Advice Please

cow

Goodevening Cow here.

Normally on internet forums you get some people who are very clued up about all things online, and duffers like myself which can't do anything other than copy pasting.

Now I'm needing advise. I've recently started my own business (driving school) and need to get some online presence quickly. Now I'm aware that I can get a facebook page, twitter thing and all the social networking jazz.

I'm unsure about advertising on Google. How much does it cost to get your adverts on google front page, and how to you go about doing this?

Is it more expensive to get on the yellow box at the top, rather than the ad's down the side? clicky

How much should be paying for a website?

Also I was wanting to print off some flyers on my PC, but my computer doesn't recognise the printer. I've had the computer 5 years and never printed anything off. Idiots guide here again please.

Many thanks to anyone that can help me.

Cow.

Goodevening Cow here.

Normally on internet forums you get some people who are very clued up about all things online, and duffers like myself which can't do anything other than copy pasting.

Now I'm needing advise. I've recently started my own business (driving school) and need to get some online presence quickly. Now I'm aware that I can get a facebook page, twitter thing and all the social networking jazz.

I'm unsure about advertising on Google. How much does it cost to get your adverts on google front page, and how to you go about doing this?

Is it more expensive to get on the yellow box at the top, rather than the ad's down the side? clicky

Also I was wanting to print off some flyers on my PC, but my computer doesn't recognise the printer. I've had the computer 5 years and never printed anything off. Idiots guide here again please.

Cow.

Speak to this guy and he will keep you right http://www.linkedin.com/in/kennethmackay

Well. Making a website is no great challenge, especially for a simple one job business. You possibly be best with a page instead of a site. Just one page letting the visitor know what you need them to know.

I guess you'd be after a wee description about you, a pic of the car, a bit about pricing and a contact us.

Websites like moonfruit and wix will guide you through and most of it is very straight forward.

Google takes care of itself and I wouldn't pay for advertising on google. I'd more likely spend it on local advertising and more directed towards potential clients. Getting into custom URL's (addresses) could be difficult but they aren't expensive. I think I'm

Can you explain this a little easier please.

Can you tell me who looks after your site and how you pay them? Lovely pics btw.

Cheers mannie! Always nice to be appreciated.

I'm with one.com who give me my murrayallan.co.uk. They charge about a tenner a year and you buy a domain name (say www.CowsDriving.com). If you use the moonfruit or wix then they will host your site with their domain name (www.wix.com/CowsDriving) and you just need to give one.com that domain name and they'll host it as www.CowsDriving.com)

You'd be looking to look after your own site but if you've used things like Microsoft Word then all the text shouldn't be too hard and there's usually guides for pictures and stuff. All the free site builders usually offer great layouts where you just swap out the sample text and pop in whatever you want to say.

Cheers mannie! Always nice to be appreciated.

I'm with one.com who give me my murrayallan.co.uk. They charge about a tenner a year and you buy a domain name (say www.CowsDriving.com). If you use the moonfruit or wix then they will host your site with their domain name (www.wix.com/CowsDriving) and you just need to give one.com that domain name and they'll host it as www.CowsDriving.com)

You'd be looking to look after your own site but if you've used things like Microsoft Word then all the text shouldn't be too hard and there's usually guides for pictures and stuff. All the free site builders usually offer great layouts where you just swap out the sample text and pop in whatever you want to say.

Thank ever so much for straightforward advice.

Here's my advice...

Get an iPage webpage and domain name, use their Weebly editor, it's absolutely foolproof, and then go to Fotosearch.com, buy up a couple of stock graphics... you'll want to use 'Student Driver' as your search criteria on the Fotosearch webpage, then publish it to the web. Should be absolutely minimum cost, and will give you a web presence.

You'll be given lots of options, my advice (for what it's worth) is to go Backup Service if you choose nothing else.

I currently have a little over half a dozen clients that I set up on iPage, and it truly is a piece of piss to use.

I'm about as lazy a fuck as you'll find, and I'm even using Weebly on my own private webpages because you can build a page blindfolded using Weebly.

Also, iPage is having a bunch of sales right now, so you'll get a bargain....

iPage

Fotosearch

Goodevening Cow here.

Cow.

Yes I can. Get a gimmick. Buy yourself a Renault Moogane.

Have your lessons a pound cheaper than your rivals.

Here's my advice...

Get an iPage webpage and domain name, use their Weebly editor, it's absolutely foolproof, and then go to Fotosearch.com, buy up a couple of stock graphics... you'll want to use 'Student Driver' as your search criteria on the Fotosearch webpage, then publish it to the web. Should be absolutely minimum cost, and will give you a web presence.

You'll be given lots of options, my advice (for what it's worth) is to go Backup Service if you choose nothing else.

I currently have a little over half a dozen clients that I set up on iPage, and it truly is a piece of piss to use.

I'm about as lazy a fuck as you'll find, and I'm even using Weebly on my own private webpages because you can build a page blindfolded using Weebly.

Also, iPage is having a bunch of sales right now, so you'll get a bargain....

iPage

Fotosearch

Good advice from Kelt, but he's become Yankified.

Learner Driver or Driving School.

i wouldnt under estimate the power of twitter and facebook etc, my friend has opened a sweetie/convenience shop in arbroath, and i was away with friends from dunfermline the other week, and they were speaking about it, they sell old skool sweets etc.... if you get enough people liking and sharing on facebook, the page will spread like wild fire... plus its free and most of your 'client' base will have facebook pages

I'm far from an expert in this field but from my own experience in this field word of mouth and a good success rate will beat any advertising, everyone knows the big franchises, you need to work your area with leaflets and make sure you're good, If you get people passing they'll pass your name on to their mates, you also want pick ups and drop offs in the same area so you're not wasting time crossing town.

Best of luck but it's a competitive business you're in....in oil rich Aberdeen you may fair better in another line of work, all the best though.

I had a great instructor, he popped a hard mint in his mouth at the start of the hour and said drive, Hillocks school of motoring, he rarely said anything else, when I passed on my childs life he said I never expected that, well done.

Guess he was pissed off he lost a customer, a bitter sweet moment for any instructor.

My driving instructor was quality. Would be driving down the road and he'd say ' can you take a left at the traffic lights, but not before you've checked oot the paps on the bird on the right' :laughing:

And the cunt would still get pissed aff at me for losing concentration when he's pointing out fanny all the time.

Ive failed my driving test twice. Hinna had a lesson since and that was about 7 year ago. Nae having a license is shite