360 Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 If and when the GWB fucks off, who would be your number 1 choice to replace him as gaffer? I realise at this stage the poll is not all encompassing, so if you say someone elses name I'll add them. Link to comment
super_al Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 If and when the GWB fucks off, who would be your number 1 choice to replace him as gaffer? I realise at this stage the poll is not all encompassing, so if you say someone elses name I'll add them. If those are the only options then we are in trouble....... Link to comment
360 Posted February 10, 2013 Author Share Posted February 10, 2013 They're not. Who's your choice? Link to comment
super_al Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 They're not. Who's your choice? I know. Honestly, I have not got a clue. All the options that have been mentioned on the forum so far are not getting me excited. I am looking at www.thesackrace.com There are a few names who would be interesting and are out of work. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Paul HartleyOwen CoyleCraig LeveinAlex McleishJamie Carragher? Link to comment
360 Posted February 10, 2013 Author Share Posted February 10, 2013 All added minus the scouse wank, I want this to be a serious debate with realistic options. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 It definitely won't be Hartley. Already ruled out. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 We need someone who is a winner as a person, someone with something to prove as good proven managers aren't going to come to Aberdeen. So we need to take a chance - we have the makings of a good squad - it needs the proper leadership from management. It sadly is not getting it. I'd try Hartley - some modest success but still with a lot to prove - he knows the strengths and weaknesses of our setup - is honourable and a winner. We could, have and are doing a heck of a lot worse. He wouldn't play for a draw against St Mirren at home. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 It definitely won't be Hartley. Already ruled out. Who by? The man himself? If so that is a shame. Link to comment
super_al Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Are any of these realistic? Nigel AdkinsAidy BoothroydPhil BrownGeorge BurleySteve CoppellAlan CurbishleyPaul DickovIan DowieGeorge GrahamPaul HartAlan IrvineGary McAllister Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 10, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 10, 2013 1360517588[/url]' post='896166']If and when the GWB fucks off, who would be your number 1 choice to replace him as gaffer? I realise at this stage the poll is not all encompassing, so if you say someone elses name I'll add them. Not. Big enough choice Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 10, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 10, 2013 1360519003[/url]' post='896177']All added minus the scouse wank, I want this to be a serious debate with realistic options. Kenny Shiels Link to comment
perthshirered Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Are any of these realistic? Nigel AdkinsAidy BoothroydPhil BrownGeorge BurleySteve CoppellAlan CurbishleyPaul DickovIan DowieGeorge GrahamPaul HartAlan IrvineGary McAllister No, none of them are realistic except George Burley or Phil Brown.I can hear the rest of them sniggering into their Horlicks at the mere suggestion of managing Aberdeen. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Dream team would be McLeish and Richardson while retaining Scott as First team coach...reality will be Adams his old man and Jocky as First team coach...which might just about work 1 Link to comment
ebbe Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 i fancy kenny shields but that is an easy option. we need to look further afield i think, a young guy with a no nonsense gung ho attitude would be perfect. i am away to conduct some research of the scandinavian and icelandic leagues for a candidate, my preference for this part of the world is that they are relatively cheap and normally have a fantastic grasp of the english language. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 would like Paul Hartley why is he a no? Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 would like Paul Hartley why is he a no?Not in the running Chief...I'm guessing some sort of squalid "glory hole moment" with the Brooner has ruled out his part in the ousting of the charlatan...Broon seems to have some sort of Svengali hold over players of a certain age...almost like a gay footballing equivalent of Sir James It definitely won't be Hartley. Already ruled out. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 If and when the GWB fucks off, who would be your number 1 choice to replace him as gaffer? I realise at this stage the poll is not all encompassing, so if you say someone elses name I'll add them. He's not my choice, but you better add Billy Stark to the list of candidates that will be linked. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Dream team would be McLeish and Richardson while retaining Scott as First team coach...reality will be Adams his old man and Jocky as First team coach...which might just about work Jesus. Another who thinks a "dream team"would be made up of ex players. Based on nostalgia and fuck all else I'm afraid. Richardson who was sacked by chesterfield for getting them relegated , Scott whose last managerial job saw him sacked for a less than 15 per cent win ratio and Mcleish a totally defensive manager who has got 1 team relegated and ruined 2 more in his last 3 jobs. 1 1 Link to comment
Miglo don Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 I want the new manager to be appointed for his footballing philosophy, someone who will get us playing open and exciting football. If the board turned round and said "we have appointed X to help us establish a passing and free flowing blend of football ala Swansea, however this may take 2-3 years" I would be delighted. We need to do this as opposed to appointing easy targets like shiels, McCinnes, Levein etc etc..... Short sighted appointments. Collins fits that bill and I reckon we have the players to fit in to that, I'm or 100% sure if the youth teams are coached to keep the ball and be technically good however I would lke to think so. Link to comment
Liam Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Nobby Solano I would have him purely for the comical value it would bring Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Jesus. Another who thinks a "dream team"would be made up of ex players. Based on nostalgia and fuck all else I'm afraid. Richardson who was sacked by chesterfield for getting them relegated , Scott whose last managerial job saw him sacked for a less than 15 per cent win ratio and Mcleish a totally defensive manager who has got 1 team relegated and ruined 2 more in his last 3 jobs.Fu*king reeling from the kicking blockheed...nostalgia is all we have left cling too...who would be your dream team...lady 1 Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 It definitely won't be Hartley. Already ruled out. Ruled out by?And how do you know?Did he leave here on bad terms as a player? Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 I've said for a while now, I'd like a younger, ambitious manager, who isn't scared of rattling a few cages, and who likes to attack teams and go for the throat from the start of a match. We are not going to get a tried and tested manager.....so it would need to be a relatively inexperienced manager with potential.....a bit like what Dundee Utd have done with Jackie McNamara. I'm leaning towards Paul Hartley, with Jocky Scott as assistant maybe? Someone said (muttonhumper) he was already ruled out?Why? Did he leave here on bad terms as a player? A year ago I'd have said Derek Adams, but for some reason I've cooled on him. That all said, I'd say that Derek Adams is clear favourite to get it in my opinion, with Tattie Cooper assisting. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Fu*king reeling from the kicking blockheed...nostalgia is all we have left cling too...who would be your dream team...lady Got to agree with blockhead.Ricco? Nah McLeish - too expensive and too defensive. Just don't rate McLeish as a manager at all. And as I say, we can't afford him. He'll see himself managing a Championship club such as Blackpool or the likes. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Di Canio or McLeish, otherwise some foreign radge. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Collins, just to see what happens. I suspect our club may not in any way match his ambitions. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Fit aboot Paulo Sergio, aye thought he did nae bad at hearts despite Vlad's meddling, hell he'd probably juml at the chance to get his own back at Romanov by stuffing the jambos Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted February 10, 2013 Share Posted February 10, 2013 Fit aboot Paulo Sergio, aye thought he did nae bad at hearts despite Vlad's meddling, hell he'd probably juml at the chance to get his own back at Romanov by stuffing the jambos CL and now EL fitba with Cluj. Would be excellent appointment but no chance. Admittedly, probably the same chance as my two shouts - McLeish and Di Canio. Link to comment