Aberdeen V Liverpool European Cup 1980

Firstly i would like to extend a warm welcome to you all.

I'm attempting to locate a match ticket or ticket stub for the games between Aberdeen and Liverpool. The home leg at Pittodrie took place on 22nd October 1980 with the away leg at Anfield taking place a couple of weeks later on 5th November 1980. I'm looking for both ticket stubs to complete a collection and I would appreciate any input the forum members could provide with locating the same.

I hope my request is not considered against the forum rules and the members do not take offence at my request.

I thank you for any feedback in advance

kind regards

AJP

Firstly i would like to extend a warm welcome to you all.

I'm attempting to locate a match ticket or ticket stub for the games between Aberdeen and Liverpool. The home leg at Pittodrie took place on 22nd October 1980 with the away leg at Anfield taking place a couple of weeks later on 5th November 1980. I'm looking for both ticket stubs to complete a collection and I would appreciate any input the forum members could provide with locating the same.

I hope my request is not considered against the forum rules and the members do not take offence at my request.

I thank you for any feedback in advance

kind regards

AJP

Are you a Liverpool fan?

I queued from 7 in the morning for that match, the queue already stretched on to King Street even by then, didn't get near the stadium before word filtered through that it was sold out, was gutted.

They brought in the voucher system after that shambles.

Fucking part time supporters........I'm one of them these days but they bugged me back then.

Sorry I'm not able to help you, I was only 6 at the time, but boy did we give Liverpool a lesson, and they gave us the casual movement. :)

Was there not some kind of scandal with the tickets, like no-one could understand how they sold out so quick and so many regular fans missed out? Was it simply that the non-attenders queued and got them first?

I queued from 7 in the morning for that match, the queue already stretched on to King Street even by then, didn't get near the stadium before word filtered through that it was sold out, was gutted.

Fucking part time supporters........I'm one of them these days but they bugged me back then.

Real supporters headed down to Pittodrie with a carry out as soon as the pubs closed on the Friday night.

Sure we got there about 11.30pm and partied all night long until tickets went on sale at 9am

Remember walking up Merkland Road, round on to King St and thinking these folk have no chance as they were selling four tickets per person back then.

At least some good came from the shambles that followed as the voucher system was then introduced.

Sure I've still got my ticket stubs smoewhere in the loft or my old mans loft, but afraid they're not for sale.

Anfield return leg was the first of my away trips for European football.

Real supporters headed down to Pittodrie with a carry out as soon as the pubs closed on the Friday night.

Sure we got there about 11.30pm and partied all night long until tickets went on sale at 9am

Remember walking up Merkland Road, round on to King St and thinking these folk have no chance as they were selling four tickets per person back then.

At least some good came from the shambles that followed as the voucher system was then introduced.

Sure I've still got my ticket stubs smoewhere in the loft or my old mans loft, but afraid they're not for sale.

Yet, hundreds (thousands) still camped out in the Beach End overnight for Atletico Madrid away :clangers2:

Brewery, piss up.

I was only 12 min! :laughing:

Remember it well... I was way back on Seaforth Road when word came thru they were sold out - utter shambles.. Right enuf they introduced vouchers after that. I actually got a ticket from a mate but then fell out big time with his uncle at the match - cos his uncle had been to one game in his life but got a ticket for that un.. happy daze...

That was a major stramash.

I was 12...my Da' gave me cash when things were looking bleak and we were mile back in the queue.

I pretended to greet saying "far's my Da'" etc while waking right up to the front of the queue.

When I got there I purchased 4 tickets. Result.

Yet, hundreds (thousands) still camped out in the Beach End overnight for Atletico Madrid away :clangers2:

Brewery, piss up.

Did they?

Why? Were they wise?

Why did they nae jist phone up? :sherlock:

This ^^^^^^

Great times in the far, far distant memory.

Thank you for all your responses and stories relating to what appears to have been a ticket fiasco for you. Its funny how back then we all enjoyed supporting our teams a lot more. I hardly go now as I'm based overseas but the heart seems to have been ripped from the game and as for what's happened at Liverpool the last few years well no need to say anymore.

To the earlier posters question (tommo1903). For my sins I do follow Liverpool.

I will try the contact given above by 'Moorie86" and I thank you all for contributing.

If anybody does come across one of the tickets please leave a message and i will get back to you.

All the best.

ajp

Then get to fuck you moping, greeting faced, hooked on grief, tim cunt :wave:

Thanks for your kind words. I'm almost tempted to enter into a keyboard skirmish with you but that would be a waste of my time and reduce me to being a internet warrior whos stuck in a tme warp and has a very limited brain capacity wouldnt it, as any twat can spew rubbish even a school kid as you have proven. to the other forum members i wish you and your team all the best.

• Upvote 8

Did they?

Why? Were they wise?

Why did they nae jist phone up? :sherlock:

I'm sure they were. I wasna cause I was working that night but I'm sure there was a shambles of some sort.

I remember it being a pain in the arse getting tickets for that game, I can't even remember how I got mine but I was fortunate anyway.

Nae ither cunt mind being in the RDS on a Friday night?

I'm sure they were. I wasna cause I was working that night but I'm sure there was a shambles of some sort.

I remember it being a pain in the arse getting tickets for that game, I can't even remember how I got mine but I was fortunate anyway.

Nae ither cunt mind being in the RDS on a Friday night?

I mind reading about it...maybe it was a public sale after season tickets holders had taken theirs?

Canna mind.

I got chatted up by many birds when over there, just because I'm a good looking bastard - the unfortunate one you allude to however is the one I ended up getting married to.

If only I walked through the door 5 mins later, times could be so much different. I could be sat on a beach with Megan Fox right now.

(I know she'll probably read this and mention it tonight when I get home - no supper for me).

Was that you Harcus giving Roberto a -1 for that ? :laughing:

I got chatted up by many birds when over there, just because I'm a good looking bastard - the unfortunate one you allude to however is the one I ended up getting married to.

If only I walked through the door 5 mins later, times could be so much different. I could be sat on a beach with Megan Fox right now.

(I know she'll probably read this and mention it tonight when I get home - no supper for me).

I don't believe Megan Fox will be reading this to be honest.