mates in those trades so can get it done at a reasonable price. It's slow going as I spend more time on here than the house but it's slowly taking shape, pretty proud moment when you get a room done and dusted and see it completely transformed.

My latest toy is a power planer, it has enhanced my life no end, love it, borrowed one for a day and bought one the next.

Aye, we moved in to our flat nearly 2 year ago and are just getting finished. We didn't even bother trying to move in before we started. The day we got the keys we started ripping off wallpaper. The thing hadn't been updated since the 90's I don't think. Textured wallpaper everywhere that had been painted over 3 times. What a bastard to take off. Every bit of flooring needed done as it was B&Q's cheapest. Bogey green skirtings and yellow walls upstairs as well. Fuck knows what the people who had it before us were thinking.

My pet hate is cheap laminate, have put new Walnut stuff through most of downstairs, amazing how quick you can knock it down once you've done it a couple times, a good mitre saw helps as well, fuck doing it with a jigsaw, except the edgings and corners.

I puncture paper and give it a good soak before hitting it with the steamer, makes it a good bit easier,

My pet hate is cheap laminate, have put new Walnut stuff through most of downstairs, amazing how quick you can knock it down once you've done it a couple times, a good mitre saw helps as well, fuck doing it with a jigsaw, except the edgings and corners.

I puncture paper and give it a good soak before hitting it with the steamer, makes it a good bit easier,

I done most of it with a saw. Only got a jigsaw for some of it. I chiseled out one of the sections of flooring. Needless to say there's a binding round the whole floor.

The paper was scored, punctured and steamed and nothing would soften the paint. Total nightmare. Took a heap of plasterboard out and needed lining paper before anything was done with the walls.

I done most of it with a saw. Only got a jigsaw for some of it. I chiseled out one of the sections of flooring. Needless to say there's a binding round the whole floor.

The paper was scored, punctured and steamed and nothing would soften the paint. Total nightmare. Took a heap of plasterboard out and needed lining paper before anything was done with the walls.

Aye when its been painted over so many times like you said I can imagine, the job from hell!