Stoney Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/3118818 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 He's not wrong though, the pitch is a disgrace. I've not seen the full article so not sure if there are any actual quotes saying "It's the pitches fault we're shite" but I'd imagine it was taken out of context and from twitter where fans were complaining about the pitch to him etc. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 The pitch is worse than previous years. Shocking. Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Got to agree, the state of the Pittodrie pitch is definitely one of the reasons as to why we failed to score at Easter Road. 3 Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 11, 2013 Author Share Posted February 11, 2013 Pitch has been bad for 2 games we have won 3 in 13 at home! Same for both teams! Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 fuck off Johnny and pull your fucking finger out Link to comment
RUL Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 You'd have to be blind to say it's not a factor, the pitch is terrible. I think we'd be better suited to a astro pitch of some sorts, we could use it for training etc and lease it out to the public to make cash. At least boys would be able to pass the ball 5 yards without it bobbling all over the place. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 didnt stop the great team of the 80's winning, its a lazy excuse , professional sportsmen = adapt your game Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/3118818 I think he's right....certainly in the last month or so, especially if you are like Hayes and a lot of your game is running with the ball and crossing.Don't have a problem with what he's said.Shite weather, and letting 30 oafs play rugby on it won't help. I'm sure the Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Must have been the pitch to blame for the last 5 years of bad results. Nae the players are not up to it or the management staff are a bunch o al chancers. It's the pitch blame the pitch. Was it the pitch at Easter road, Inverness, Motherwell? Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 And as much as Langfield is a clown, what can he do when the ball leaps 9 inches in the air just as he's about to punt the ball forward? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 And as much as Langfield is a clown, what can he do when the ball leaps 9 inches in the air just as he's about to punt the ball forward? Take a touch? Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 And as much as Langfield is a clown, what can he do when the ball leaps 9 inches in the air just as he's about to punt the ball forward? Retire from football with immediate effect. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Retire from football with immediate effect. and take your manager with you........... Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Take a touch? Not when you have the touch of an elephant! Fuck no....just clear it! Remeber the fannying about he did at Ross County away when he tried to be too clever. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Not when you have the touch of an elephant! Fuck no....just clear it! Remeber the fannying about he did at Ross County away when he tried to be too clever.I had my heed in my hands in Dingwall. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Regardless of what Hayes said or didn't say (More than likely it was just a sound bite / tweet that EE have taken and ran a full spread article on), the pitch is a disgrace and there is no way good football can be played on it. Saturdays game had possible the worst 45 minutes of football i've ever seen at that level. I'm not saying it was all down to the pitch, but it certainly did not help. The profit from hosting a rugby match will have been eliminated by the losses made from the ever decreasing crowds at Pittodrie who are watching terrible football. It's not 100% the reason for the crap we've endured, but it's a factor and we need all the help we can get. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 I'd forgotten about Dingwall. That's another 2 points onto the tally he's cost us. I don't think the pitch helps but there's no way we were going to entertain the crowd with the set up Brown put out. To blame that for the dross that was Saturday is a joke. You know the EE though. Johnny probably said the pitch didn't help and the EE's latched onto it. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 I'd forgotten about Dingwall. That's another 2 points onto the tally he's cost us. 3 points we lost 2-1. Link to comment
kylie-boy1903 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 this article was written a couple of years back. i agree the pitch is terrible but remember in years prior to SPL, if there was snow or ice on the ground, games would be postponed. now SPL rules state undersoil must be kept on to ensure games go ahead, undersoil heating is one of the big reasons why a lot pitches in the spl suffer. i know folk will how come EPL teams can have immaculate pitches. they have bigger resources to use and also use lighting rigs to grow grass all year round. Also i was at the rugby in Novemeber and the pitch didnt cut up as much as everyone thinks it did and the side effects of that game should have gone by now. Over use of the pitch in bad weather is another reason why its so bad. http://www.pitchcare.com/magazine/fiskes-tale.html Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 The pitch is a joke for this level of football.there was at least 3-4 time one of our players miss kicked the ball due to the ball bobbling up over chunks of turf including Langfield near the end.Obviously the same for both teams but it certainly doesn't help our cause. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 3 points we lost 2-1.Aye, but he only really cost us that goal. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Aye, but he only really cost us that goal. It never went in after his fuck up. He tipped their effort over the bar. Their 2nd however should have been saved IMO. Link to comment
redone Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Aye, but he only really cost us that goal. Nah , his fuck-up at Dingwall didna cost a goal. Some Ross County player ended up getting a header in on goal , but Clangers managed to tip it ower the bar for a corner Dinna think Clangers could really be blamed too much for either o' their goals that day - unless you're blaming him just being there for causing uncertainty in the defence , which resulted in Reynolds scoring an OG Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 11, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 11, 2013 http://www.eveningex...le.aspx/3118818 Right enough it was a ploughed field in August, September and October. What were our home results? Oh yes 0-0. Same for both teams. Good players will always find a way. Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 You'd have to be blind to say it's not a factor, the pitch is terrible. I think we'd be better suited to a astro pitch of some sorts, we could use it for training etc and lease it out to the public to make cash. At least boys would be able to pass the ball 5 yards without it bobbling all over the place.Should just cover the pitch or something when potential shite conditions are forecast Been shit since we let Scotland play Tonga on it.Definitely one of the main reasons. Rugby should NOT be played at Pittodrie Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 Aye, but he only really cost us that goal.Oh got you! Cost us so much doon the years. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 seems St Mirren are moaning/complaining about the pitch Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 I thought Hayes was one of the few players who got pass marks on Saturday for effort. He made a few poor passes but he put in a shift and you could tell he was as pissed off as the fans were at the mistakes being made on the park. He seems to give a shit, unlike some of the others on the park who are just happy to get to full time and not give a fuck about the result. Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted February 11, 2013 Share Posted February 11, 2013 The pitch is crap yes but that is no excuse for us not being able to win matches. I predict that brown will use the condition of the pitch as an excuse v Dundee if we don't win. Link to comment